Grosvenor Casinos "casino" Reviews | Glassdoor

Grosvenor Casinos Employee Reviews about "casino"

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Grosvenor Casinos CEO  John O’Reilly
John O’Reilly
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good team nights out nothing good about working for Grosvenor anymore(in 19 reviews)

  • "Progress to different roles in your casino or other locations(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "No social life long night shifts(in 24 reviews)

  • "Take away standard company benefits sold at interview to be absorbed by minimum wage increase(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "casino"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Hope you like shift work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team in the casino. Free hot drinks/soft drinks

    Cons

    Due to the nature of the industry there is shift work involved. (Early mornings and overnight) On your own for long periods of time. Long gaps between breaks if nobody can break you. Dealing with customers who might be drunk or angry because you refused them.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-11-30
  2. "Its going from bad to worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Cashier in Walsall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None when compared to other operators or even comparable roles in other sectors

    Cons

    Horrific hours, lowest paying "big name" in casino industry, huge cuts to staff numbers, most of the experience has left from the retail (land based casinos) side of the business and gone to competitors

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps actually start learning from previous mistakes.... this is a repeat of 8 years ago with wages low, staff stripped back and no investment in the actual casinos themselves. Staff are taken for granted, paid near minimum wage and all benefits striped off them. No rates for working horrific hours and shift patterns, no rewards for the main body of staff (xmas bonuses gone and even the TMRS now isnt paid to staff, it goes to a club fund). Theres no time for real training, skill levels are dropping and people are expected to carry the additional workload where staff numbers have been cut back heavily. Ive worked in multiple casinos for grosvenor, with more then 10 years service and ive watched this company drive itself into this position. Every big event like the recession, purchasing Gala and overstretching themselves and now as attendence drops and some of the casinos sit there empty at times and the ones at base level having to take the hit and keep the wheels turning. 25000 staff hours cut out over xmas 2018/jan2019 and people are expected to perform the workload of two people, no time to properly deliver training or role development unless you do it as a course in your own time. Its unrecognisable from what it was 15 years ago, and not in a good way.

    Show More
    Grosvenor Casinos2019-11-19
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Croupier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Casino Dealer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It used to be one of the top casino company n the UK. I'm sorry this is the only pros I can see

    Cons

    Reckless company looking only at their profit. Wages are ridiculously low . Not staff meal ,no guaranteed breaks every set amount of time on table. Let s say managers don't leave because they get paid well enough to stay .other than that I really hope it 'll become the company I used to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Don't focus on silly little things .and be careful because if all dealers leave YOU ARE GOING TO BE THE ONE DEALING THE GAMES !

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-08-28
  5. "12 years + employment for Grosvenor Casinos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    London salary is not bad considering tips are decent. Flexible work place with several opportunities to expand skills in many departments.

    Cons

    High level of staff turnover causing the casino to be short staffed (in many departments) quite often. That implies that during busy days it can be hard work with few breaks and several customer complaints.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "If I could give 0 I would!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nothing, I would not recommend Grosvenor to anyone.

    Cons

    The lowest paid casino operator in the UK. Greed has taken over.

    Advice to Management

    Hurry up and sell the company so a responsible employer can take over.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-07-29
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Host in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Progress to different roles in your casino or other locations.

    Cons

    Minimum wage whether you work days or night shift till 6am.

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-06-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Working for Grosvenor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good team nights out nothing good about working for Grosvenor anymore

    Cons

    A casino use to be a good place to work with good benefits which have been stripped away for the greed of the shareholders. Lots of good and experienced staff have lost their jobs.. lots of unsociable hours round a 24 hour clock 7 days a week for next to nothing.. same hourly rate no matter the time of day

    Advice to Management

    You might as well close the business now all the good staff with experience have gone

    Grosvenor Casinos2019-01-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A disgrace to the casino industry, sadly no different from the other big casino chains operating in the UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casino Dealer in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in the casino industry is challenging but it is also rewarding and exciting. However Grosvenor makes a disgrace of the croupier profession. There are pros like the regular breaks, which become far less regular when the clubs are shortstaffed due to the constant high turnover. Shift swapping is fairly easy. Club management is competent and experienced for the most part. You are guaranteed your holiday time off.

    Show More

    Cons

    Dealer pay is appalling and gives no incentive to work a stressful night shift job with limited progression options. The procedure for promoting dealers is ridiculous. However if you are fortunate enough to get promoted the difference in the pay between a trainee dealer and a Pit boss in the provincial clubs at the moment is £1.40 /hour. Terrible work life balance. Head office full of people with no actual experience in the gaming industry trickling down ridiculous decisions. Staff morale is at an all time low as no improvement can be seen in the foreseeable future. The venues are in a ridiculous state for the most part and in desperate need of refurbishment. Senior management keeps approving ridiculous investments like android tablets to display the minimums and maximums, while can't shell enough to fix the A/C.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have somebody competent in higher management. Listen to the advice from middle management and staff.

    Grosvenor Casinos2018-10-20
  10. "Good experience but fortunate with casino"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dealer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for the time Fortunate to work in the casino i did (Gloucester Road) Fantastic Inspectors (Not sure whjat they're called now!)

    Cons

    Like most casinos too buddy, buddy...if you get on with certain people your rota will be a breeze. No chance of promotion from dealer due to favourtism. Friends of mine with 15 years + still dealing whilst others get to sit in the chair.

    Advice to Management

    Enforce metriocracy on middle management. It effects staff morale.

    Grosvenor Casinos2018-08-13
  11. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be great.......not any more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Casinos full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of great personalities in our team Good GM ( atm ) Friendly atmosphere at work in the casino with customers have a laugh Clear progression plan if you want to move up career ladder

    Cons

    The company seems to change its mind what direction it wants to go in all the time At the moment we have to push online gaming - they’ve no interest in the clubs futures & I think it’s looking bleak . No investment for refurbishing our clubs which are tired Not interested to listen to our views & people are frightened to even say there views. General managers have no real authority now & can’t make even small decisions Don't even feel safe to speak out about anything you don't agree with never ever felt like this in 13 years used to love my job . Lost all are benefits & so no real reason to work unsociable hours

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's the small stuff that matters to us little people in the clubs Live the company values instead off just expecting us to

    Grosvenor Casinos2018-01-31
Found 24 reviews