Grosvenor Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Grosvenor Group Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Grosvenor Group Group Chief Executive Mark Preston (no image)
Mark Preston
9 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Systems Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company operates on behalf of its owner, the Duke of Westminster, and is headquartered in London. Employees are treated with support and respect; many of my colleagues had been there over a decade because there's a sense of loyalty and stability - they were founded in 1677! Promotions are given to those who work hard, and compensation at Grosvenor is competitive, especially if you figure in the generous 401K plan and a healthy annual bonus for those who achieve set goals.

    Show More

    Cons

    I really can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Consider expansion into New York.

    Grosvenor Group2017-09-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management, no clear goals, unhappy employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Group full-time

    Pros

    Good 401k matching and decently respected name.

    Cons

    - Below market comp, something the company is very aware of - High turnover among all the mid-lower levels - Zero training program - Lack of diversity - Poor management with nothing in place for feedback with managers

    Advice to Management

    Very few employees who aren't upper management are happy there. This is well known throughout the offices. Work on fixing this. Get stronger people in management roles.

    Grosvenor Group2019-01-28
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good company with large footprint and commendable values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group full-time

    Pros

    Large (international) footprint provides opportunity for exposure to projects in different parts of the world. Management has great responsibility due to large portfolio vs. number of employees. Values of the organization are commendable and evident in most of the company's operations.

    Cons

    Career development and support of employees at the local senior management level needs to be addressed. Compensation doesn't always reflect level of responsibility. Work/life balance isn't valued that highly - expect to work long hours with minimal support.

    Grosvenor Group2017-07-17
  5. "Lacks Diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group full-time

    Pros

    The team were great people to work with, the company's best asset. The company also had very good benefits.

    Cons

    It's almost impossible for some ethnic groups to be considered for promotion. Once I was able to improve my job title I left to work in a more diverse company. There were also regular restructures across all departments. This created uncertainty.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees fairly. Be open to new ways of working and new people.

    Grosvenor Group2019-11-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Too slow, they aren't making the most of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager - Development in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grosvenor Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly environment, nice office and canteen, lots of training on offer, interesting and high quality projects. Flexible working and good benefits.

    Cons

    The company is trying to be more innovative and to move faster. However, I am sceptical this will work, I've been here for a few years and it's just not in the culture. Too much time is spent on strategies and workshops and taking decisions by committee but there's no ability to just get on and make stuff happen. They have tried to become more diverse by promoting a couple of women into senior management. This is fine, but there's still no diversity of actual background or thought. A lot of people with the more interesting ideas and approaches have left or have not been promoted so will probably leave. I also see women who have kids then don't get promoted and eventually leave. It's a bit of a 'yes-man' culture where you get more points for agreeing with the CEO than suggesting alternative views. Because it's a slow moving business it is missing out on commercial opportunities. Development projects stall in spite of good teams becuase external factors shift while we go through yet more internal reviews and changes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look for a diversity of backgrounds and viewpoints in management. You have a lot of excellent people, but you seem to think they will stay put with no career progression - this is wrong. Change it up, take some risks, don't be afraid to make a couple of mistakes.

    Grosvenor Group2019-08-03
  7. "Accounts Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group part-time

    Pros

    Nice offices and people Good benefits

    Cons

    Could be clearer direction and leadership

    Grosvenor Group2019-04-23
  8. "conservative but family like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group full-time

    Pros

    family setting people are nice and friendly

    Cons

    conservative organization hard to get promoted

    Grosvenor Group2019-04-15
  9. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group full-time

    Pros

    They provide generous staff in and out of work activities. Beautiful setting to work

    Cons

    Staff moved to different offices quite often.

    Grosvenor Group2019-03-17
  10. "Very bad experiance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Good property all around the world

    Cons

    Managemnet was not very experienced and does not treat employees well. Absolute waste of time suggest to avoid if you get an offer from here.

    Advice to Management

    Need more experience people on the top managemnet .

    Grosvenor Group2018-12-06
  11. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grosvenor Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location, central in Downtown area. Close to transit. Full benefits, nice offices.

    Cons

    Found the work environment cliquey. Certain management members were unprofessional and women were not very friendly but fake to work with. Glad I was out a there this is only the Vancouver location.

    Advice to Management

    Do no let your personal insecurities get in the way of professionalism and which does not help with morel and good business working relationships.

    Grosvenor Group2018-10-09
Found 26 reviews