KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Groundwater Environmental Services

Is this your company?

Groundwater Environmental Services

Add a Review

Groundwater Environmental Services Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 69 of over 70 reviews

3.0
61%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Groundwater Environmental Services CEO Tony Kull (no image)
Tony Kull
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "remediation(in 4 reviews)

  • "health and safety(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It's a shame because GES had a great reputable and culture until a few years ago(in 5 reviews)

  • "This would result in lower bonuses for the Project Managers(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Work Life Balance

      Oct 25, 2021 - Project Liaison in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of work life balance

      Cons

      Environmental work is diminishing in SoCal

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Training for Entry Level Field Staff - Limited Experience Range

      Nov 3, 2021 - Geologist in Aurora, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will be trained in how to be a field geologist very well. GES is very good at training new employees, especially if you are brand new to the environmental consulting industry. You will also become very well versed in the Illinois EPA's Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Program as it will be 90% of the work that you will do. You will experience a high amount of independence in the field work that you complete.

      Cons

      Very limited training in report completion. Depending on which project manager you work under, project managers tend to win contracts with clients that have budgets that do not include all necessary costs involved with closing a project. This eventually leads to being reprimanded for not completing a report within the non-existent budget. The vast majority of the work you will do as a geologist will be within the IEPA's Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Program, so you will have a very limited scope of experience. Unrealistic report completion expectations when scheduled for over 40 hours of field work per week.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to gain experience

      Sep 6, 2021 - Associate Scientist I in Cranberry, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to gain experience , overtime available at times,

      Cons

      Low pay, no room for growth as an entry level employee, heavily reliant on existing customers and not enough business development taking place.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a great experience for a technical position

      Aug 10, 2021 - Project Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a great staff at my office and enjoyed the projects I worked on. Highly technical projects that challenged me and provided me experience to move on to a better company

      Cons

      Upper management does not have much experience with the environmental regulations or how to manage technical staff. The company does not pay overtime, however job duties require overtime - often 50 hours a week without compensation (neither time comp or overtime)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      They “had” a good run

      Oct 7, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Riding a way that is crashing

      Cons

      Too long to list at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company to start your career

      Jul 13, 2021 - Associate Engineer in Aurora, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wide range of projects Flexible working environment (field vs office) Can move up quickly

      Cons

      A lot of out of town work Mostly hands on training

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company, No Imagination

      Apr 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Exton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff is generally affable, and competent.

      Cons

      Pay is somewhat low, considering the local economy.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work!

      Feb 18, 2021 - Corporate Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At GES, I feel that my opinions are respected and my talents are valued. I enjoy my coworkers and I feel that management really cares about staff. Work life balance is promoted and pay is competitive.

      Cons

      I can not think of any at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Project Geologist

      Feb 22, 2021 - Geologist in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience. Diversity of work experiences.

      Cons

      I was told they pay a bit low for the industry average.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of admin work

      Jan 26, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay Flexible schedule Ability to work from home

      Cons

      Too much overhead and admin work for such a small company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 69 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Groundwater Environmental Services Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Groundwater Environmental Services? Share Your Experiences

    Groundwater Environmental Services logo
    or