Group DCA Reviews | Glassdoor

Group DCA Reviews

Updated May 30, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
10%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Group DCA CEO Nancy Lurker (no image)
Nancy Lurker
4 Ratings
  1. "Improved and liking it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Group DCA full-time

    Pros

    Culture has improved, leadership has arrived and saved the day! Great culture, talented people, giving environment.

    Cons

    Old connotations that stick with the company. It's changed so much for the better but people don't see that through the posts.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work - GDCA has come full circle and is a great place to work again.

    Group DCA2014-03-04
  2. "Worst job I've had in my profession"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Group DCA

    Pros

    • few coworkers are nice to work with • pretty laid back hours and

    Cons

    • scatterbrained meetings • no real sense of direction • awkward disputes that can be overheard by everyone

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to go. Hire people that can actually manage and organize productive meetings and give recognition to the workers who actually do the work. Seems like all the credit goes to the managers.

    Group DCA2016-04-08
  3. "Great people, but unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Group DCA

    Pros

    I met a lot of great people here and gained good experience in the pharmaceutical marketing industry. Good benefits, decent pay.

    Cons

    Laid off employees like crazy.

    Group DCA2015-10-07
  4. "sold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Group DCA

    Pros

    Good co-workers, good life work balance

    Cons

    poor management and CEO had no vision. Spends money like a drunken sailor

    Advice to Management

    The EC at PDI has to find a new CEO

    Group DCA2015-02-21
  5. "Small, account-driven, directionless marketing department of a large European firm (PDI, Inc.)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative LEad in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Group DCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short days and WFH is possible.

    Cons

    Lack of understanding or value of any real creative thinking. Creative concepts are often dissuaded and cookie-cutter solutions persuaded. No forward thinking leadership -- creative, innovative, or otherwise. Under-valuation of projects leads to budget issues and in-fighting between departments. NO CREATIVE COLLABORATION or ideation processes between design, UX, Copy at all. Depressing corporate setting,... corporate management, and corporate business structure. NOT A DIGITAL AGENCY OR EVEN A NICHE CREATIVE SHOP -- just a subordinate to actual AORs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve leadership and develop an office culture?

    Group DCA2015-01-28
  6. "Fine, not creative."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Interactive Designer in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Group DCA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is great, you have the flexibility to work from home, come in late or early, leave late or early. Pay was fair, benefits were decent.

    Cons

    Inconsistent. Management is inconsistent in quality, some are great others are terrible. Their parent company is PDI Inc and the priorities coming from the top shift monthly, they don't know where or what to focus their energy on. Creativity is not a priority at this agency, account service runs projects and acts as creative director.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the same page, increase accountability, communicate better across departments.

    Group DCA2014-11-25
  7. "This place is poison and sucks the life out of you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Freelance/contract worker in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Group DCA for less than a year

    Pros

    Some (and only a select few) of the coworkers are nice when you get to know them outside the company.

    Cons

    Where to begin... 1. the office environment is horrendous, same with the kitchen and the bathroom 2. communication is BY FAR the worst..people talk behind your back and they won't directly confront you 3. they have unrealistic expectations on short deadlines and incompetent team members 4. things have to be repeated and spelled out and people play the blame game, so best cover your rear when you're working (and... document everything because people won't remember and accuse you) 5. very outdated technology and behind on what's current 6. management that's suffering from ADHD and does not listen to anyone else's advice 7. too many obese people 8. when issues arise, the confrontation becomes super awkward..there's a thing called professionalism and etiquette, but no one seems to know about it 9. not really related to the actual work, but this place is in the middle of nowhere!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't even know how to fix these issues.. Maybe hire people who know what they are doing and can communicate or can compromise? Inspire your employees? Change the work environment? Get in with the times? There's just way too many issues that I find it highly impossible to help this place. I'm surprised this place even exists with the way it is functioning.

    Group DCA2013-10-24
  8. "Very Dissatisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Group DCA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people in the trenches are great...

    Cons

    ...just don't get too attached because they lay people off *all the time*. Management has done its best to create a toxic environment. There is no interest in raising salaries to keep them competitive. If you put in extra effort it will not be rewarded (no good deed goes unpunished).

    Advice to Management

    You may want to re-think the people you've put in charge. I recommend firing the lot. Then you really need to think about morale. From what I heard, the company used to do quite a bit to support its employees. I hear that there used to be barbecues and free lunch on people's birthdays... those might not be free but they are small things which would really help.

    Group DCA2013-01-29
  9. "Sweatshop Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Position in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Group DCA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great people. Easy commute if you live in Morris County.

    Cons

    Management has sweatshop mentality and works employees beyond what is healthy.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down the pace so employees are not so stressed.

    Group DCA2012-07-12
  10. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Group DCA full-time

    Pros

    It's a friendly environment for employees

    Cons

    Position Hicks not available

    Group DCA2018-05-30
Found 11 reviews