Group Five Reviews | Glassdoor

Group Five Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Group Five CEO Mike Upton (no image)
Mike Upton
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantity Surveyor in Little Africa, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Group Five full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, team spirit, loyalty and integrity can be found at the firm. Growth is determined by ones interest. Training is key for the company

    Cons

    It is specific to the construction industry. Its not easy to move around business units. The industry is going through tough economic times so patience is required

    Advice to Management

    Provide more inter-business unit transaction and opportunities

    Group Five2015-05-12
  2. "Group Five"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Engineer Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Group Five for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Company - Bad economy

    Cons

    Company is in Business rescue.

    Group Five2019-09-05
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Durban
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Group Five full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great culture, employee are taken care off

    Cons

    change of management cost the company to make losses

    Group Five2019-07-29
  4. "I was a she representatives and worke representatives power hand tools operator, ADT operator ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - She Representatives in Pretoria, Gauteng
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Group Five for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership skills and working as a team and managing my duties.

    Cons

    To communicate with all kinds of different people and solving their issues at all times.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to learn to listen to employees and give them a chance to show their ability and explore to many skills as far as possible.

    Group Five2019-04-29
  5. "Good high pace experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Junior Engineer in Johannesburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Group Five for more than a year

    Pros

    - Diverse jobs - Good pay

    Cons

    - Long hours - Can be disorganised

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better to staff

    Group Five2019-01-08
  6. "Pwht technicians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Group Five

    Pros

    They will let you under stand what you are doing

    Cons

    They are good in terms of safety

    Advice to Management

    They are very good to work with them

    Group Five2018-10-14
  7. "Okay so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Group Five full-time

    Pros

    - Supportive staff and training during probation period

    Cons

    None identified so far. Still early days

    Group Five2018-07-16
  8. "12 years at Group Five"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader Centre of Excellence in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Group Five full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I loved the organisation, they were my second family. We had great team building events, training and access to our Directors. very open door policy

    Cons

    When the offices consolidated and moved to Waterfall, the office politics, bullying and losing sight of employees wellbeing changed the atmosphere of the company

    Advice to Management

    Never lose sight that employees are your greatest asset!

    Group Five2017-12-04
  9. "Student Quantity Surveyor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Junior Quantity Surveyor in Cape Town
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Group Five for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of exposure and work on great and large jobs.

    Cons

    Company structure didn't give me opportunity to work on more of the procurement and costing and tender side of QS.

    Advice to Management

    I am hardworking and would love much exposure to all side of the job at hand. Eager to learn and be taught.

    Group Five2017-11-15
  10. "HR Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Officer in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Group Five full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leader in the Construction Industry

    Cons

    Management is liberal and open

    Advice to Management

    .....

    Group Five2017-07-24
Found 17 reviews