Groupon "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Groupon Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Groupon CEO Rich Williams
Rich Williams
773 Ratings
Pros
  • "Salary and Work environment are good(in 183 reviews)

  • "Better internal opportunities across teams, Reasonable pay hike, Free transport, No dress code ;)(in 154 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communication from Upper Management can be missing in certain situations regarding changes or organization updates(in 75 reviews)

  • "Many merchants have been burned and won't give you the time of day(in 64 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Operations Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and the ability to work from home when needed Unlimited time off policy Free shuttle to office from many train lines, both Metra and CTA Great people who share Groupon's values Positive work environment and culture Tons of opportunities for internal advancement Focus on training opportunities Good perks and benefits overall

    Cons

    Employees moved from one business unit to another may not be in the correct salary bracket and may need to work with new managers/HR to ensure fair compensation on new team

    Groupon2020-01-20

    Groupon Response

    January 21, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so happy to hear that you're loving our perks! We're really proud of our flexible environment and how we've cultivated a culture that promotes a positive work-life balance. We agree— our internal mobility program is a great resource to discover new advancement and development opportunities. You're right, a critical part of internal mobility (and our process at Groupon) is ensuring compensation is appropriately adjusted. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and for all that you do here at Groupon!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Groupon for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and work environment I had an interesting and impactful project that will be used by the company Lot of opportunity for growth Engaging and fun intern events

    Cons

    Sometimes feels like startup - a little disorganized (not enough established guidelines and documentation across the company about coding practices etc.)

    Groupon2019-08-23
  3. "Groupon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment, opportunities to develop your career.

    Cons

    Poor business performance, collaboration and communication issues.

    Continue reading
    Groupon2020-02-28

    Groupon Response

    March 16, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're glad to hear that our flexible work environment and growth opportunities resonate with you. Groupon is a fast-paced organization where things can change quickly and often. We're continuing to increase communication channels between departments and are excited about working even more collaboratively together in the future— and we're happy to have you along for the ride. Thanks again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  4. "Groupon Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Deal Qualifier 

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Casual working environment and co-workers.

    Cons

    Little room to move up.

    Groupon2020-01-21

    Groupon Response

    January 31, 2020Human Resources Representative

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We agree— we know we've got some of the best people here at Groupon! We're passionate about supporting employees, like you, who are looking to advance further. We hope you feel comfortable leveraging "Anytime Check-ins" with your manager to discuss strategies to get to your next career move. In tandem, accessing our Internal Mobility Program is a great way to discover potential career paths and next steps. Thank you again for the feedback and for everything you do for us at Groupon!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "just okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Groupon full-time

    Pros

    fun work environment company has a sense of humor

    Cons

    unstable company always changing directions. benefits were not that great and salary was not that great either. the company is kind of cheap and they don't think about the long term

    Groupon2019-12-03

    Groupon Response

    December 7, 2019Human Resources Representative

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad you enjoyed the fun work environment (we're all about making life less boring). We're also committed to offering competitive benefits globally, and review our packages yearly. Employee feedback (like yours) helps us to ensure we're offering the right perks%E2%80%94 we've recently created new benefits for working Groupon parents. And you're right, we're definitely undergoing some changes right now as we deliver on our long term mission to become the daily habit in local commerce. We appreciate your feedback to help make us stronger and wish you all the best of luck. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Company with plenty of upward mobility potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchant Development Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, unlimited PTO, matching 401-K, Productive and supportive work environment

    Cons

    Work can be 100% work from home but that isn't an option made available to employees

    Groupon2019-10-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Flexibility is amazing - they need to invest more in their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Unlimited PTO -Good pay for top performers -Fun work environment

    Cons

    -The company needs to invest in their employees more. They seem to hire really green sales people and then not care that they quit 6 months later.

    Continue reading
    Groupon2019-09-18
  8. "Great opportunity to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Development in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Teams are collaborative, the company offers great flexibility/work life balance, a casual work environment, opportunity to develop and learn quickly, and the community is inclusive.

    Cons

    Rapid change with not a lot of justification or explanation of why. Lack of impact measurement

    Continue reading
    Groupon2019-09-16
  9. "GrouponLive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Executive in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment and culture.

    Cons

    Lack of innovation on reaching customers and on site/app

    Continue reading
    Groupon2019-07-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Very Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Media Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Groupon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met some fun people, overall casual working environment, no dress code etc. "Unlimited" time off was generally quite effective. Good health insurance plan offered.

    Cons

    Constantly shifting and often poor management which led to inconsistency in policy, and constant changes. Pay remained low without any bonuses or significant raises even with "promotions." Regular lay offs led to an unstable work environment, constantly training employees overseas to do our jobs which led to little belief in job security. Very difficult to move departments.

    Continue reading
    Groupon2019-07-06
Found 183 reviews