Grubhub Delivery Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Grubhub Delivery Driver Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
100 Ratings
  1. "Great gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver 

    I have been working at Grubhub

    Pros

    Independence freedom create own schedule is great

    Cons

    Low pay long distances disruptive dispatch long hours

    Grubhub2019-07-29
  2. "great side hustle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver 

    I have been working at Grubhub

    Pros

    you make your own schedule

    Cons

    wear and tear on car

    Grubhub2019-10-17
  3. "Customer service can be a headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay can be real good at times if you work smart

    Cons

    Lack of consistency Inadequate real-time driver support

    Advice to Management

    perhaps take the opinions of Drivers into consideration to make the whole operation better for drivers and customers.

    Grubhub2019-10-14
  4. "Great at First, Disappointing and Pointless Now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Midlothian, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Can work whenever you want, listen to music while driving, and eat meals on the clock wherever you want (within your regional boundaries), is fun and easy work, nice customers, pays at least $15 an hour if you’re on the block schedule, no micromanaging bosses, are often paid to do nothing when on the block schedule, don’t have to report cash tips on your taxes, can report miles, gas, car maintenance and repairs, and... meals out while working on your taxes as deductions, get to meet and know cool restaurant staff, and is a great way to find great new restaurants to try

    Show More

    Cons

    Significant wear and tear on your car, increased cost of gas to you, can get multiple orders simultaneously, some hard-to-find houses and apartments, have to take out your own taxes, no benefits, now is hard to get hours on the block schedule due to there being too many Premier level drivers in the Midlothian/Waxahachie, Tx area and too few block spots, resulting in too few hours and not enough pay per week, and the... feeding frenzy created when the new weekly block schedule is released

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Either put more spots on the weekly block schedule and a cap on the number of Premier and Pro drivers per area to create better access to more hours, or do away with the block schedule, and instead, create part and full time driver positions with benefits (not contract). Take out drivers’ taxes, too. For me, it was awesome at first when I could easily get 20+ hours a week (even as a Pro level driver), but when my... area became over-saturated with Premier drivers, I cannot even get 8 hours per week, making it a waste of time and infuriating! I NEVER work off the block schedule.

    Show More
    Grubhub2019-09-30
  5. "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Delivery Driver in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Set your own hours, decent pay

    Cons

    Not great communication with support team

    Grubhub2019-09-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Partner driver."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. I can choose what I want and don’t want.

    Cons

    Recently changed pay structure so sometimes there are orders for as low as $3.00 that come in.

    Grubhub2019-08-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Better than Uber and DoorDash, at least."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Control over schedule. Limited background investigation.

    Cons

    Arbitrary rules for working. Hard to get good scheduled hours.

    Advice to Management

    Be more generous to employees.

    Grubhub2019-08-13
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great pay, lousy scheduleing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Delivery Driver in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub

    Pros

    You can make great money, better than Doordash or Postmates. I avreaged $18-$25 everyday.

    Cons

    This is NOT a "work on your free time" like Uber or Lyft is. Once you schedule a block, you have to work. If you cancel your block several times you wont be able to get blocks as they are taken up quick, and you get 2nd or 3rd access to scheduling. Also, if you dont accept all the lousy $3.00 pay offers you might be punished as well by not letting you choose blocks first either. There are some orders you just have... to do as a favor almost, to grubhub, in order to be able to choose blocks. None of the low paying offers i have done are worth the time, or money because remember, its $3.00 before car expenses, or taxes. Theyve been slowly turning into a bad company giving lowing payout orders and being almost as "good" (bad) as doordash. Im personally going back to Uber/Lyft, too much of a hassle to make Grubhub happy and still make good money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise the minimum order customers can order! $3.00 will NEVER be worth it, even if its a 10 minute total drive, you have to take into account how long the restaurant will take as well. It would be worth it if the order is ready and there is easy parking at the customers house.

    Grubhub2019-07-31
  9. "Do not tip grubhub as none of the drivers receive the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver in Yakima, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    Very little pros if any

    Cons

    Where do I start worst company ever dont even pay minimum wage and u dont get no tips no mileage and no delivery fee I just work 4 hrs did5 delivery and got 47 dollars and spent 20 on gas so 27 is what I made after I played my gas so that's 7 dollars an hr biggestvripoff company ever

    Advice to Management

    Driving wrs should be paid right not drivers spends 20 dollars in gas out of his pocket works 4 hrs and after drivers pays for his own gas makes 27 for 4 hrs unreal what a RIP off. Pay ur dri era the tips the custo.ers are giving them like u say u are 100 percent t kf them and mileage and deliver fee on top of hrs worked should be minimum wage hourly plus all tips mileage and delivery fees paid if not biggest tipoff... ever

    Show More
    Grubhub2019-09-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Driver support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Contractor - Delivery Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Grubhub for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible scheduling when it is available.

    Cons

    Every time I get notified that I can select blocks of time, there is none. I've asked 3 separate questions to Grubhub over the past 3 weeks. I'm still waiting for a response.

    Advice to Management

    Please support your drivers. Without them, Grubhub wouldn't be.

    Grubhub2019-09-04
Found 233 reviews