Grubhub Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Grubhub Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO  Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
349 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of free food, drinks, catered meals(in 73 reviews)

  • "Still have some work/life balance even it is a fast-paced environment(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Although it can take a bit to get a response to some customer service issues(in 34 reviews)

  • "Inconsistent pay, driver care hard to get a hold of(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company culture is fantastic all around- catered lunch twice a week, credit to use on Grubhub, themed happy hours and events around the holidays, and everybody brings something different to the table. The People Team is always encouraging feedback, and thinking of innovative ways to keep employees happy.

    Cons

    There are still some growing pains as we shift our company angle to compete with competitions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency! Monthly Town Halls run by Matt Maloney or Seth Priebatsch are great for addressing questions, as well as updating the entire company on progress. They also do a "team spotlight" which helps illuminate hard work happening on various teams that people may not know about.

    Grubhub2019-12-23
  2. "The best company I've worked for, by far."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Sales Executive Outbound in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time

    Pros

    Good base salary with awesome commission. Free snacks, drink, and a great environment! Lot's of free meals and fun happy hours! Also, you travel out of state once a month when you qualify.

    Cons

    This position could be a work from home position, although, once you qualify, you can earn up to 2 days a month.

    Advice to Management

    Great job by everyone. Keep upping the ante and provide more work from home!

    Grubhub2020-01-21
  3. "Fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great schedule with some flexibility, PTO and worked with really awesome people.

    Cons

    Was not allowed to work remotely : (

    Grubhub2020-01-21
  4. "Simply The Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Advisor in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Environment - It's all about collaboration; a company where your thoughts, ideas, questions, are all heard and addressed. Benefits - Health, dental, vision, life, critical illness, all covered, and reasonably priced. I was finally able to cover myself AND my wife and it doesn't cost a fortune. People - Grubhub has a habit, or maybe a skill, for only hiring like minded positive people that are energetic and eager about their job, people who WANT to be here and add a positive vibe to every interaction. Management - The management here, on EVERY level, is constantly moving forward and looking out for the employee's best interest. They care about their staff, they live by the adage "happy staff produces results" and they take care of us. Work/Life Balance - I come from an industry where this concept doesn't exist, and here at Grubhub I'm actually instructed that keeping the balance is a part of my job. I actually get time with my friends and loved ones, and it doesn't hinder my ability to get my job done. Room to Grow - In a company that favors and encourages creative thinking and collaboration, you're free to grow ideas, move toward big and small goals, and you're encouraged to think critically about how things are done and how to improve.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't think of a single thing wrong. They've really figured out how to keep a staff motivated, happy, and fulfilled.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. It's nice to be at a place that truly appreciates me.

    Grubhub2020-01-17
  5. "3k employees, 10+ offices, startup feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, accessible colleagues. Healthy corporate culture and esprit d'corps. The only profitable company in its industry.

    Cons

    Competition is heating up--and the other companies are unencumbered by a sense of fair play or the need to be profitable.

    Grubhub2020-01-14
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great culture amazing coworkers great perks flexibility to work from home no micromanagement fully stocked kitchen monthly happy hours tons of free food!

    Cons

    can't think of any cons!

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing!

    Grubhub2020-01-09
  7. "Great company culture & innovative minds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transit benefits, the opportunity for travel, food perks, setting industry standards, innovative marketing techniques, constantly adapting to the changing industry, fun company culture, monthly company events.

    Cons

    very fast-paced work turn around.

    Grubhub2020-01-07
  8. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Talented leadership team: executive leadership team has a diverse and strong background - Exciting pipeline of projects and initiatives - Flexible hours / working location - Opportunity to grow inside the company - Good benefits package

    Cons

    As company is moving from a start up to a mid-size company, processes and roles & responsibilities are not very clear.

    Grubhub2020-01-06
  9. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Brand Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Grubhub full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, amazing coworkers, and tons of free food! There is a lot of really helpful cross functional collaboration. Culture and dress code are both fun and casual. Flexible PTO and schedule.

    Cons

    I can't think of any major cons.

    Grubhub2020-01-02
  10. "Was a great ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Grubhub full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, fast, exciting, and a great product

    Cons

    A little bloating and institutional thickening post merger.

    Grubhub2020-01-02
Found 563 reviews