KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Grubhub

Engaged Employer

Grubhub

Add a Review

Grubhub Employee Reviews about "driver care"

Updated Jan 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 of over 1,632 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Grubhub CEO  Matt Maloney
Matt Maloney
797 Ratings
Pros
  • "Occasionally get free food (Red Robin, for example, gives drivers an order of fries for free(in 86 reviews)

  • "Leadership truly cares about their employees and work/life balance(in 57 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You need a reliable car/wear and tear(in 44 reviews)

  • "Long wait time for any pay problems and no direct number for driver care, only an email with a 5-7 Day response wait(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of Grubhub

    See all divisions

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Grubhub and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "driver care"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Great job

      Oct 5, 2020 - Delivery Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely everything ! Amazing pay, flexible schedule.

      Cons

      Long wait time for any pay problems and no direct number for driver care, only an email with a 5-7 Day response wait.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      4.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      A decent way to make additional income

      Jan 1, 2021 - Delivery Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Set your own schedule. On a good night I can make $100 or more in 3 hours with same-day pay. You can also end your block early if you really need to.

      Cons

      Occasional rude or annoying customers (e.g. giving you the wrong delivery address or not responding to calls/texts), occasional incompetent restaurant staff, I can’t always get the blocks I want due to them already being taken, on some days business is slow, Driver Care is outsourced and not always the most helpful when I have a problem with a delivery.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      2.0
      Current Contractor, more than 5 years

      Good for freedom but they don’t care about drivers

      Sep 14, 2020 - Delivery Driver in North Hollywood, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom, instant cash out, play your music, can be fun

      Cons

      Driver care team is outsourced and the do everything they can to not help you. Driver payments mess up your money have no phone number so you can call them and delay your pay on a consistent basis

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      1.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Go to doordash

      Aug 26, 2020 - Delivery Driver in Fort Collins, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You pick your own schedule

      Cons

      The app is not very good, long wait times at restaurants, customer service, driver care and other customer services are outsourced to the middle east. You can barely understand them and they dont care. If you have issues, personal or professional, grubhub does not care. Wear and tear on your vehicle is not worth it. Not a pleasant experience at all.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      3.0
      Current Contractor, more than 3 years

      Was good Now....

      Jan 8, 2020 - Delivery Driver in Eugene, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, easy scheduling, simple job and clear app usage

      Cons

      No more minimum, extreme slow times, driver care/customer care and app technical difficulty

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      3.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Lack of Support for Drivers, Easy to lose App Access

      Mar 20, 2019 - Delivery Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good wages for deliveries + paid mileage

      Cons

      If you take a break in deliveries after 60 Days you automatically lose driver app access ( which no other delivery company does) No local office for driver support (have to call driver care) and they aren't able to help in all issues Very Hard to update information, such as banking account or insurance- (have to email and wait for days for a response, (in my case weeks) for information to be updated Driver Specialist does NOT respond to emails Very Disorganized Lack of Support for drivers Randomly lose driver app access for no reason at all/tech glitches, etc. can only contact Driver Care during business hours

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      1.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Not reliable, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ANOTHER SOURCE OF INCOME!!!

      Jul 6, 2019 - Delivery Driver in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, they say you can make your own schedule. But that's dependent on you completing the slave wage orders they send and they do send alot. But expect to be penalized for not excepting 4 dollars to drive for 40 mins in rush hour traffic.

      Cons

      Long drives, low pay, long waits in restaurant, bad communication between driver care and driver.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      1.0
      Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

      Delivery driver

      Dec 16, 2018 - Delivery Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hourly rate, make your own schedule

      Cons

      merciless management Expect you to have deliveries done from one town to the next in a "timely manner" of 20 mins with no regards to traffic and distance. Can't forget if you speak up and give "feedback" for unfair treatment ,means you will be put under review for following instructions layout in an email from GrubHub personal as a result from genuinely wanting to improve your ranking after being unfairly judge by the last driver care agent that supposedly tried to "help" instead make deliveries I lot more difficult. When it comes to review your garanteed hourly rate taken away. Do you have to make an appointment to fgiure out what wrong but they will call you an hour before agreed amount appointed time to work things out with you. Want to be treated less than a human being? This is the job for you!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      2.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Grubhub is VERY misleading with their pay and do not seem to care about their employees

      Jan 12, 2019 - Delivery Driver in Roanoke, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Choosing your own blocks/schedule Direct deposit on time

      Cons

      The company cheats you out of money all day every day. They'll say you are guaranteed at least minimum wage per hour, but God forbid you reject or even miss an order because they'll take the pay you had gotten from earlier in the day away from you!!! There were times when an offer came in right when I'm delivering to the customer and I missed it. Do they want me to tell the customer "hold on I'll give you your food after I accept this next offer"???? Also, your tips go towards your hourly pay. You can make like $7 in tips on an order, well that went to your hourly pay. (I learned that it's best to tip all food delivery drivers and servers in restaurants in cash cause it helps them better, I recommend everyone else doing the same) So if I'm lucky I get $10.00 an hour, and that's usually what I make. You can make a little bit more if you work during the busy times, but still it's not that much more. I seem to get offered one order per half an hour. A lot of sitting around in your car, trying not to look like someone sketchy hanging out. Plus it sucks when it's really extreme weather outside when you are waiting around. So much wear and tear on your car. I do this on the side, I thankfully have a full time job so this is side money. I wouldn't want to do Grubhub full time. Their driver "care" doesn't care at all, at least their phone reps. I had an order at the local hospital, which that is already a pain because of having to park in the parking garage and that taking so long to deliver (plus the restaurant of course had to be one of the ones that take a really long time) I called the driver care number to see if they could let the customer know (I think it would look better if they did) and the rep said "I don't understand what you want me to do!", I just hung up. They don't care. It's easier to text customer care when you are at a restaurant and the food is late, they respond saying they'll let the Ch know. They'll send you order offers while you are still on the one you have, even before you delivered. They don't understand if you are in a place where it's going to take longer than usual (like the parking garage issue). At least wait until we have checked the "delivered" box on the app. And you try to avoid missing or rejecting an order because you'll lose your pay or your acceptance rate and getting future orders is in jeopardy. You only get paid mileage for the driving you do between the restaurant and where the customer is. THAT IS ALL!

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. Grubhub - Drivers | Division of Grubhub
      1.0
      Former Contractor, more than 3 years

      Avoid working here if at all possible, they do not care about you at all and will drop you with no warning

      Jan 14, 2019 - Delivery Driver in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Shift freedom/flexibility: -You can pick up as many or as few shifts as you want each week. -You can drop shifts at any time including during the shift. -You can choose to not work at all for up to 2 months before they deactivate you. Autonomy: -You choose what orders to take or reject (rejection rate does not matter except for receiving minimum pay). -When you get an order offer, you can see the total amount you will make and see a map of where the restaurant and customer are. At one point you could even remove an offer you accepted on your own, but now you have to call into support for help. -You can wear pretty much whatever you want, you do not have to wear Grubhub gear. Other: -You occasionally get free food, either from customers who don’t answer the door for 10 minutes (or provide the complete wrong address) or from restaurants that make the wrong food. -You are not obligated to deliver the food to a new address if you arrive and discover the customer provided the wrong address. You are also not obligated to drive back to a customer who was not able to accept the food in the 10 minutes after you arrived for the delivery. Summary: this job is perfect for someone who needs to make spare cash around their existing schedule. It is very flexible and gives you a lot of autonomy.

      Cons

      Unreliable: -There is essentially no guarantee of minimum income with this job. Some nights will be busy and you'll make $20/hour. Some nights they will send you nothing until the last 5 minutes before your shift is done, then send you an order very far away that they hope you will not take so they do not have to pay you the $12/hour minimum for accepting at least 85% of your orders for the day. They DO NOT CARE AT ALL about their drivers: -The software is always full of glitches, they are changing the app all the time and seem to take NONE of the feedback given to them by drivers. They have limited the information that drivers can see about the order, we used to be able to see drinks, pizza sizes, and more about the order and now we cannot. This appears to be a tactic to force accountability on the restaurant to give the complete order to the driver, but makes it impossible for drivers to predict the size of the order they are picking up or verify that they have the complete order. -For the longest time they also did not mask the driver's OR customer’s phone number when drivers had to call the customer, meaning the customer now has your unblocked phone number to harass you if they choose OR your delivery driver can harass you by phone if you don’t tip. -Their driver care call line is awful in so many ways. The hold music seems designed to drive you crazy and make you hang up, it goes dramatically up and down in volume and has silent moments to make you think that someone has gotten on the line. The hold time is typically 10 minutes minimum, which means 10 minutes where you cannot make more money. It is always up to chance whether you will talk to someone helpful or someone who just wants to get you off the phone. -You will have to send multiple repeat messages to get an answer solved via email, if they ever respond. They have several email addresses to send different issues to, plus your “local driver specialist” to contact about problems. I have had issues getting responses from all of them, they do not seem to be adequately staffed. -THEY WILL DEACTIVATE YOU WITH NO WARNING: this happened to me and two of my friends on separate occasions. We went to log into the app for our shifts and were unable to do so. We received NO prior warning that we would be deactivated, and were not informed of the reason for deactivation. We had to email and call our local driver specialist many times before we got a response. We were eventually told we were deactivated for clocking out of a shift too early and not dropping the remaining hour of the shift so someone could pick it up, and we were also told they did not respond to our emails and calls initially because “there is nothing they could do for us”. This exact scenario happened at least 3 times, to myself, my roommate, and my friend. Grubhub DOES NOT CARE about their drivers, and will happily deactivate you with no warning and leave you with no way to make an income. Summary: Grubhub does not care about their drivers at all. They do not take your feedback, they do not respond to your messages, they do not care about your problems. They barely make the app functional enough for use. You cannot rely on this job for a steady income, and in fact they might just drop you with no warning and leave you to pick up the pieces.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Grubhub Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Grubhub? Share Your Experiences

    or