Guaranty Bank (MO) Reviews | Glassdoor

Guaranty Bank (MO) Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Guaranty Bank (MO) CEO Shaun A. Burke (no image)
Shaun A. Burke
9 Ratings
  1. "Outstanding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guaranty Bank (MO) full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedules, competitive pay, great environment

    Cons

    Need more locations to better serve customers

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2018-10-19
  2. "Politics For Higher Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank (MO) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent work-life balance Relatively easy to transfer to a different department Most executives show respect to all employees Most executives genuinely seem to value employees Very good vacation time policy Decent health insurance Not too much micromanaging

    Cons

    Horrendous pay - many positions pay as much or less than fast food restaurants. Expectations constantly grow disproportionately to salaries. More money could be allocated to salaries if less was spent on things like remodels, Christmas parties, catering, and unnecessary special accommodations for demanding (yet influential) employees. Lack of pay increase policy transparency - No baseline salary or hourly rate... relative to its respective position is shared. You are also told not to discuss your salary with other employees. Politics - Those who do get large pay increases receive them as a consequence of the “who you know” principle.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When hiring, make it clear what responsibilities the new hire will be taking on. Management level decisions (like whether or not to bypass policy) are often dumped back on to lower level employees because some (NOT all) members of management do not want to deal with the employee’s customer or do not want to take responsibility for any decisions that are made. This adds significant responsibility to the employee... without a pay increase. Managers are paid more and should have to deal with things that demand their approval. Also, make sure specialty staff is available at all times. Lower level employees will often call for help and receive no answer because someone is on vacation, everyone went to lunch at the same time, the entire back office went home early Friday afternoon, or people in the back office are standing around talking. This is another example of people not wanting to take responsibility. You don’t have to take responsibility for those who need help if you’re gossiping in the break room and ignoring your phone and email. It’s the customer facing employees who feel the pressure of impatient customers, not those in back office. Establish consistency - some departments are held to higher customer service expectations than others. A blind eye is turned when certain departments cold transfer calls, but when other departments do the same, they face fierce reprimand. Cold transfers are but one example of this. Another example would be some departments get to go home at 4:00 pm on Friday (often the busiest time for branches) while others get in trouble for doing the same. Post baseline pay information for each position, and make the pay increase policy known among employees. This will give employees an idea of what they would make in a higher position - incentivizing them to move up the company. Without any idea of the money that could be made through a promotion, there isn’t as much of an incentive to work towards it. Minimize politics. This is hardly an issue unique to this company, but it’s something that could be improved upon. These politics can create a toxic work environment. Some examples include: carbon copying supervisors and/or executives in emails unnecessarily, tattling for trivial things like making a mess in the microwave, telling jokes and leaving doors ajar or closed, reprimanding those who were tattled on, and various other passive aggressive behaviors. I think encouraging employees to have difficult conversations instead of sending nasty emails would not only minimize non-verbal tension, but would also speed up the rate at which a resolution would be found. Continue to foster but not force inclusion. This company currently fosters a good atmosphere for potential long term friendships. People grow closer by working hard and feeling as though they contribute something unique to their group. This is especially apparent in departments that rely heavily on verbal communication. Encourage departments who rely heavily on keyboard based communication to instead talk as the sound of feverish typing can make a person wonder if they’re being gossiped about. Keep everyone busy at all times. If everyone feels like they’re in it together, then they appreciate each other more.

    Show More
    Guaranty Bank (MO)2018-12-07

    Guaranty Bank (MO) Response

    December 17, 2018Talent Acquisition and Management Specialist

    Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate your positive comments and welcome the feedback you have provided. Several of your concerns have also been voiced through our annual employee engagement survey and we are actively using this feedback to continuously improve our ...

    Show More
  3. "Terrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank (MO) full-time

    Pros

    They have free coffee for employees and a spacious break room. Some employees are very nice.

    Cons

    Disorganized staffing and scheduling, not secure/safe work environment (all glass and open floor plan), antiquated and/or confusing technology, no real training program (you get placed with a buddy (for culture) and a trainer (an approved employee)- there is no dedicated training plan aside from a couple days you spend watching videos, benefits take months to kick in, care for money and fees over doing what's right... for the customer, HR tells you not to share salary information and has a general icky vibe, workers seem to be kind of scared of each other

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix every con, increase benefits, don't be so worried about other banks or seem so desperate when customers come in. Actually develop a training program. Have regulations and stick to them.

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2018-09-14

    Guaranty Bank (MO) Response

    October 3, 2018Talent Acquisition and Management Specialist

    Thank you for your review & feedback. We appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We are always looking for ways we can improve. While the layout in some of our banking centers is non-traditional, we remain committed to providing a work environment that is safe ...

    Show More
  4. "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank (MO) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture and great people to work with. Management is passionate about listening to employees to make Guaranty the best it can for employees and customers. Leaving for family reasons, but would happily work here again in the future.

    Cons

    Some locations may be understaffed due to an industry issue of difficulty finding front line (i.e. tellers) employees.

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2018-02-05
  5. "It was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Teller in Ozark, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank (MO) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Thunderbird was amazing. A thunderbird is a mentor that isn't at your branch that gives you someone to talk to and confide in if something were going on in your own branch. -The employee that was my mentor at work was really nice and we got along really well.

    Cons

    -Some of the employees caused a hostile work environment and when I told the manager, she used my name when talking to the employee which caused tension/hatred.

    Advice to Management

    Keep names confidential

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2017-10-24

    Guaranty Bank (MO) Response

    April 18, 2018Talent Acquisition and Management Specialist

    Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We are excited to hear that you found value in our Thunderbird Mentoring Program. We are committed to providing our employees with an environment where open & honest communications are the expectation, not the exception. ...

    Show More
  6. "Nice people, Little future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank (MO) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People Work / Life Balance Culture was generally good.

    Cons

    No room for advancement outside of retail. Departments are too small and they don't give you a path to become senior or advance in your role. They won't add more people when departments are understaffed. Pay was low. Short-term thinking approach to technology and procedures. Unwilling to invest fully in what is necessary for growth. Corners are cut. Things are done half way.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on long-term health of the company rather than short-term shareholder satisfaction.

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2017-10-25

    Guaranty Bank (MO) Response

    November 3, 2017Talent Acquisition and Management Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback. Your responses are surprising to us based on a number of initiatives that we currently have in place. Based on the anonymity of this program, there is no way for us to verify when you worked for us. Also, we are assuming that this review is legitimately ...

    Show More
  7. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Guaranty Bank (MO) part-time

    Pros

    Good part-time job for college, flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to advance after graduating.

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2017-09-08
  8. "One of my favorite jobs of all time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank (MO) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a fun atmosphere, great people, awesome benefits, and they really helped me grow professionally. I made life long friends here and I miss it so much! The only reason I left was because I had to move away. Hopefully, someday they will expand up north so I can go back to work for them! Thanks for the awesome experience GBank!

    Cons

    Pay could be better but they are a small local bank so that's expected.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! I had an awesome manager and assistant managers. I will forever be grateful for the work they put into me!

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2017-04-12
  9. "The greatest job experience I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bank Teller in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guaranty Bank (MO) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely welcoming and lots of opportunities for growth. Fast paced and easy to learn. Great coworkers. Amazing health benefits including vision and dental.

    Cons

    N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a N/a

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2017-04-02
  10. "Bank Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Nixa, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guaranty Bank (MO) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back environment, very easy

    Cons

    Can be boring, lots of down time

    Guaranty Bank (MO)2017-03-26
Found 15 reviews