Guaranty Bank "high turnover" Reviews | Glassdoor

Guaranty Bank Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated Feb 9, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
43%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Guaranty Bank President & CEO Doug Levy (no image)
Doug Levy
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Extremely stretched sales goals(in 19 reviews)

  • "Super high turnover and does not surprise me at all(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun but extremely stressful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guaranty Bank full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity for advancement, fun, meet lots of new people, get to know CEO

    Cons

    Too many changes at one time, indecisive, high turnover

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2013-06-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "It was great in the beginning but horrible ethic work with staff, its pathetic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker in Acworth, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was pretty laid back, but can't say that is even a good thing

    Cons

    NOT PROFESSIONAL AT ALL IN EVERY ASPECT! Its strictly sales, more worried about QUANTITY of accounts VS QUALITY!!! and staff does anything to sign someone up for an account or service without even explaining thoroughly all the fees that come with it or when they will be coming out. They see a joy in overdraft fees and never giving a client a break, just sad and pathetic that they cater to hardworking family but make it hard for them to keep their hardworking money. Sales is so competitive within the staff that they will be quick to take credit for others staff hard work, so sad. Manager there is so rude with comments to staff and clients. There has been plenty of racial comments, comments of someones appearance, sexuality and much more. Embarrassed to say i worked here and will never refer a soul here. Super high turnover and does not surprise me at all!

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2017-02-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Personal Banking Experience of 2 1/2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Guaranty Bank full-time

    Pros

    Had a great team that worked well together. Had a great branch manager and district manager. Flexible hours. Overtime was great.

    Cons

    Poor communication from upper management. Upper management left my previous branch without a branch manager or a supervisor while previously knowing the lost of a leader. Hopes were given of growth within the branch and company then discontinued the branch manager and assistant position to benefit the branch and companies profitability. Very poor organization and management. Most questions asked to new regional manager could not return answers for 3-5 months. There are times important questions in emails and calls are not received for weeks and months but when someone gets a sale, an email from the regional manager is sent to everyone in seconds. The company lacks in hiring new employees to branches that only have a few, as in two, employees covering all the 10 hour shifts per day within the week, including weekends too, for branch profitability, causing help to needed from other employees who lives 1-2 hours away to cover. Sales incentives are extremely taxed along with any other bonus so sales goals are almost worthless. But again because of the shortage in many of the branches due to high turnover there are lots of hours for overtime. Where the employees who are parents needs to leave due to family emergencies, they are told," if you don't find coverage, then you can't leave. " You would think a fully staffed branch would be able to sacrafice one of their employees to let the other go.

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2016-10-31
  4. Helpful (3)

    "ABM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ABM in Greenfield, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guaranty Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive mission statement that the company mostly believes in and follows.

    Cons

    Confusion and disorganization from top to bottom. Eye-popping turnover--it's impossible to fill positions fast enough. There one day, gone the next is typical at all levels of the company. Hasn't been a profitable company for years and has cut to the bone. Doesn't offer any products or services normally associated with a bank, and suffers in the marketplace because of it. Has one business strategy-- get new checking accounts. This results in high sales goals, high turnover and low morale. A bad month and your job is on the line.

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2016-06-22
  5. "Branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank

    Pros

    Small business feel, and understanding from upper management. Great practice for interviewing and hiring skills. Solid training program.

    Cons

    High turnover because of a checking focused sales culture, and 7 day a week hours.

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2015-08-21
  6. "DO NOT WORK THERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours are so/so, benefits are okay, and the salary pays the bare minimum

    Cons

    Not only is it a bad place to work, however it is a bad place to bank there as well. My whole work experience was absolutely horrible. The company has a super high turn-over rate. Literally every day I received an email of a new job opening. The company barely reverse overdraft fees for customers and employees even when the overdraft was not the customer's or the employees fault. The company only cares about numbers. They are not human at all. They purposely rip people off. Very poor management structure. Because management is poor, employees do not know how to handle customer's financial needs. It is very easy to move up within the company because someone is always leaving. If you make a simple mistake it is a automatic write up. The company relies on employees (mainly Sales Associates, Personal Bankers, and Assistant Branch Managers) to bring in sales. If you do not reach your goal for one month you get put on an improvement plan. Employees only look out for themselves. The company does not know what the word team means. The customer service and back office gives out different information to confuse customers and employees. The company hired me a week after they closed down seven branches in the beginning of the year. I did not know they closed down branches until I got into training. When I first got hired I was suppose to start training in the beginning of the month, however due to them having a high turnover rate I could not start training until a month after I got hired. The customers are always angry because the company is always messing up. The management only care about themselves so tellers and personal bankers barely get breaks or vacations.

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2015-09-03
  7. "Less Than Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Westland, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Experience that will help later on in your career

    Cons

    Low Pay High sales goals High turnover Always short staffed

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2014-11-21
  8. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Promotes from within Flexible shifts Friendly management Great employee training

    Cons

    Poor incentive plan Rude customers Too many part-time associates High turnover

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2014-08-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guaranty Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If an employee meets all required goals, he/she has the ability to advance quickly.

    Cons

    Sales, Sales, Sales! All this company focuses on is making money. Too many politics and gossip, if you don't get on the right person's good side then you probably won't make it far. Long hours and very boring days. Most of your time is spent in aisles instead of engaging with cudtomers and learning banking procedures. The company has extremely high turnover with customers and employees for a reason! If you are looking to start a career in banking, then go some place else.

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2014-05-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I worked at Guaranty Bank...and NEVER will I EVER again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Glendale, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guaranty Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I found no pros of working at Guaranty Bank in 3 years. My last day was the happiest I had in my tenure with the company.

    Cons

    Poor compensation and benefits Managers/departments who 'pass the buck' - no one claims responsibility Zero opportunity for career growth - 'promotions' are all lateral changes Poor work/life balance - controlling your off the clock hours (i.e. lunch); not allowed to associate with co-workers offhours High turnover particularly with mid-level to upper level management team

    Continue reading
    Guaranty Bank2013-08-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews