Guardian Protection Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Customer Service Representative

Guardian Protection Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Guardian Protection President Bryan Cipoletti  (no image)
Bryan Cipoletti
4 Ratings
  1. "A Paycheck and little else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection for less than a year

    Pros

    They have pretty good health insurance. The are pretty easy to get a job with because they are ALWAYS hiring, the turnover rate is the highest I have seen anywhere. If you can last a year in customer service you can move to other departments. They train you for 3 months and if you work in customer service you have the help desk to call get easy access to help.

    Cons

    They put too much work on a person during a call. If you are on a call for too long, they hold it against you, if you don't pitch their latest unnecessary product they hold that against you. If you transfer a customer to another department sometimes other employees are rude to you. The shifts are bid for and are all over the place so you need to have flexibility. They pay is not on par with the stress level. Call volume is very high on a consistent basis.

    Continue reading
    Guardian Protection2014-12-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Happy and nice TL & Supervisors. benefits. some room for growth. Great training. They start you at $11/hr and after training it goes higher based on previous experience & benefits. You also get a 3% raise every year & at 5 years you get an extra week of time off.

    Cons

    Though they train you to do your job very well, if you are new to the corporate world, they do not fully explain benefits or rules about tardiness. There are resources on their knowledge base, but you have to be proactive & know where to find them and what questions to ask.

    Continue reading
    Guardian Protection2014-10-26
  3. Helpful (4)

    "The company is going to have to improve upon certain things if they want to be on the cover of SDM Magazine again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid training, good food, friendly/resourceful people, decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Guardian Protection Services needs to make some major leaps and bounds if they want to stay in the competition and back on the front cover of SDM Magazine. I would advise the company to conduct better research upon the products that they're selling to their customers. I understand from a business stand point of view that they want to sell all the bells and whistles and providing their customers with a "piece of mind". However a lot of the newer GE & Honeywell security systems (ex. touchscreens) still have some technical bugs that need to be fixed and worked out and therefore leading me into my next point which is a definite must. I would strongly advise that the onsite sales reps. always encourage the prosperous customers to get the "Extended Repair Agreement" and explain what it is to the customer so they are not having to pay an unreasonably high amount of money (Time & Material rates) to have work done if something is to go wrong with their security system. This isn't just going to be helpful for the customer and saving them money but the business as well in generating higher profits & revenue. The cost of some certain extra added devices are a bit unreasonably high as well and should be lowered to a much more reasonable and affordable cost. Also from another business stand point of view, the company should invest a lot more time and energy researching these 3rd party dealers that they collaborate with and the technicians that they're bringing on-board as well. There is a lot of miscommunication on the customer service floor and other departments all around too. My advice to management is to clean up this circle of confusion & misinformation. I can't begin to even tell you how many times that I had customers call in and complain saying to me that this rep. told him/her that but another rep. said something or offered something entirely different and I would check the system notes/comments but nothing was ever noted or specified. Please and I cannot emphasize this enough when I say this but they need to train their employees to leave more detailed notes. It will expedite the reps. call and leaving the rep. with a good call handle time. Another topic I would like to discuss and share is the Quality Assurance grading (which I found to be helpful and ridiculous). One day of every week all the customer service reps. would meet with their Supervisor/Team Leader individually in a room and listen to one or two of your call(s) and review how you had done in the past week. Your supervisor/team leader grades your call(s) based upon what's called a Quality Assurance sheet. Which is a grading sheet that's listed with all the "professional requirements" of things you have to say to the customer from saying "Please and Thank You" to "Offering additional assistance" and the list goes on from there. If you had missed anything on the list of those things to say or ask, or if your TL didn't like what you had said to the customer whether it was good or bad based upon their own individual opinion then you would get docked points which would effect your QA score and your QA scores would later on effect your rank/position for the shift bid which I found to be highly ridiculous. Management needs to look more into this. I think it's a terrible business tactic/idea when scheduling employees. I would like to address and shed some light on the amount of micro-management that goes on within the company. When employees are having conversations, whether it would be in the smoking area outside, the cafeteria, neighboring cubicles or even on the phone with the customers. If it's not negatively effecting the customers, other employees around them or their ability to work then I would strongly advise that certain TL's/Supervisors and managers to back off and to stop confronting their employee(s) and talking down to them. I know that some certain TL's and managers tend to get on these power rants because of their superiority within the company but I would advise them to be a lot more respectful towards the other reps. Last but not least. This place can be a "rumor mill" as someone else stated in a previous comment. Use your best judgement and cover yourself because certain employees in this workplace do like to stir up drama, rumors, and gossip about other employees. Which does occur in a lot of workplaces. However this should not be tolerated in a "professional working environment". I would strongly encourage management to look into this as well and take the proper disciplinary action(s) necessary.

    Continue reading
    Guardian Protection2014-08-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The scheduling system is unbearable but the people are nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guardian Protection full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are nice, helpful, always doing collections and group activities. Management is good, they are all enthusiastic about the company and know what it's like to actually deal with customers. Training is 3 months now, very thorough.

    Cons

    Morale is low due to the weird scheduling system they use for the customer service staff. Every minute of your life is micro-managed with an insane color-coded computer-phone time-tracking system which is inconvenient and kind of insulting. Every 3 months everyone bids for their shifts for the next 3 months and if you don't take their time-tracking system seriously enough, or are just new, you end up working weird shifts, like having Tuesday and Thursday off instead of a weekend...for 3 months.

    Guardian Protection2014-06-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Working here was competitive and highly self-taught."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA

    I worked at Guardian Protection for less than a year

    Pros

    Some positives of working at Guardian Protection Services were the management, the hours, the ability to openly communicate with the management, and the high amount of leads that were received. It was also nice to have facilities like a full cafeteria and gym available.

    Cons

    The negatives of working at Guardian Protection Services consist of the systems being out of date and difficult / time consuming to learn.

    Guardian Protection2013-09-08
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The amount of overtime, if you're so inclined.

    Cons

    The general workload and the lack of clear procedure.

    Continue reading
    Guardian Protection2013-05-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Too much going on and no one knows how to manage it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guardian Protection full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone there is very nice and very helpful.

    Cons

    Everything contradicts itself. As a customer service agent, they have so many procedures for things it is ridiculous. Also when you need help someone will provide you wrong information and then later you get "pinged" for it.

    Continue reading
    Guardian Protection2012-07-09
  8. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Warrendale, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardian Protection

    Pros

    Great Pay, great customers, nice office

    Cons

    Poor schedules, too many "cliques", a lot of inner office affairs going on

    Continue reading
    Guardian Protection2009-11-13
  9. "Decent Company, very little room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Guardian Protection full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Shift bids, tons of shift to choose from

    Cons

    Very little room for advancement, seniority doesn't matter at all

    Continue reading
    Guardian Protection2012-06-21
Viewing 11 - 19 of 19 Reviews

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.