Guardsmark Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardsmark Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Guardsmark CEO Ira A. Lipman
Ira A. Lipman
14 Ratings
  1. "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Family environment good support and helpful management

    Cons

    Pay was too low to attract quality personnel

    Guardsmark2017-10-31
  2. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time

    Pros

    Great local team and management

    Cons

    Poorly managed from the top

    Guardsmark2018-07-23
  3. "Security Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Independent. Never a pay issue. See your manager more than once per year. Try to do things right. Better than average customer locations, minimum of dangerous or hazardous work.

    Cons

    Pay increases disappeared after 2008. Antiquated policies, training, and systems. Lack of commitment to vision from middle management.

    Advice to Management

    Re-invest in the company rather than continuing to employ the same practices. The brand was valuable enough to re invent the core.

    Guardsmark2018-02-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Management roles had most of right ingredients."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Business Development in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay, ethical, strong focus on the customer and doing what they said. Lots of tenure from management. Lengthy background checks provided superior work force.

    Cons

    Dated technology and difficulty adapting with the industry. Lengthy background checks made it difficult to be flexible in some situations.

    Advice to Management

    You sold the company to a competitor.

    Guardsmark2016-08-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Repetitive and Monotonous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager In Charge 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good base salary, easy schedule, you have to do something really stupid to be fired, and the ability to spend quite a bit of time outside an office environment. Family-owned and small.

    Cons

    Lack of technology, several people above and beside you have blinders on the big picture, at any moment you can be held accountable for the mistakes of those below you. Family-owned and small.

    Advice to Management

    The structure was good, just didn't invest in technology.

    Guardsmark2016-03-16
  6. "Security Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Manager in East Camden, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great company. Leadership was courteous, and respectful. Many bonus opportunities. Great pay

    Cons

    Health insurance was taken away once Obama Care started.

    Guardsmark2016-02-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Chernobyl. Stay away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark

    Pros

    Better than nothing. I take it back. Nothing is better than THAT.

    Cons

    Everything. The list is infinite. And the company is not worth the time.

    Advice to Management

    Write a book about how they managed to stay out of jail for so long.

    Guardsmark2015-09-21
  8. "Account Manager/Facility Account Manager/National Accounts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager/Facility Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I didn't appreciate it while I was employed with Guardsmark, however looking back, the greatest pro was the flexibility that the position(s) allowed. The company pays well versus the industry standard and the firm does have a strong name & presence in the field.

    Cons

    Upward mobility is stagnant unless you have a military and/or federal law enforcement pedigree. INCREDIBLY difficult to get any definitive answers/direction without first obtaining the blessings from the owner which you could understand if it were a smaller company.

    Advice to Management

    It wouldn't help, they would not listen to anything we had to say while we were employed.

    Guardsmark2015-08-24
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA

      I worked at Guardsmark for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Not stuck behind a desk; meeting and managing security officers; fair amount of schedule flexibility; provides exposure to major companies in the area

      Cons

      required to be available 24/7; difficult to plan to take classes or vacation; no exposure to upper management of major local companies; integration of technology into Guardsmark processes could be much better

      Advice to Management

      Use technology to simplify the job of the Unit Manager / Manager / and Manager In Charge. Reduce the intensive use of paper.

      Guardsmark2015-08-12
    • "Liars and Cheats"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Salaried Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Their paychecks never bounced and the office was heated in the winter time. Other than that, very little. Office location was nice.

      Cons

      If the corporate staff in Memphis tells you that the sky is blue, take a look out the window to make sure. I have never had an experience with a company like this where virtually nothing that was promised to or said to me during and after my employment there was true or accurate. Illegal posting of personnel based solely on race.

      Advice to Management

      Rein in your sales staff. If you have a customer who insists on paying peanuts they should be told they will get monkeys to work for them. Too many times a sales person handed operations an abortion and then got mad when it didn't live. Knock it off with the pre-employment polygraphs. During happy hour bull sessions, branch staff would try to one up each other about what they lied about on their polygraph and got...

      Show More
      Guardsmark2015-07-16
    Found 17 reviews