Guardsmark Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardsmark Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Guardsmark CEO Ira A. Lipman
Ira A. Lipman
156 Ratings
  1. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time

    Pros

    Overtime, Nice Coworkers, You can work as much as you want.

    Cons

    Odd hours, start off by getting a lot of weekend shifts, No OT

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reach out to workers.

    Guardsmark2018-02-11
  2. "Typical Security Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fairly easy work. Not much else.

    Cons

    Management that doesn't back up their employees, low pay, high turnover, menial benefits, pretty much a dead end job.

    Advice to Management

    Quit going to the graveyard to find employees. You need more then dead bodies and mindless twits with huge egos to the job.

    Guardsmark2018-01-25
  3. "Poorly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Supervisor in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Some opportunity for advancement, but not much.

    Cons

    Poor management, always someone telling you how to do something when they don't know your job.

    Advice to Management

    Better management, coaching, planning.

    Guardsmark2017-12-22
  4. "Financial Systems Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Bonuses and Benefits

    Cons

    No autonomy, micromanagement, scare tactics

    Advice to Management

    Do not scare there heck out of competent people.

    Guardsmark2017-10-09
  5. "Quality company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Assist you in obtaining your required License (PERC for IL). Place you at a sight closest to where you live. Always attentive to providing quality uniforms.

    Cons

    It was a little slow on getting through the hiring process, other than that there is nothing to complain about.

    Guardsmark2017-10-02
  6. "Manager Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      No negative comments about this company

      Guardsmark2017-09-14
    • "Guard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time

      Pros

      Easy job not stressful at all.

      Cons

      Needed to work Holidays

      Guardsmark2017-09-12
    • "Security Guard"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carson, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      They hired me quickly and I like the style of the uniform that they issued to me.

      Cons

      -Not much room for advancement. -Did as much as they could to stop employees from getting overtime. -Office management rude to officers.

      Advice to Management

      - Learn how to interact with employees better. Give them an incentive to do a good job.

      Guardsmark2017-09-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "Security officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Security Officer in Union City, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      You get to work at sites close to where you stay. The sites you work at really did look out for security and treated you as their own.

      Cons

      Some of the Account Managers and Supervisors were very unethical. Pay varies depends on the site you work. Absolutely no overtime, bonuses or perks given to the employees just upper management.

      Guardsmark2017-08-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "Worst Working experience of my Life"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Borger, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Guardsmark for more than 2 years

      Pros

      You get to see people from around the world, and get a lot of over time.

      Cons

      The management want to be your friend, and not take care of business. They allow the employee to bully, threaten, and verbally assault one another. When someone is written up on certain things the file some how gets shredded.

      Advice to Management

      Grow up and learn that working with a group of kindergartners doesn't help with the turn around issue.

      Guardsmark2017-08-03
    Found 302 reviews