Guardsmark Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardsmark Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Guardsmark CEO Ira A. Lipman
Ira A. Lipman
156 Ratings
  1. "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Security Officer in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Available hours for the security officer was great.

    Cons

    No direct deposit for the security officer which was irritating.

    Guardsmark2016-09-29
  2. "Revew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Randolph, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work. One of the top security firms in the business. Learned a lot from that company. Great people and culture.

    Cons

    Play favoritism. Some of the managers can be racist at time, not all.

    Guardsmark2016-09-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management roles had most of right ingredients."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Business Development in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay, ethical, strong focus on the customer and doing what they said. Lots of tenure from management. Lengthy background checks provided superior work force.

    Cons

    Dated technology and difficulty adapting with the industry. Lengthy background checks made it difficult to be flexible in some situations.

    Advice to Management

    You sold the company to a competitor.

    Guardsmark2016-08-28
  4. "A Great Company to Work for.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge Clerk in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my time with the company..they were a very caring staff indeed..The pay was Great ..they always have opportunities move up in the industry..and there was always plenty overtime available for anyone who wanted extra hours..I really miss working with Guardsmark...

    Cons

    Need More Women in the Field....

    Guardsmark2016-07-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Human Rsources Specialist/ Generalist / Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Specialist/Generalist/Trainer in Cordova, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with people from all walks of life.

    Cons

    Never felt good about terminating an employee.

    Advice to Management

    Always remember that the employee is the company's greatest asset.

    Guardsmark2016-06-23
  6. "Manager Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark

    Pros

    Empowered employees at manager level to self-manage.

    Cons

    Technology and communication for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication from top to down.

    Guardsmark2016-06-17
  7. "Senior Security Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time

    Pros

    benefit package was quite decent

    Cons

    Company does not offer growth opportunities

    Guardsmark2016-06-10
  8. "I loved this job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of downtime. One of my co-workers often watched movies in the command center, and another even brought in a video game console (an Xbox I think). Those are officially prohibited, but it gives you an idea of how much time you have to yourself.

    Cons

    Can't really think of any. I suppose they could pay more, but I was happy. Plus, the job itself has its own perks (I had a good location I suppose).

    Advice to Management

    The guy in charge of my guardsmark was cool. I liked him. He seemed to have everything together.

    Guardsmark2016-05-16
  9. "eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Guardsmark

    Pros

    not a one. This was the worst job in security i ever had.

    Cons

    bad hours with horrible management

    Guardsmark2016-05-21
  10. "Worst Company ever!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loss Prevention Officer in East Fishkill, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark

    Pros

    There are None with them.

    Cons

    Mangers can write reports on you on a daily basis without you knowing. Make sure you ALWAYS see your daily report if you are working for this company.

    Advice to Management

    Really needs to re-evaluate on how they do things, treat their employees.

    Guardsmark2016-05-12
Found 302 reviews