Guardsmark Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardsmark Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Guardsmark CEO Ira A. Lipman
Ira A. Lipman
156 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Team working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Gate Corporal in Pleasant Hill, IA

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good team nembers, working well together

    Cons

    No room for much advancement

    Guardsmark2016-04-01
  2. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer and KRCC Emergency Dispatcher in Walworth, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Excellent initial training and regular follow up training. Uniforms are provided free of charge. Schedules are stable and predictable. Some overtime available.

    Cons

    Pay scale is limited to the client site you are employed at.

    Advice to Management

    Consider direct deposit and improving medical benefits.

    Guardsmark2016-03-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Repetitive and Monotonous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager In Charge 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good base salary, easy schedule, you have to do something really stupid to be fired, and the ability to spend quite a bit of time outside an office environment. Family-owned and small.

    Cons

    Lack of technology, several people above and beside you have blinders on the big picture, at any moment you can be held accountable for the mistakes of those below you. Family-owned and small.

    Advice to Management

    The structure was good, just didn't invest in technology.

    Guardsmark2016-03-16
  4. "It's an In-The-Middle type of company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Wichita, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time

    Pros

    Good hours (If you get a good site). On time pay (As soon as you get Direct Deposit). Has longevity (If you have a good site and don't rub anyone the wrong way). Gives you uniforms (Found out from others that this is actually not very common). Vacation after a year (Might have to bug them to schedule it). Good for experience.

    Cons

    I worked at this place for quite a while and saw quite a few shady dealings from time to time. Schemes to get other guards fired, clique mentality, mishandling of vacation requests, pay cuts, hour cuts, random schedule changes, facebook stalking and so on. The good thing was that by the time I left it was all pretty much phased out but it happened for quite a while. The one thing I do know is that you be on your deathbed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut the immature behavior (That I'm sure goes on at plenty of other companies as well). Listen a bit more to your guards or at least pretend to.

    Guardsmark2016-03-10
  5. "What I think of Guardsmark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Custodian in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay more than most security company. They are franchised and everyone knows who they are. They try to find the best people for their company.

    Cons

    Sometimes employees choose not pass on important information that is needed to do th ejob properly. There were times that I was not informed about situations that happened before my shift. It made it difficult to know what was going on. Pass on information is very important to keep the flow of the job maintained for everyone concerned.

    Advice to Management

    The supervisor needs to have a meeting with all staff together to make sure everyone is onthe same page.

    Guardsmark2016-03-07
  6. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer/Security Guard in Fullerton, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for position and nice employees.

    Cons

    Hours are tiring because it requires shifts that are overnight.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to conduct interviews unless they wear dress clothes.

    Guardsmark2016-03-03
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipper in Warren, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Low stress, good pay, good benefits

    Cons

    non that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    don't change

    Guardsmark2016-03-01
  8. "Security Guard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Security Guard in Stratford, CT

      I have been working at Guardsmark part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Receptionist front desk position, good hours

      Cons

      low pay, tenants don't obey rules

      Guardsmark2016-04-03
    • "Security Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Security Manager in East Camden, AR
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great company. Leadership was courteous, and respectful. Many bonus opportunities. Great pay

      Cons

      Health insurance was taken away once Obama Care started.

      Guardsmark2016-02-20
    • "Great easy job for a small town full of part time jobs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time

      Pros

      Lots of free time to explore interests you may have (eg: reading, learning a language, homework, etc. ) Nice people for the most part, usually just one or two annoying co-workers. Raise every few years when the contract renews (usually small raise like 50 cents)

      Cons

      Workplace drama and being potentially stuck with an annoying person on your shift week after week. No advancement in the company except if the site supervisor gets canned.

      Advice to Management

      For how much this job pays you do a hell of a job. Just remember if the site is high risk or not and don't act like more than how much of a risk there is.

      Guardsmark2016-01-29
    Found 302 reviews