Guardsmark Security Guard Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardsmark Security Guard Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Guardsmark CEO Ira A. Lipman
Ira A. Lipman
10 Ratings
  1. "Excellent!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Guardsmark

    Pros

    My best to describe about this company I work for is their excellency in keeping up to date with the training month to month!

    Cons

    The Sites Supervisors are very friendly.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Guardsmark2015-02-28
  2. "Typical Security Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fairly easy work. Not much else.

    Cons

    Management that doesn't back up their employees, low pay, high turnover, menial benefits, pretty much a dead end job.

    Advice to Management

    Quit going to the graveyard to find employees. You need more then dead bodies and mindless twits with huge egos to the job.

    Guardsmark2018-01-25
  3. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer/Security Guard in Fullerton, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for position and nice employees.

    Cons

    Hours are tiring because it requires shifts that are overnight.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to conduct interviews unless they wear dress clothes.

    Guardsmark2016-03-03
  4. "Security Guard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Security Guard in Stratford, CT

      I have been working at Guardsmark part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Receptionist front desk position, good hours

      Cons

      low pay, tenants don't obey rules

      Guardsmark2016-04-03
    • "Security professional"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Security Guard in Gaithersburg, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It is no pros in this company they suck.

      Cons

      Don't make much an poor management..

      Advice to Management

      Need better individuals who conduct business better

      Guardsmark2016-02-18
    • "Security Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Security Guard in Lithonia, GA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Guardsmark full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible hours and days. Overall its a great company to work for.

        Cons

        Low pay and no yearly pay increase Private own company that is being sold to a company that I know nothing about.

        Guardsmark2015-12-01
      • Helpful (2)

        "They Suck"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Security Guard in Syosset, NY

          I have been working at Guardsmark full-time

          Pros

          Free Uniform and sometimes free lunch

          Cons

          There are no Cons Period

          Advice to Management

          Close Up Shop

          Guardsmark2015-12-19
        • "I worked at Guardsmark for over five years. I quit because they changed management. They went from friendly to cold."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Security Officer/Security Guard in San Francisco, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 6 years

          Pros

          Treats employees good Decent pay Flexible schedules Company 401k matches $1 for $1

          Cons

          Required to join a union and pay union fees No promotion, bonuses, or career advancement opportunities Quality of uniforms

          Advice to Management

          Give promotions, raises, or bonuses for good performance.

          Guardsmark2015-10-14
        • Helpful (2)

          "Shut up and go away."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Security Officer/Security Guard in Fort Worth, TX
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          I really liked Guardsmark. I liked my assignment, I like my fellow employees. The pay was fair and the hours good.

          Cons

          We all had to sign an agreement that we could be fired for any reason and not question it. I tripped and fell on the stairs leading up to the guard desk. I went to the doctor the next day and was told I tore my rotator cuff and I'd need an immediate operation. This was around November 20th. I told the doctor I couldn't leave my work because they had no one trained to take my place. I work under extreme pain until...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Give your employees a hearing when terminating them. I sure hated to lose my job because I really did like Guardsmark. I would have enjoyed executing my constitutional rights and face my accuser. I didn't know you could sign away your rights and get a 12 hour notice that you were fired. First time in my life I ever got fired, and for what. For a liar to protect himself when the incident was all but forgotten and...

          Show More
          Guardsmark2015-08-11
        • Helpful (1)

          "Can I get a cost of living raise!!!?"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Security Guard in New Orleans, LA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Guardsmark for more than 9 years

          Pros

          Vacation pay. 401k benefits. I have nothing else positive to say at this time. This company doesn't take care of their employees.

          Cons

          Work holidays, no raise in 9 years. No supervisor position at my post and that was the only chance of a pay increase!!

          Advice to Management

          Give your employees a bone! Give them a cost of living raise at least!

          Guardsmark2015-07-22
        Found 31 reviews