Guardsmark Security Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardsmark Security Officer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 122 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Guardsmark CEO Ira A. Lipman
Ira A. Lipman
71 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Armed Security Officer in Troy, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay, great hours and friendly supervisors

    Cons

    horrible uniforms, some coworkers were selfish

    Guardsmark2018-03-01
  2. "Working as a Security Officer for Guardsmark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Quite a bit of overtime and some very good employees to work together as a team.

    Cons

    Raise about every 3 years or longer. Wanted Officers to do Maintenance work on Non Security equipment. Use personal vehicles for tours, without compensation.

    Guardsmark2019-05-02
  3. "Dental"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Sunrise, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Had a good post at General Dynamics

    Cons

    Dental Benifits Never implemented during employment was deliberately not given until layoff

    Advice to Management

    Hire new staff--corruption

    Guardsmark2018-07-10
  4. "Quality company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unarmed Security Officer in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Assist you in obtaining your required License (PERC for IL). Place you at a sight closest to where you live. Always attentive to providing quality uniforms.

    Cons

    It was a little slow on getting through the hiring process, other than that there is nothing to complain about.

    Guardsmark2017-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Security officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Union City, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    You get to work at sites close to where you stay. The sites you work at really did look out for security and treated you as their own.

    Cons

    Some of the Account Managers and Supervisors were very unethical. Pay varies depends on the site you work. Absolutely no overtime, bonuses or perks given to the employees just upper management.

    Guardsmark2017-08-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Typical mismanaged sites"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Clark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Security work - non stressful

    Cons

    Everything. Management seemed to not exist at the sites I worked. Relief constantly late, no pay increases in the years I was there, promised tuition reimbursement and was denied when filed, overall it left a bad experience with the company and although I moved on into my career I would not want to go back knowing what I do now.

    Advice to Management

    Check in and have a system developed with the guards. Typically relief came 30-45 min or more late on a double shift if they even showed up at all. Overall lack of morale and wanting to stay with the company. Most people moved on quickly or quit.

    Guardsmark2017-07-20
  7. "Horrible salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Lakeland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Flexibility of hours worked easy work

    Cons

    cheap wages no benefits or vacation time

    Advice to Management

    think about the people below you

    Guardsmark2017-07-02
  8. "working at guardsmark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    continuous work. good working envirinments

    Cons

    four years of continuous work no sick days, pay increases were non existent and you are treated like a puppet. no benefits

    Advice to Management

    treat your employees better. pay better rates for services

    Guardsmark2017-03-17
  9. "Was awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark

    Pros

    Good benefits and fair management.

    Cons

    No cons. Great company to work for

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Guardsmark2016-10-23
  10. "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Security Officer in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Guardsmark full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Available hours for the security officer was great.

    Cons

    No direct deposit for the security officer which was irritating.

    Guardsmark2016-09-29
Found 122 reviews