Guardsmark "security company" Reviews | Glassdoor

Guardsmark Employee Reviews about "security company"

Updated 23 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Guardsmark CEO Ira A. Lipman
Ira A. Lipman
156 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Management that doesn't back up their employees, low pay, high turnover, menial benefits, pretty much a dead end job(in 17 reviews)

  • "I would like to see the company allow direct deposit(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "security company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "What I think of Guardsmark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Custodian in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guardsmark for less than a year

    Pros

    They pay more than most security company. They are franchised and everyone knows who they are. They try to find the best people for their company.

    Cons

    Sometimes employees choose not pass on important information that is needed to do th ejob properly. There were times that I was not informed about situations that happened before my shift. It made it difficult to know what was going on. Pass on information is very important to keep the flow of the job maintained for everyone concerned.

    Advice to Management

    The supervisor needs to have a meeting with all staff together to make sure everyone is onthe same page.

    Guardsmark2016-03-07
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guardsmark full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their starting pay is very good compared to other security companies.

    Cons

    You still have to put up with people in upper management dropping the ball on things, same as any other security company.

    Guardsmark2015-07-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Security Officer in Moorestown, NJ
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time

      Pros

      Decent wage for a security company

      Cons

      disorganized, antiquated systems, ineffective leadership

      Advice to Management

      Need to be more tech savy

      Guardsmark2015-06-22
    • "The Nature of the Business"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Site Supervisor in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Guardsmark

      Pros

      The company has one of the lowest turnovers in the industry. I've been in security for more than 25 years and I have worked for numerous companies and raises come from the client not the security company if your on the security officers side of the spectrum. Cooperate is a little different but even a raise for cooperate employees generally come about based on client revenue, ie lost of clients lose of pay/employees. A...

      Show More

      Cons

      Promotion are a little slow and are only available on a branch level if someone leaves The managerial structure is a little different than most top security company's on a branch level but advancement is there if you're willing to relocate to maybe another state.

      Advice to Management

      Some can be a little more considerate towards their subordinates, be a little more professional.

      Guardsmark2015-05-30
    • "The best."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Officer in Raleigh, NC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Guardsmark

      Pros

      Guardsmark is the best security company in the world to work, it's a very rewarding experience.

      Cons

      Promotions are some times slow.

      Advice to Management

      keep up the good work.

      Guardsmark2015-04-01
    • "Guardsmark would be great if the supervisors were experienced and well trained."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Security Officer/Bus Driver in Memphis, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Guardsmark full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Guardsmark is one of the highest paid and presentable (uniform) security companies in Memphis.

      Cons

      The chain of command was screwed up, Guardsmark recruited/hired some of the most untrained and unprofessional supervisors to be over the security guards

      Advice to Management

      Take the supervisors through more than a weeks worth of training and psychological tests because they need it Pryor to supervising any employee.

      Guardsmark2014-11-03
    • "I have worked for Guardsmark for the past seven months, and it is one of the better security companies I have worked wit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Guardsmark full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Guardsmark is a good company to work with and one of the few security companies that offer a benefit package

      Cons

      I have found no cons as of yet

      Guardsmark2014-06-02
    • "Better then some, still not saying much"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Officer in Portland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Guardsmark full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      >Compared to other contract security companies Guardsmark pay is on the higher side. > Health coverage is offered to all full time employees and for employee only is cheaper then other plans else where. > They hired me when I needed work

      Cons

      > Lack of Branch management over sight in regards to what the site supervisors do all day. > Employees are given NO training in how to handle aggressive or violent people other then Branch management telling you "DON'T BE A HERO" > The uniforms are impractical, out dated, and look like crap. > Branch doesn't seem to want to further them self's , never any new full or temporary sites/work

      Advice to Management

      Check in on Supervisors to insure they do the job as well.

      Guardsmark2014-05-02
    • "Satisfaction is very dependent upon the account you work at."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Supervisor in Minnetonka, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Guardsmark full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      One of the better security companies in the industry.

      Cons

      They are a little behind on the technology side of things. It seems that the CEO is behind the times and refuses to move into the current century. Many outdated practices and things that could be done to cut costs, improve efficiencies and boost wages.

      Advice to Management

      Stop with the monthly newsletter. At least the paper version. What a waste.

      Guardsmark2013-09-19
    • "By far the most professional operation I've experienced."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Officer 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Guardsmark part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The hiring process and selection of candidates is by far the best and most thorough out of any security company I have worked for. The amount of paperwork I had to fill out just to get a part-time position was absolutely ridiculous, but that's what I like about it. Not just anybody can walk in and get a job here. The pay scale is also above the typical contract security standard.

      Cons

      The cons are typical of any private security operation. Relations with client employees can be difficult and some don't treat the security force with much respect. I've been in the security industry for over 10 years with many different organizations both contract and in-house and there is nothing bad about this company that you wouldn't experience with any other company. My only complaint at all, and it's very petty,...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing- at least at my branch.

      Guardsmark2013-04-25
    Found 302 reviews