Guavus Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Guavus Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Guavus CEO Faizel Lakhani (no image)
Faizel Lakhani
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generally stabilizing as part of Thales; much opportunity for (personal/career) growth (on analytics team in CA at least?); great teams and friendly people (although still quite siloed per function and location); access to interesting projects and interesting data and interesting brains and interesting tools/resources; generally good compromise of freedom vs. oversight.

    Cons

    Lots of changes and movement, and a general lack of strong organizational consistency for years, at least until end 2018: from team structure, to (CA) office location, to acquisitions, to utilization of varied internal office software/platforms/tech, to active clients (beyond the top 5) + general sales plan, to product/project management style, to HR proactivity and knowledgeability, to reporting and review requirements, to etc. etc.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2019-01-10
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Unscrupulous company: Don't join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guavus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really are no pros. Used to be the case when big data was an in-thing, now there are plenty of big data/data science opportunities.

    Cons

    They recently got acquired by Thales and outside of the top management, none of the employees, even long-standing employees made any money, after years of no salary hikes and no bonuses. One can say this is typical in Silicon Valley, but this is really exploitation in action. There are multiple options in SV/India/Canada where the top management do care about their employees so no need to waste time here.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2017-08-07
  3. Helpful (7)

    "So much wasted potential…"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Solutions Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guavus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed the freedom to work from home and the opportunity to travel. The people I met were of generally high caliber, technically speaking. The compensation was decent, but not outstanding.

    Cons

    The continuous contention between US systems architects and deployment managers and the India-based engineering team made for a frustrating work environment. It constantly felt like our requests fell on deaf ears. It frequently felt like the engineering team had a thin skin, and that pointing out problem areas was interpreted as some kind of personal attack, or judgment of their competency. As a result, the work environment had an "us vs. them" feel. Over time, I felt like I was constantly pushing for changes I wanted to see, but nobody listened, or perhaps nobody cared. I felt like my energy to improve the company—which I wanted to do—was being stifled and crushed.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2014-08-20
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Burning the candle at both ends..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guavus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice home office. Great people and some nice technology.

    Cons

    They are falling behind and have not managed their money well. Recently had huge lay offs for support teams. Now people are being asked to do the work of 2 or 3 people. A lot of work and not enough man power to deliver. Slow to make changes and deliver newer cutting edge solutions and competitors are starting to out pace them.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2014-06-12
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineering in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Work environment is good. 2. Everyone is always ready for help.

    Cons

    I do not find any.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2019-06-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "very curious to know why"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends

    I have been working at Guavus full-time

    Pros

    great ppl to work with very friendly policies good work life balance people who are motivated to do good work and really think of the company as their own good technology exposure freedom to try new ideas subordinates who value our work

    Cons

    Dear CEO Sir and people operations team --- Let me start by saying all of us are in favour of having our ex guavuns join us back as they all leave for various different reasons. But what is currently happening in hiring process is beyond astonishing. People that are joining us back are setting up bad hiring examples - case in point being newly appointed data scientist who left Guavus in May 2016 to form his own analytics company. He also forced a lot of current employees to resign from Guavus creating false rumours about the centre and also kept the higher management in dark stating employees wanted to resign themselves. Not just this, for 1+ year that he was forming his own company, he made some of the employees work on his personal projects hiding a lot of truth from them. This was done on company’s time and cost. He also brought along his partners to Guavus premises to propogate about their company. All of this was done with the support of a top level VP and the employees were forced to keep quiet by misleading the top management that the team is not capable. Some loyal employees decided to fight and stay back with the company. Now this person is hired back in a role that he does not even have the qualifications for….. In US, if such an event occurs, it would be consider as violate company policy but since it was India, everything was hushed under the table as one high level VP was also involved. CEO sir, my beleif this is against the work ethics we want to have at Guavus. I am suprised the the HR is acceptable of such employee behaviour. If we are hiring such people, then the impression this sshows to the other loyal and hard working people such behavior is acceptable. urge you to please look at this because it creates an environment of distrust. And if hiring continues like this, very soon a lot of the workforce will again loose the trust in their CEO (which by the way they have has recently has started to have)

    Continue reading
    Guavus2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Big Mistake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing left which can be really counted as a Pros.

    Cons

    I made a big mistake by taking my resignation back. Huge promises made by management and now I realise it was all bluff. Others are intelligent enough to make a move. I should have too. These creepy managers just want to use you and nothing else.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2019-03-21
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Innovation, cutting edge technology at its core"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Guavus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *What makes a company great?* - A company that embraces a culture, team spirit and group collaboration. - Promotes continuous individual growth through paid certificates, training and workshop seminars. - Provides great Health Benefits and Vacation and Personal Time Off. - Team activities every change of the season. - Snacks, Food and bottomless beverages. - Embraces Agile Methodology. - Remove Chains of Command allowing developers, SREs to choose innovation, best practices and performance v.s "if its not broken, dont fix it" and "its always been done like this". This is the company that will have their employees belong to a family. That will have every individual want the weekend to end so they can come to the office. That will have team members answer off hours to help one another through hard sprints and difficult deployment. This company is Guavus and those that have worked and still work will agree that there is something special about this place. After working 5+ years and moving from Technical Support Engineer to DevOps, I can say that personal growth and acquiring more responsibility has always been the focus of this company. All is needed is the *will* and the *perspiration* like Thomas Edison so well coins this. Companies are not perfect and they shouldn't be; what they need is constructive negative feedback and not selfish rants. Beware of these individuals who will complain when there is a lineup at the store or that it's raining outside. I hope this review finds its way to individuals that want to seek challenge and be part of something greater then 9 to 5 routine.

    Cons

    Timezone. Guavus operates on multiple timezones and it can get challenging coordinate projects that require efforts from different teams in different timezones.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-10-05
  9. Helpful (6)

    "A company in a transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time

    Pros

    This is a company that was led as a project company. Customer wants to buy something we would build it. Forget the fact that no one else would buy it or could buy it. This resulted in a great learning environment for people and teams and much duplicated work and lots of custom built solutions. The company was very disjointed with multiple acquisitions and lack of any integrations. The Montreal office though great was very isolated allowing it to execute and not really well connected to India. India was left in a vacuum kinda like a a job shop with really smart people but very little direction. The pro is that the company is coming together as one company with one strategy. This is forcing people to develop competency in an area and to collaborate across the company. People are being challenged to grow and help to lead the company. Some of those decisions are not optimum and things break. The pro is that the company seems to learn and react quickly to things that are not working. The conflict from do anything to a model of do the best thing to build a product that can do great things and build lasting value. Developers are slowed down to think about reuse and building core ip. That is not fun.

    Cons

    The level of change for the last 1 year has been high and unnerving. We all understand why but many of us don’t understand the rationale for how. People are being forced into new roles and responsibilities are increased for people that want it. Some people are being asked to leave and others are unable to grow and are finding more targeted roles. This churn and stagnation for people that can’t grow is frustrating. It’s a challenge of every day feels like a new challenge. The old days of Guavus were much slower but the companies financial performance is representative of that slowness. The company feels much more stable and results feel like they are growing significantly.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-08-21

    Guavus Response

    August 22, 2018CEO

    Thank you for writing this. I see a bright future for Guavus as we change the company to an innovator in AI and Analytics for communication service providers and industrial IOT. We will focus on better communications inside of Guavus, this is an area of Growth for us.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Not strong culture, no general vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guavus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I heard that it was a good place before, maybe two years ago, but a lot changed.

    Cons

    More than five people left the company in a very short period of time !!!!!! I had to resign because there were conflicts in management (up levels) and I could not convince them of changes that I thought were necessary. The problem is that everyone is so ego-driven that does not even listen to others. The culture has changed, new employees are just not aware of any new shared values/goals that they can contribute to, nevertheless, it might have never existed in the first place! Too risky for seniors, no options to explore, no rewards for innovation.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-09-17
Found 43 reviews