Guavus Reviews | Glassdoor

Guavus Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Guavus CEO Faizel Lakhani (no image)
Faizel Lakhani
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great people, good company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company trying hard to develop and build itself a good niche. Above average salaries. Managers in my office trying hard to keep this a good place to work and socialize. Good social atmosphere, cool smart people.

    Cons

    Some issues with direction changes have caused friction. Management and employees working hard on solving them.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-10-04
  2. Helpful (6)

    "A company in a transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time

    Pros

    This is a company that was led as a project company. Customer wants to buy something we would build it. Forget the fact that no one else would buy it or could buy it. This resulted in a great learning environment for people and teams and much duplicated work and lots of custom built solutions. The company was very disjointed with multiple acquisitions and lack of any integrations. The Montreal office though great was very isolated allowing it to execute and not really well connected to India. India was left in a vacuum kinda like a a job shop with really smart people but very little direction. The pro is that the company is coming together as one company with one strategy. This is forcing people to develop competency in an area and to collaborate across the company. People are being challenged to grow and help to lead the company. Some of those decisions are not optimum and things break. The pro is that the company seems to learn and react quickly to things that are not working. The conflict from do anything to a model of do the best thing to build a product that can do great things and build lasting value. Developers are slowed down to think about reuse and building core ip. That is not fun.

    Cons

    The level of change for the last 1 year has been high and unnerving. We all understand why but many of us don’t understand the rationale for how. People are being forced into new roles and responsibilities are increased for people that want it. Some people are being asked to leave and others are unable to grow and are finding more targeted roles. This churn and stagnation for people that can’t grow is frustrating. It’s a challenge of every day feels like a new challenge. The old days of Guavus were much slower but the companies financial performance is representative of that slowness. The company feels much more stable and results feel like they are growing significantly.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-08-21

    Guavus Response

    August 22, 2018CEO

    Thank you for writing this. I see a bright future for Guavus as we change the company to an innovator in AI and Analytics for communication service providers and industrial IOT. We will focus on better communications inside of Guavus, this is an area of Growth for us.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work but going through a phase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of great opportunities and challenges. - Freedom in the technology stack - Great location and office

    Cons

    Going through a bit of a shrink currently. For many years basically no one left and now suddenly a lot are leaving. This has a side effect of opening up more opportunities for the people that stay and for new people to join the company. A major downside is the people leaving is happening way too fast.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-08-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Transitioning with a hope for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Guavus has a history of working on cutting-edge technologies with ample funding and people resources. As businesses get smarter and scrutiny to deliver more increases, the same expectation is true for everyone in the company. The company has taken on the initiative to follow the agile development that requires higher self-discipline from developers and lesser hand-holding. This is certainly not a mode that a lot of folks are comfortable with and we can see the result of that in some of the whiny reviews here. The potential for growing into something really big and cool is what Thales offers to Guavus and it's the people who can make or break it.

    Cons

    With the recent change in management, there is a settling in period that puts people under strain to prove value and sometimes results in politics. Nothing unique to Guavus but certainly an issue.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-08-18

    Guavus Response

    August 22, 2018CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write this. The idea of global policies are not in place today, and is definitely something that we are working on rolling out in the next few weeks.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great team and technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great team of very talented people. A lot of employees have been with us for a long time. - Great office on the 16th floor in old Montreal. Close to metro / bus / bixi. - We are working with a nice set of technology. Always trying to stay on top of what new technology can be useful for us.

    Cons

    We have been acquired early in 2018 and all senior leadership is new. What that means is that Guavus is pivoting right now and it's not always smooth. Though from my perspective, this is getting fixed.

    Guavus2018-08-16
  6. Helpful (7)

    "New upper management and CEO failed what used to be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time

    Pros

    Office is very nice and hours are flexible Some people are still very optimistic / positive about the office (none of them in engineering though...) and the ambiance is still pretty good Technology stack is still interesting for now

    Cons

    Guavus used to be one of the "good companies" where only the best were hired. After it got acquired by Thales, there was a whole new executive and upper management team that have no absolutely no idea what they are doing except trying to keep their job. The new CEO is arrogant with his prophet attitude, thinking that his transparency and communication "skills" will make Guavus succeed : it's exactly the opposite, he doesn't understand the culture of the company and anyone not going exactly his way is getting fired or quits. There is no vision and most business and technical decisions are contaminated by petty politics from insecure managers that do not understand that the value of the company came mostly from its technical and engineering strength. A good example of this is the analytics team that is totally disconnected from reality because of managers that are miles away from the customers need and only care about pleasing their boss. They have delivered very little value up to now, working on very abstract research problems that only seems to be of interest for the analytics team itself. This is known by everyone but apparently the screen of smoke around "AI and IOT" matters more than actually delivering. Only now upper management seems to realize there is a problem in the engineering teams, but from their point of view it's merely that they need to "improve communications". The only thing they have left now are big speeches and empty promises to fix everything with the classical 'it will get better soon'. Most employees in engineering have already left, and those staying and that are competent will probably leave soon. Not sure buying Guavus was the best move Thales made...

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-09-20
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Not strong culture, no general vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guavus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I heard that it was a good place before, maybe two years ago, but a lot changed.

    Cons

    More than five people left the company in a very short period of time !!!!!! I had to resign because there were conflicts in management (up levels) and I could not convince them of changes that I thought were necessary. The problem is that everyone is so ego-driven that does not even listen to others. The culture has changed, new employees are just not aware of any new shared values/goals that they can contribute to, nevertheless, it might have never existed in the first place! Too risky for seniors, no options to explore, no rewards for innovation.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-09-17
  8. Helpful (7)

    "A dying company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Fullstack Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guavus for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lazy and Incompetent devs get money on behalf of good employees so if you are this kind just jump in

    Cons

    it's zombieland in the place, nothing more to say

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-09-16
  9. Helpful (9)

    "No respect for the employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Java Developer in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guavus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is nothing to mention

    Cons

    - The high turnover outfit: the company may have a bad internal culture which makes retention nearly impossible - Culture clash corp: they spend money on lunch and breakfast, but won’t allow you speak to existing employees about their experiences - Too many executives brainstorming, too few employees tasked with executing - You’ll likely be back on the job hunt in 2 to 3 months - DO NOT trust the management

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-09-12
  10. Helpful (20)

    "Moment of truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Guavus full-time

    Pros

    I am hoping I would learn some if Mr CEO chooses to reply to this post.

    Cons

    Dear Mr. CEO, I am grateful that you have chosen to address issues on Glassdoor. Finally we have a channel where we can have two way communication without fear of retaliation. Thank you Glassdoor! I would like to take the opportunity to pose a few questions that all of us want to ask but have not been able to ask. Before we start with questions, let us keep some timelines in perspective. 1. Current India management team took over in July 2017 and has been in place for 1 yr 1 month as on date 2. You took over reins in early Oct 2017 and have been at the helm for nearly 11 months as on date 3. Engineering agile transformation is also 10-11 months old. Org wide agile may be 9 months? 4. Your first visit to India was in May'18, over 3 months ago as on date You should feel comfortable with the thought that you and others have been around long enough that you cannot hide behind facade of settling in or being a change or novelty in the organization yourself. This is long enough for a leader to settle in and have an impact. If you cannot be up and performing in a years time frame then you are clearly in the wrong job. I know for a fact you would not give us a month to settle in. You need to hold yourself up to higher standards than that. 1. It would be helpful to understand your strategy. What you have articulated so far is your dream - we want to do X million. What we would love to hear is your strategy. What is the path you are laying out to get us to your dream and why would it work. If you think it is our traditional CSP market then what are we doing “differently” that would increase deal size or account size or increase number of accounts. Talking to more CSPs cannot be the answer - same effort repeated over million times gives same results. Also, I have a hunch our sales team has not been sitting around waiting for you to arrive and tell them to talk to more customers. If you think it is Thales, then again - how? By talking to them for 2 years now? What is the percent of resources we are dedicating to which opportunity? What is our expected RoI and targets for each opportunity and why they make sense? Why we will win at these? What are we not doing in order to do these? 2. What is really the transformation that you keep talking about? Going agile cannot be a goal in itself - what is the end goal? Since we went agile have we been able to: release with higher quality? Reduce development time? Build sustainable culture? Improve team morale? Engage more with customers? Deepen accounts? Unlock latent opportunities? Create new ones? I know first hand that answer to all these questions is NO. Then how are you measuring transformation? Or for that matter YOUR progress and YOUR performance? How did you figure out that this is still the right thing to do given we have lost an year and we are not even at same level as before - that is 25% of the time we had to hit our targets already GONE doing “transformations” that are not done yet and we have no results to show for it yet. If you think it would take another 12 months to complete the transformation then show us what you see - how would we hit our 4 year targets in 2 years when we are standing at the same place where we started with these transformations in place? 3. Speaking of results - by when are you expecting to see them? What are YOUR plans and milestones? 4. In the light of the same can you please help us understand how did you figure out that some of us did not have it in us to undergo a transformation? Do you know how many transformations we have seen before you even came onboard? Did it occur to you that may be we are fine with transformations but we are not fine with what you are doing which makes no sense to us? That we have been voicing concerns to help YOU see that you are pushing harder down the wrong path? You got it wrong with initiatives, you got it wrong with people. How do you figure that you are right and we are wrong? Because word of CEO is word of God? Or Spotify said this model works? Or did it work in your past life? One size fits all? 5. Did you think about the impact of CEO telling his team on a public forum that they cannot transform and hence their being kicked out is implied and necessary? No thank you sir for the pep talk and taking us all along!! Your lack of rationality, sensitivity, and empathy is appalling. Seriously what were you thinking while putting it out on Glassdoor? You think prospective employees would be thrilled to see that and jump right in - yay this is the CEO I want to work for, he really knows how to motivate and lead. The team you addressed is the same well wishing team that is trying to help you see that you are making wrong bets. Would you be surprised if you are left with just yes men leading you down the spiral? It would be fair if you asked me how do I know that you have got it wrong, may be I am wrong!! I would encourage you to look at empirical data - results you have so far, broader team feedback, an honest evaluation of organizational capabilities and culture, and finally your own performance - or you can ignore it and continue being the ostrich and call it my myopia or my loss, suit yourself. 6. Talking about performance and being able to act on the required changes - you were in India in May and got to hear first hand on two critical burning issues - HR team and India management team. You understood it well that these were huge problem areas for us. What have you done so far? 3 months is by no means a short period of time for working on burning problems afflicting more than half of your company. We have seen some difference, things have taken a turn for the worse. a. On HR front, you certainly know enough details. Under your leadership in less than a year, we have 4 different heads of HR. India HR is parasitic. I know that you know this is a huge problem. To the extent that you know you cannot address employees and their concerns through HR and hence are here yourself on Glassdoor instead of exploring HR channel that keeps dirty laundry in-house. Any average HR department would have kept a pulse and have managed to at least get these conversations going for you internally. Even after you know they are useless, why are you letting the problem fester? I do not like posting this on public forum, but where is an internal forum or channel that I can use? Don't go saying we have open culture. If you thought we could communicate internally, you would not be on Glassdoor. b. On India management issues you must have heard it every week in last so many months, again why no action? These were not opinions, these were facts and yet you could not act? Things got worse for us with retaliation that we faced because you failed us. If CEO could not do anything who could touch them now? If you still think you got your leadership team right, call them and let them walk you through a single release process end to end, who does what and who makes what decisions and how information flows - no tech. You know the answer and yet you could not act? Forget act, did you even attempt to build checks and balances? Let’s make it simpler, did you even open a feedback channel to keep abreast of the problem? Do you have single soul in India who trusts you? I do not see any attempt, even an insincere one, on your part to address a problem that should be giving you sleepless nights. c. Given your own performance score card, are you sure you are the right person for leading transformation at Guavus? You cannot act on problems, you shy away from getting deeper into details of strategy and stick to 50,000 feet visions, you have no sense of how to convert strategy into tactics, you have not been able to create new opportunities for Guavus, you have not been able to have a positive impact on people or culture or public image, you have not been able to move the company in the right direction, you have put wrong people in important places - you think you have moral right to judge that we don’t have it in us to transform? To me it seems like you trying to lay your failures at our door. Aren’t you? 7. Before you start typing out replies citing transformation and change - look at the time elapsed and annotate your answer with change management plan and a transformation plan. I hope your plan is not “announce change, tell your team to do it and keep your fingers crossed”. And while you are writing about self organizing team, pray do tell us why do we need you - sales can sell and engineering can build, and we can drink together to come up with 300 Bn USD target - much bigger dreams than what you can — seems like our self organized team is ready to go!! No? Why not? What is your value add? You think 20+ years experienced heads of sales, engineering, product etc are not self organizing enough? Doesn’t same reasoning apply to engineering teams? Think again. I am by no means anti-agile, just that I understand agile better. May be there are things I do not see. May be I will learn something new should you choose to reply. If you convince me, I would not hesitate to revise this post to a 5 star review. For once in my life, I would be happy to eat my words. Make me.

    Continue reading
    Guavus2018-08-25
Found 158 reviews