Guild Mortgage Mortgage Loan Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

Guild Mortgage Mortgage Loan Officer Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
23%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Guild Mortgage CEO Mary Ann McGarry
Mary Ann McGarry
2 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    As an originator, you're supported by some of the best ops people in the business.

    Cons

    Compliance, IT and other necessary folks being in California. They're still accessible but it could be considered a con.

    Guild Mortgage2016-06-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Wanted to like it here, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are on point for the industry I know they are a solid company in areas where they've been established, but seem clueless on how to open a new area for the company

    Cons

    I trained myself on the system which is very different from standard mortgage software Lack of direction or help from corporate. They didn't seem to care that the higher ups at our branch were failing miserably at their jobs and didn't do anything to fix the problem Lack of direction or help from the regional manager and branch manager Rates were higher than other places in the area

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2019-02-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Local level management was great. Good compensation for loans closed and good mix of loan options for borrowers.

    Cons

    Upper management did not seem to have much care for employees. Downsized and closed our branch with no prior notice. No severance package offered either. Completely unacceptable to treat employees this way.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2019-01-24
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Mortgage Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Tupelo, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good exposure

    Cons

    Loan Officers Beware!!!! Guild will have you working your butts off to get leads, then they will take that database and work it against you when you leave the company.....they will send out emails with your email and photo and when you click on the link it will go to another loan officer......that’s stealing your name and customers that you have worked hard to obtain.....

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2018-10-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Mortgage Loan Originator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Covina, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good loan programs and rates.

    Cons

    Processing turn times slow and out of your control. Loan get shipped to the Corporate Center and you lose the personal touch to help you close loans. They don't provide leads or really help you develop your business.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2018-01-04
  6. "Good company, lots of training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mortgage Loan Officer in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage

    Pros

    Large corporate backing. Lots of opportunities for learning. The corporate culture is also good. Flexibility in the position I have.

    Cons

    Large corporate structure that can be very frustrating to deal with at times. Large portion of commissions got to my branch manager.

    Guild Mortgage2017-10-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mortgage Loan Officer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well known and reputable. various loan programs , onsite underwriting and processing. onsite closers and funders.

    Cons

    No computer training program provided and no local support system. Communication lacks in every aspect of job. If you don't already know when, where and how to go get business or market yourself in any way then it will be extremely difficult to stay on and grow.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2013-12-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Guild was a great company to work for in terms of program options and support with In house underwriting and processing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Lynnwood, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct underwriting with very little overlays. Liberal underwriting gave me lots of program options and allowed me to get loans funded that could not be done elsewhere.

    Cons

    Pricing was not as aggressive as would have been preferred. Also marketing assistance was limited.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2013-08-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews