Guild Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Guild Mortgage Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 136 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Guild Mortgage CEO Mary Ann McGarry
Mary Ann McGarry
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone from my peers, to managment, to Loan Officers, knew to balance work and fun(in 11 reviews)

  • "Worked with great people all around(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Loan officers and nice but tend to have an air of superiority they give off(in 10 reviews)

  • "Manager doesn't really back up the Processors(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compensation Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, yet independent work environment. Generous PTO, 3 weeks plus 5 sick days, 401k matching, lots of optional perks and discounts.

    Cons

    Cant really think of any. Only thing is that PTO must be accrued before taken. This is a small thing, but other companies I’ve been at let you borrow, so that would be nice.

    Guild Mortgage2019-07-06
  2. "Managers make a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Systems they have are good.

    Cons

    New Managers and handling things when people leave

    Advice to Management

    If you lose a well respected manager, you should try to take better care of the people that are left. New management was terrible!!

    Guild Mortgage2019-06-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator 

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work at

    Cons

    Low pay and low bonuses

    Guild Mortgage2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Closer 

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being at Guild Mortgage was a great experience for me. It was a laid back environment, with no feelings of being micromanaged. Everyone from my peers, to managment, to Loan Officers, knew to balance work and fun. The company had numberous sources of support from online procedures, to a helpline, to a team specialized in each department. Worked with great people all around.

    Cons

    Some of the technology and data tracking was a bit dated, but they were working to improve when I was already leaving. Limited ergonomic support. I felt like I had to beg for accommodations, or buy my own. May not matter to others but mattered to me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing things for employees to show appreciation. From occasional lunch, to treats, to team functions, make us feel appreciated and always make a "team" come together.

    Guild Mortgage2019-03-25
  5. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place if you have an entrepreneurial spirit. There are many avenues you can go within Guild and they like to open every door to you.

    Cons

    It is a long learning curve, not for the faint-hearted. Not a ton of flexibility.

    Guild Mortgage2019-04-05
  6. "A company worth exploring for established LOs looking to make a change."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Product and pricing options are very competitive. Multiple tools available to LOs to retain and grow their client base. Company best suited to experienced LOs rather than those new to the business.

    Cons

    New hire training too limited, Some LOs treat subordinates disrespectfully.

    Guild Mortgage2019-04-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Better than Most but ......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prefer Not to Say 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, helpful and friendly

    Cons

    Lack to uphold company processes, lack of consistency but ample favoritism. Like most companies they want thier employees to be committed to them unfortunately I did not seem the same commitment from the company to thier employees in return.

    Advice to Management

    It wouldn't matter, several of us have over several years expressed issues of concern and it just fell on deaf ears but I guess that is what happens when you grow faster than you can manage. I do hope the best for this company because although it was not the perfect company it was a company that if you could just accept and overlook the inconsistencies and lack of support and preferential treatment from local office management...

    Show More
    Guild Mortgage2019-04-01
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Field Marketing Manager 

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    401K Match Great Benefits Work remote when in a regional position Some managers are great to work with Great Salesforce platform

    Cons

    Management has gone from good to bad, chasing off many employees Direction is not clear on what is wanted

    Advice to Management

    Higher managers that want to coach their team to be the best, not rip them to shreds when improvements are needed.

    Guild Mortgage2019-03-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture but Must Be Perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Processor III 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company values are great, culture is important. Training is constant and helpful.

    Cons

    Constant procedure changes can be confusing and frustrating. Staff not always compassionate about the adoption time of new processes.

    Advice to Management

    Management tends to focus on what a person does wrong instead of what they do great. Seen many great people leave because their work becomes targeted.

    Guild Mortgage2019-03-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Comp to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Everything about the comp

      Cons

      There aren't any to list

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing a great job

      Guild Mortgage2019-03-07
    Found 136 reviews