Guild Mortgage "processors" Reviews | Glassdoor

Guild Mortgage Employee Reviews about "processors"

Updated Mar 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Guild Mortgage CEO Mary Ann McGarry
Mary Ann McGarry
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone from my peers, to managment, to Loan Officers, knew to balance work and fun(in 11 reviews)

  • "Worked with great people all around(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Loan officers not always in office and does not report to office at time when office opens(in 12 reviews)

  • "Manager doesn't really back up the Processors(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "processors"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company - pay could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, very supportive environment, super flexible for family needs and no gender bias that I've seen

    Cons

    Admin roles (processors, transaction coordinators, loan office assistants and marketing coordinators) are paid hourly and seasoned professionals make the same as the newbies. Loan officers and nice but tend to have an air of superiority they give off. Online training is a joke, but it's a great team atmosphere and everyone is alway willing to help out.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2017-11-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "undecided"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great compensation plan, good people at corporate office, supports humanitarian aid

    Cons

    lack of Management in smaller branch offices, Processor's do not have coverage during vacation in smaller offices, no accountability for Loan Officers who are toxic, hard to get time off. Sales Managers manage processors in smaller offices where there is no Ops Manager

    Guild Mortgage2019-03-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Guild was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Processor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved most of the people I worked with, especially AZ staff and Underwriters.

    Cons

    Manager doesn't really back up the Processors. Most LO's are high maintenance and quick to throw you under the bus.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2018-06-07
  4. Helpful (9)

    "LOA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Officer Assistant in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours • decent healthcare plan • management doesn't micromanage once you've proven yourself • pays OT unlike some other mortgage companies • balanced family/work culture • open door policy • great underwriters and funders!

    Cons

    Processors are inexperienced and think they're underwriters • 401K company match isn't competitive • inconsistent loan origination procedures • high school like cliques

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2017-08-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Overall a Good company and benefits

    Cons

    processor ruled the office -little lack of team work

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2017-02-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mortgage Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guild Mortgage

    Pros

    Good flexibility to work from home as needed. No micro management at all. Decent to avg base pay for industry standards, benefits, PTO, 401k, etc, nice family like feel in office and a fairly casual work atmosphere.

    Cons

    There are no bonus or incentive structure at all. Just the base pay, so make sure you negotiate the number that you will need to make your bills. As an UW, you have to clear all suspense items on any post closing issue, however little it may be to the like of just a simple TYPO or being off $1 from closing figures, you have to correct, re-run AUS and pray that you still get a DU A/E ....it's on you, the UW, so that being said plan an hour a day just to keep up with these little recurring nags cuz they will not go away, they will just add up to the list and make your life miserable when you get behind the eight ball and towards the end of the month when it is crunch time to close loans. Another thing is that as an UW you best get used to the idea of allowing a Processor/Branch/LO to tell you what needs to be conditioned for and what you the UW will take "in Lieu of" to satisfy that condition. Its that simple, the bring the loans, they are the prima donnas and they will take it all the way to the top if they have to, regardless of much you provide "seller guide evidence" that the condition needs to remain and not be waived, they don't care, so if value your sanity and/job security, just roll with with the flow or else you will need to answer for every email or call they make to your manager, and you the UW will always remain blacklisted once you get the street cred of being a GATE KEEPER, so either you get on with company setup as it is or dust off your resume and move elsewhere because that wont change. UW management is AKA Production / Sales Management, so don't bother to go to your next up in the chain for help or answers cuz will not get any support, NONE! you are on your own, so if that doesn't bother you, then this company is a nice place to work for as an UW.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2016-01-03
  7. "Stay away, far far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Branch Manager in North Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage

    Pros

    They sure will teach you how not to manage a branch

    Cons

    So many things to list, I'll just stick with the management. All I received from the guy that brought me on was lie after lie. Oh we have great processing, the processor they assigned me left for a 2 week cruise and told my borrowers sorry she made a mistake but all the pain pills she is on makes it hard to think sometimes. Not to mention in the middle of her drug highs she would call and email my clients at 2 in the morning. When they asked her why the hell she was calling at 2 am she would argue with them and say no it's 2 pm. My manager was over stacking my pricing too support his steroid habits. Then invited all his branches out for a party at his home to tell us how great he was. When only half the branches showed up we got a rate hike the following week. I guess someone needed to pay for all the wasted food

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2015-01-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nighmare experience for new managers and MLO's."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    51 years in business. IT support was very good. Decent product line.

    Cons

    Management/ownership only concerned with their compensation and bonuses. Underwriting is extremely conservative, unapproachable with arguments or rebuttals...if you argue a point, they classify you as not a team player and blackball you. I was told by my regional manager, if the underwriter wants it...get it, and do not question it. Centralized processing...dissater. 60 files per processor is too many. They can't keep up nor do a good job. Management made verbal committments with MLO recruits and then once onboard, denied any such agreements. They cannot be trusted. Retail operations are not all treated equal nor are on the same playing field...as many favors, price exceptions, and U/W exceptions go to their "favorites".

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2013-01-04
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Processing: Overworked, underpaid, unappreciated..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Processor in Greenwood Village, Arapahoe, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guild Mortgage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Stability. Guild prides itself on not having layoffs. What they fail to mention is you either work there until your dead, or they bully you into quitting. 2. Sometimes the big boss buys you pizza, which later gives you the runs. Guess this should be a con.

    Cons

    1. Hours. Expect to work 5AM-God knows when...including weekends. 2. Management is there to belittle you. Make you feel worthless, and to pressure you into working harder in less hours. 3. Lower end pay scale for processors. $20 a file? Yikes. 4. They are not paperless. 5. The LO to processor ratio is 15:1. 6. Unreasonable expectations.

    Continue reading
    Guild Mortgage2012-08-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews