Guitar Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Guitar Center Reviews

Updated November 13, 2017
165 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Guitar Center CEO Ron Japinga
Ron Japinga
9 Ratings

165 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Excessive Burnout of employees by upper management (in 49 reviews)

  • Pay is disgustingly low (minimum wage) for workers with specialized skill set (in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "it pays the bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Repair Technician
    Current Employee - Repair Technician
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guitar Center full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - fun co workers
    -great discounts
    -reliable team
    -isn't to demanding

    Cons

    -minimum wage
    -low commission rates
    -lack of benefits other than employee discounts

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to really say, it's a job and there isn't anything really wrong with the position, its just very much one that you don't expect to be in for very long.

    Guitar Center Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – VP Human Resources and Diversity

    Thanks for the review! More than half of our placements this year were internal candidates, so there are lots of opportunities to grow within the organization.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad job. The work is pretty simple as heavier repairs are sent out to a main technician."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Repair Tech in Alpharetta, GA
    Former Employee - Repair Tech in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Guitar Center part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hours aren't bad. Tools are provided. Get to work on some cool gear

    Cons

    Noise. So much noise. And having to hit store owned gear numbers can be a pain.

    Guitar Center Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – VP Human Resources and Diversity

    Thanks for the review.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Guitar Center full-time

    Pros

    - great benefits
    - fun atmosphere
    - fair wage

    Cons

    - not much to complain about.

    Guitar Center Response

    Nov 15, 2017 – VP Human Resources and Diversity

    Thanks for the note!


  4. "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Current Employee - Store Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guitar Center full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Large company with decent store support. Great employee discounts, and benefits. Plenty of opportunity for growth, there isn't one single path for people these days.

    Ron Japinga seems to have a decent idea of the importance of the front line, but this needs to be followed up with swift change and improvement.

    Cons

    District level management don't seem to understand what they are doing at times, and put a lot of extra work load on the store management that should be completed by themselves. Overly micro-managed from district also.

    Poor work/life balance. Holiday season is important for business, yes, but it can also be very important for family life, even mental health. I personally haven't spent quality time with my family in the entirety of my GC career (12+ years).

    Advice to Management

    Place importance, and finances to the infrastructure of the company, as well as the front line associates. Although they are paid relatively well, there's very little incentive to overachieve once they reach the commission cap.

    Stop the blackout dates during the holiday season, and let the store make the decisions on when/if to give someone time off at this time of year. Close the doors on certain holidays also, easter etc.


  5. "Operations Associate -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in Florence, KY
    Former Employee - Operations Associate in Florence, KY
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guitar Center full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    GC is a really fun work environment. I was challenged and pushed to achieve everyday. I received the most experience and most support from the company then I have anywhere else.

    Cons

    The pay is a big issue as is how moving up in operations is basically impossible. You can really only move up back there if your OPs manager or someone else leaves.


  6. "Solid workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Guitar Center full-time

    Pros

    Steady work and a pretty good environment. If you show up and do your job you are treated well and will be able to stay here and advance when you desire.

    Cons

    Pay could be better and more freedom would be preferred. Certain departments are much better than others so depending on where you are the job can be more or less enjoyable/tolerable.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like adults unless the prove otherwise. I think that most of the employees would improve with more money/incentive.


  7. "Decent Hours and Decent Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Guitar Center part-time

    Pros

    Decent Hours and Decent Pay

    Cons

    Pay relative to living expenses of area
    Potential advancement

    Guitar Center Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – VP Human Resources and Diversity

    Thanks for the review! More than half of the associates at the Support Center grew up through our stores! So, there are career tracks other than the stores track!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Replenishment Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Guitar Center part-time

    Pros

    Love project management, and working in a team environment

    Cons

    Excessive Burnout of employees by upper management

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate more of an employee work-life balance

    Guitar Center Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – VP Human Resources and Diversity

    Thanks for the review! Today is the last day of our The Mic is Yours employee satisfaction survey; I hope you left actionable feedback -- we ready every single comment and act on it!


  9. "Customer Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR

    I worked at Guitar Center full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Best people that you may ever know! Most of the people I met over the years are still dear to me today!

    Cons

    Absolutely terrible room for advancement - way too much focus on retail cards and extended warranties.

    Advice to Management

    Have Fun and remember to help people make music.

    Guitar Center Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – VP Human Resources and Diversity

    Thanks for the review - I'm glad you were able to find your sound with us!


  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guitar Center full-time

    Pros

    Great environment and a fun place to work!

    Cons

    Benefits can potentially be costly at times.

    Guitar Center Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – VP Human Resources and Diversity

    Thanks for the review! We benchmark our benefits annually and we are below market in terms of employee expense and we offer "buy up" plans for medical, dental, and vision so you can get... More


Showing 165 of 933 reviews
Reset Filters