Guru Reviews | Glassdoor

Guru Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Jeff Cheng
18 Ratings
  1. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru full-time

    Pros

    Team Centered Work Cohesion Good Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Small team, but they pull their weight

    Guru2018-11-21
  2. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru

    Pros

    great work atmosphere. Nice people

    Cons

    frequent management changes made to take company to a new level difficult.

    Guru2018-09-01
  3. "Tech Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Manager in Beltsville, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small company, good transparency to employees about their current situation. Free soda in the break room and standard issue nerf guns were nice. It was a good foot in the door role for me. Work life balance was very good.

    Cons

    When I was there it was a small company trying to turn it's revenue stream around. I've heard that things are better now for them. They are also a managed service provider, and so some may not enjoy it as much as direct hire technical positions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep trying to rebuild the account base to correct the revenue stream; most of the technical policies and procedures seemed to be on point for your customers.

    Guru2018-06-20
  4. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Technician in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at Guru is knowledgeable and great to be around. Great team work. Everyone is very relaxed and down to earth.

    Cons

    There is no big cons. All companies have there small issues that pop-up. Guru is great at resolving those issues in a timely matter.

    Guru2018-04-02
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guru full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career opportunities for successful techies. Guru was an interesting place to work when I started and most of the people there were great to work with. I left at the same time as many others, not long after JB left the company. As the VP, he led the engineers, trained the staff, and serviced the clients and, after that separation, there was real concern for the state of the company, as we lost the best of clients...

    Show More

    Cons

    New management by CEO was scattered and the quality of engineers diminished. Leadership was impossible to trust with changing mood and business strategy by the minute. Impulsive terminations with no performance issues caused alarm for employees, altering moral and environment.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on ability to do the work instead of driving sales to replace lost accounts. Prior success was due to client referrals when the work was exceptional and engineers were supported and trained with ability to escalate technical issues. Build back the trust that has been lost.

    Guru2018-04-03
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Caring staff and coworkers - Lots of learning opportunities - Great camaraderie - Fun atmosphere

    Cons

    I have no cons to list

    Guru2018-02-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guru

    Pros

    Great staff and COO is great but there's not muxh more to be said

    Cons

    The CEO is an arrogant self absorbed bully who puts no value on staff

    Guru2018-01-25
  8. "I enjoyed my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Technician in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to play with different types of technology

    Cons

    not many, some communication issues here and there but nothing excessive

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Guru2016-10-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible place to wrk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Guru

    Pros

    I really can't think of any. They treat people terribly. Use you and then get rid of you.

    Cons

    Police state, micromanaging, terrible atmosphere, no respect for employees.

    Advice to Management

    REplace the management.

    Guru2015-11-13
  10. "Great Environment, Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru

    Pros

    Guru's leadership are incredible, they set expectations and then step out of the way to allow their staff to develop solutions. The environment is great, young ethos while still respecting family obligations, and performance/career development opportunities are great.

    Cons

    Administration, typical of medium and small business, but this is changing due to recent hires.

    Guru2015-09-21
Found 31 reviews