Guru Studio Animator Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Animator

Guru Studio Animator Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Guru Studio CEO Frank Falcone
Frank Falcone
4 Ratings
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animation Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Guru Studio is a wonderful place to work. So many fun projects. It's full of talented, friendly and hard working people. Flexible hours, bright and clean environment, I would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Cons

    The kitchen space is a little small, but there are so many good places to eat lunch nearby it does not bother me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Guru Studio2019-07-16
  2. "Great Studio All Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This studio is perfect for new animators to get their feet wet in the industry. The mentor ship offered to new animators is amazing (feed back fridays/master classes). The studio looks at your goals as an artist and helps create a path for you to get there. They also understand work life balance allowing flex hours, because of this i was able to continue on with post grad studies on the side. Work is constant and stable...

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is lower then most studios but its evened out by good projects and stable work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on allowing artist to grow within your studio.

    Guru Studio2019-07-15
  3. "Free Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Toronto, PE

    I worked at Guru Studio for less than a year

    Pros

    downtown Toronto, it is convenient. people are friendly.

    Cons

    You don't get paid as intern at all.

    Guru Studio2019-04-29
  4. "3D Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 3D Animator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good People , Good environment

    Cons

    I don't see any cons

    Advice to Management

    No

    Guru Studio2018-03-07

    Guru Studio Response

    March 13, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoy working at Guru. We’re always inspired by the creativity and positivity of our artists!

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Fairly Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio for less than a year

    Pros

    - happy work environment - excellent pose library for animators -great rigs -friendly leads & animation director - good training from animation director - good place for a first job -good clubs & organized events

    Cons

    - low pay - treated more as a number than a human from management - not much opportunity to grow as an artist

    Advice to Management

    Don't bite off more than you can chew. Respect the artists & make them feel important. Get to know your staff.

    Guru Studio2017-05-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great team of artist

    Cons

    the show they work on are a lot of pre school shows

    Guru Studio2016-12-07
  7. "Everything I could want in a workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animation Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Guru Studio

    Pros

    I've worked at Guru for 10 years and received many raises, promotions and opportunities. Excellent stability, fair pay, benefits, awesome projects, endless opportunities, great people, fun events.

    Cons

    Do I have to write something? I can't think of any cons so here's your twenty word minimum, there it is indeed.

    Guru Studio2016-08-05
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pros: Relatively stress free enviroment compared to most studios. They have parties about 3 times a year could be more depending on wrapping up seasons. Christmas you have off and is mostly paid (Untill January 2nd) They have interesting teaching sessions which can help up your game. T hey recently started doing benefits Dental, eyecare etc. Very basic program. Directors were generally quite good and offered...

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is not that good relative to the industry and considering how big they are. They capped me off around 1150 per week, when I looked for work at other studios I was offerred 1300 - 1400 for my experience and talent. You can be quite loyal to the company with no benefit. Worked there for nearly 5 years. When they run out of work. No comp packages. Perks are basically non existant. We used to get ok christmas bonuses...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees for overtime for weekend work. Pay the employees at a competitive rate. Reward loyalty. The work enviroment is definately the biggest pro here in terms of mostly being relaxing although their competitors generally throw more parties for

    Guru Studio2016-04-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Guru Studio

    Pros

    This is the most inspiring place I have ever worked. It's run by an artist and the creative energy here is unlike any other place

    Cons

    The expectations are very high and people work very hard - not for everyone - you have to care about your work

    Advice to Management

    Chill out a bit and have some fun!

    Guru Studio2016-01-28
  10. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Animator in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Guru Studio for less than a year

    Pros

    good place for pre school shows

    Cons

    only produce pre school shows

    Guru Studio2013-09-26
Found 10 reviews