Guru Studio Reviews | Glassdoor

Guru Studio Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Guru Studio CEO Frank Falcone
Frank Falcone
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pros: Relatively stress free enviroment compared to most studios. They have parties about 3 times a year could be more depending on wrapping up seasons. Christmas you have off and is mostly paid (Untill January 2nd) They have interesting teaching sessions which can help up your game. T hey recently started doing benefits Dental, eyecare etc. Very basic program. Directors were generally quite good and offered...

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is not that good relative to the industry and considering how big they are. They capped me off around 1150 per week, when I looked for work at other studios I was offerred 1300 - 1400 for my experience and talent. You can be quite loyal to the company with no benefit. Worked there for nearly 5 years. When they run out of work. No comp packages. Perks are basically non existant. We used to get ok christmas bonuses...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees for overtime for weekend work. Pay the employees at a competitive rate. Reward loyalty. The work enviroment is definately the biggest pro here in terms of mostly being relaxing although their competitors generally throw more parties for

    Guru Studio2016-04-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Guru Studio

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere. Interesting projects. Friendly staff.

    Cons

    Not the best salary and short on benefits. When work on Saturdays, no overtime paid.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe increase the benefits package.

    Guru Studio2016-02-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Animator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Guru Studio

    Pros

    This is the most inspiring place I have ever worked. It's run by an artist and the creative energy here is unlike any other place

    Cons

    The expectations are very high and people work very hard - not for everyone - you have to care about your work

    Advice to Management

    Chill out a bit and have some fun!

    Guru Studio2016-01-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Guru Studio

    Pros

    Interesting projects. Great coworkers. Offers artists a lot of opportunities to learn new skills and transfer between departments. Surrounded by a lot of talent

    Cons

    Could pay better to meet industry standards

    Guru Studio2016-02-09
  5. Helpful (14)

    "confidential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Guru Studio

    Pros

    Flex hours No dress code Location Provide snacks and events

    Cons

    Very cheap Lack professionalism Zero structure Lots of office politics

    Advice to Management

    Hire people to actually run the company.

    Guru Studio2016-01-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "guru studio low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Guru Studio

    Pros

    great staff\ flexiiblee hours are nice

    Cons

    mediocre projects and theyre cheap

    Guru Studio2015-12-18
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Worst place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Guru Studio

    Pros

    Good sense of community among employees. Nice and friendly people.

    Cons

    Leadership duo is dysfunctional. Long hours and no work/life balance. No appreciation from executive leadership. Shady business practices.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to feedback from employees. Show genuine appreciation for employees.

    Guru Studio2015-12-10
Found 37 reviews