Guru Studio "studios" Reviews | Glassdoor

Guru Studio Employee Reviews about "studios"

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Guru Studio CEO Frank Falcone
Frank Falcone
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low salary compared to other studios(in 6 reviews)

  • "Utterly dysfunctional upper management, as demonstrated by the constant turnover in the senior ranks(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "studios"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Creative and Artist Driven Studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Creativity and storytelling are front and center. - Highly ambitious in their approach to creating just about anything - aim for the stars! - As a result, some of your best work will come out of this studio. - You get to work on a wide range of products across television, games and film. - 99% of marketing initiatives are managed and executed in-house: from designing merchandise to putting together a live show, you get to do it all. - Cross functional collaboration! Unlike other studios, at Guru, you get to collaborate directly with producers and artists on marketing related initiatives. - The people are highly talented and super friendly, your coworkers will inspire you every day.

    Cons

    - There should be as much focus on the people as there is on the amazing brands that come out of the studio

    Continue reading
    Guru Studio2019-06-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time

    Pros

    People working here are super chill. No strict time policy, just work your hours and everything will be okay!

    Cons

    Management can be better! Haven't had my name in credits for one of the show I worked in! Low salary compared to other studios.

    Continue reading
    Guru Studio2017-10-02

    Guru Studio Response

    January 24, 2018

    Please send an email directly to guruinfo@gurustudio.com so that we can look into this. We believe that anyone who has contributed directly to our productions deserves credit and we work very closely with our production partners to ensure all contributors receive a fair credit.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work culture is great - almost everyone is friendly and supportive. The dress code is casual and work hours are fairly flexible.

    Cons

    It's disorganized like many studios and the pay is quite low. Some of the supervisors were clearly asked to step into the role based on their experience and talent, and not on their ability to supervise.

    Continue reading
    Guru Studio2017-08-20
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Good till they expanded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Guru Studio full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Co-workers -Nice location with food options -Good supervisors

    Cons

    -Very disorganized -Bully employees into overtime and positions they don't want to be in. -Low pay -Tend to have higher than normal work loads than other studios

    Continue reading
    Guru Studio2017-05-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Guru Studio for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - more easy going, less corporate than some other big studios - relaxed atmosphere, friendly people - room to move up, seniority doesn't play a big role

    Cons

    - salaries are a bit less competitive - some growing pains as they become bigger and bigger - some key departments in the backend deserve more resources than what they are currently receiving

    Continue reading
    Guru Studio2016-07-11
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Guru Studio full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pros: Relatively stress free enviroment compared to most studios. They have parties about 3 times a year could be more depending on wrapping up seasons. Christmas you have off and is mostly paid (Untill January 2nd) They have interesting teaching sessions which can help up your game. T hey recently started doing benefits Dental, eyecare etc. Very basic program. Directors were generally quite good and offered great advice, some could be stressful by bothering animators more than they should.

    Cons

    Pay is not that good relative to the industry and considering how big they are. They capped me off around 1150 per week, when I looked for work at other studios I was offerred 1300 - 1400 for my experience and talent. You can be quite loyal to the company with no benefit. Worked there for nearly 5 years. When they run out of work. No comp packages. Perks are basically non existant. We used to get ok christmas bonuses in the form of best buy gift cards Starbucks and Bestbuy (125 value). Last year we were given a toque and a guru pin. Better than nothing? Don't expect to be paid overtime even if you work your hours unless you happen to be in demand and nobody else can do the work. They expect your work to be done and they aren't shy about coming on the weekends for no pay. This can be common in the industry and GURU is NO exception to this. They pay newcomers terrribly. Don't be shy to negotiate high or walk. Other studios will pay bettter. Coffee is nasty in the kitchen. They use maxwell regular pot coffee. You're better off going outside to grab one.

    Continue reading
    Guru Studio2016-04-01
Found 37 reviews