Gwinnett County Public Schools Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Gwinnett County Public Schools Superintendent J. Alvin Wilbanks (no image)
J. Alvin Wilbanks
89 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "GCPS cares more about vendors than their own employees(in 12 reviews)

  • "Low pay, never stay at one school(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teacher salary"

    5.0
    Current Employee - High School English Teacher in Loganville, GA

    I have been working at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Best pay in georgia for high school teachers

    Cons

    A lot of red tape and unnecessary rules

    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-05-25
  2. "Good Company to Work For"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Teacher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Co-workers, Technology, Salary, Location, Facilities, Resources

    Cons

    Hours, Number of meetings, testing, consistency

    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-05-27
  3. "GCPS is a great school system"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have lots of workshop and continuous learning which is beneficial for all new teachers.

    Cons

    They force district assessments (online tests) which are sometimes way too hard for our kids developmentally.

    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-05-24
  4. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic management and leadership Opportunities for professional development

    Cons

    Can be rife with unwritten rules and politics

    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-04-15
  5. "Good part time job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Lawrenceville, GA

    I have been working at Gwinnett County Public Schools part-time

    Pros

    -Paid by the day not the Hours you work -You can choose your own schedule and the school you would like to be assigned for -Helps you connect with people working in the school system if you wish to obtain better opportunities

    Cons

    -No benefits - Can only have 1 call off - because we work by the day we don’t get paid if national pandemics (EX: Coronavirus) take place , nor do they try to help you. Teachers, Staff, Custodians, etc still get paid because they are on “salaries” while substitutes are left with nothing. - Paid monthly , last business day of the month

    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-03-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent benefits and competitive pay but limited career growth opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Math Teacher 

    I worked at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Excellent benefits and competitive pay

    Cons

    *Too many commitments after school that are not compensated.

    Continue reading
    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-03-05
  7. "Awesome Employer"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    GCPS is a quality organization to work for.

    Cons

    Large county and traffic is always tricky.

    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-03-06
  8. "Collaborative environment for special educators."

    4.0
     

    I worked at Gwinnett County Public Schools

    Pros

    Students, colleagues, community, salary aligned with cost of living.

    Cons

    Large district so networking was important. Resources seemed to be a bit unbalanced based on location within the district.

    Continue reading
    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-02-11
  9. "Would recommend being a school bus driver"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Bus Driver 
    Recommends

    I worked at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Summers, weekends, holidays & school holidays off. Kids were great, over all loved the job. Benefits

    Cons

    Pay isn’t the best. Parents of students could be difficult at times. Early mornings.

    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-01-31
  10. "Provide guidance and teaching instructions to a variety of students."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Instructor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gwinnett County Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very satisfying to help students succeed in their engineering endeavors

    Cons

    Incomplete academic year for engineering programs

    Continue reading
    Gwinnett County Public Schools2020-01-28
Found 347 reviews