Gypsum Management and Supply Reviews | Glassdoor

Gypsum Management and Supply Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Gypsum Management and Supply CEO Michael Callahan
Michael Callahan
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of opportunities at GMS. Especially if you are willing to move, promotions are easy to obtain. The benefits are strong and the pay can be rewarding.

    Cons

    The materials market is pinned to the local economy. This can cause an otherwise easy job to become quite challenging when the market is struggling. Of course, this can probably be said about most jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure GMS stays to its core values of treating employees like family while the company continues to grow.

    Gypsum Management and Supply2017-12-02

    Gypsum Management and Supply Response

    December 4, 2017VP Human Resources

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm glad to see you have had a good experience working for GMS. We are aligned with you and want to ensure our family atmosphere remains strong. We appreciate your help in making this happen!

  2. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Gypsum Management and Supply

      Pros

      Pay, benefits, bonuses, experience, co-workers

      Cons

      Hard work, long hours, Favoritism, management, dispatch,

      Gypsum Management and Supply2019-02-15
    • "Sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time

      Pros

      Payed a lot of attention

      Cons

      Typical corporation, after buying out a company they gut it and replace it with thier own people.

      Gypsum Management and Supply2018-06-27
    • "Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      They offer some free snacks and drinks

      Cons

      They don't believe in diverse management.

      Advice to Management

      Add more diverse management and believe in your employees

      Gypsum Management and Supply2018-03-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "Micromanagement at its finest - Payroll Department Only"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time

      Pros

      This review is strictly about the current corporate payroll department management team. Overall GMS is a great company to work for if you work outside of the payroll dept. Decent pay, benefits are pretty good, nice office building. Probably one of a few companies that provide FREE water, soda, Keurig coffee, tea and limited snacks. Somewhat flexible work schedule. Employees are recognized/celebrated for anniversaries,...

      Show More

      Cons

      The payroll employees are severely micromanaged. Management does not defend nor support the employees when minor errors occur. They immediately want to "write you up" like you are a child. Other depts are permitted to work from home on a regular basis or under special circumstances like illness or bad weather. NOT payroll. Is it because the dept was 98% black?

      Advice to Management

      Stop micromanaging your employees, It is not necessary. TRUST your team to work from home like other departments do under extenuating circumstances. Support/defend your payroll team rather than rush to write them up for mistakes. Investigate a little more and look at the overall reason for the mistake. Put a bonus structure in place to boost morale and as an incentive to continue to do great.

      Gypsum Management and Supply2018-01-07

      Gypsum Management and Supply Response

      February 5, 2018VP Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I am sorry you had a poor experience, know that your comments will assist us in our ongoing quest to ensure that all aspects of GMS are best in class.

    • "Branch Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time

      Pros

      - Actively embraces and promotes safety culture - Extensive resources available to all subsidiaries

      Cons

      - Antiquated business processes - Limited career growth - Limited valuable skills generated

      Gypsum Management and Supply2018-01-09

      Gypsum Management and Supply Response

      February 5, 2018VP Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate it!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Good and horribly bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gypsum Management and Supply

      Pros

      Good employees fun working inviroment and just fun if you don't get in management's cross hairs

      Cons

      Management lies straight to you face too worried about policy and not the employee

      Advice to Management

      Take time to give people a chance and don't lie and back stab them think how you would like to be treated

      Gypsum Management and Supply2017-02-22

      Gypsum Management and Supply Response

      February 24, 2017VP Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry you had such a poor experience and would love the opportunity to learn more about your specific situation. Please feel free to contact the GMS HR team at hr@gms.com if you would like to share more.

    • "I love my job, my manager, coworkers & our customers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous in Ocala, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time

      Pros

      Excellent Benefits. Great Manager that really cares for his employees and puts a strong emphasis on our safety. My Manager takes the time to invest in us to make sure we are all successful, safe and learning something new every day. I can honestly say I feel like I work for a leader and not a boss because he shows us we are a team and is part of that team with us. I have great coworkers and love the people I work with...

      Show More

      Cons

      I have found my career home and there aren't any right now. I hope it stays like this. We are growing and very busy but I am excited about it.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the culture up that we have here in our office. (It is not something that is easy to find) I've worked in this industry for a long time and have been around managers that don't actually care about their employees or their safety and are in it for themselves only and do not care about helping their employees suceed too. You get out of your employees what you put in them. We've got a great manager, great team and the...

      Show More
      Gypsum Management and Supply2017-02-04

      Gypsum Management and Supply Response

      February 6, 2017VP Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our company. I am so pleased to see that you enjoy working at the Ocala yard and it sounds like you have a great team there. Keep up the great work and never hesitate to let us know if there’s something we can do to improve.

    • "DSI"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time

      Pros

      Get a lot of hours.

      Cons

      Not a well organized/ran business. Management isn't timely with evaluations ( 2 months behind and counting). Treated like you are completely replaceable at a moments notice. Work live Balance doesn't exist.

      Gypsum Management and Supply2017-01-27

      Gypsum Management and Supply Response

      January 30, 2017VP Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m sorry to see that you haven’t had a great experience working at one of our companies and would appreciate the opportunity to learn more. If you’re willing, please contact the HR Manager for your region (her name is Lindsay).

    • Helpful (1)

      "Warehhouse Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Kearny, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Gypsum Management and Supply full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, Great co workers

      Cons

      growth opportunity, life/work balance,

      Gypsum Management and Supply2016-12-06

      Gypsum Management and Supply Response

      December 8, 2016VP Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we really do appreciate it. If you'd like to share more about how we can improve on providing growth opportunities or life/work balance, please feel free to contact your regional HR manager. I'm sure she would be pleased to hear ...

      Show More
    Found 17 reviews