H E B "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

H E B Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "not a lot of available full time positions(in 131 reviews)

  • "Didn’t want to make me part time so I can go to school at night(in 108 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Very good company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cross Functional Senior Specialist in McAllen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H E B part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, opportunities for advancement, open door policy

    Cons

    Becoming a full time employee is NOT easy.

    Continue reading
    H E B2020-02-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Serive Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H E B part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people Flexible Decent pay Stock plan Health insurance

    Cons

    Hard to get full-time hours

    H E B2020-02-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fun place to work, but horrible management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Missouri City, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at H E B part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly Pay, 10% discount on store brand items, occasional free items, raise every 6 months

    Cons

    Easy to get fired, lack of benefits, no Full-Time advancement opportunities

    Continue reading
    H E B2020-02-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Because people matter is an absolute lie."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Champion (Loss Prevention) 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H E B part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Weekly pay, every 6 months raises. Insurance is quite good. 401k match

    Cons

    Extreme Nepotism. If they like you you're set for life. While I haven't been personally effected by this, however, its very obvious. Your extra work is not rewarded. I do Loss Prevention, so I watch for thieves in the stores. Not only do I do that, but I do work orders for the electric carts, electrical outlets, flags, parking lot, cart corrals. Ive done this for years, and im technically still part time, even after two full timers have left our department. Never expect to be made full time unless you get a new job that is already full time. Ive worked 40 hours/week for most of this time too. Some people get obscenely low hours (10 or less) despite open availability. They keep the lazy people they like. Because people matter is a joke, they say that but it means nothing.

    Continue reading
    H E B2020-01-29
  5. "Good pay compared to similar jobs at other retailers, plenty of opportunity for growth, and good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commisioned Sales-Electronics 

    I have been working at H E B full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility for hours, vacation, benefits, good pay, room to grow.

    Cons

    not a lot of available full time positions.

    H E B2020-01-31
  6. "Easy slow paced job if done right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at H E B full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits when you full time

    Cons

    Bad hours, work on most holidays

    H E B2020-01-08
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H E B part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Nice people Great benefits(if Full Time)

    Cons

    None at all!! Great company so far.

    H E B2019-12-10
  8. "Pretty good for a huge company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Curbside Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at H E B full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if you can get a full-time gig Friendly managers

    Cons

    Very difficult to move from retail position to corporate - the company would rather hire outsiders into corporate positions and keep current employees in their retail positions

    Continue reading
    H E B2019-11-30
  9. "Maintaining the front end of the store through customer service and supervision of cashiers and other customer care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Service Manager in Cypress, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H E B part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing Free health care for employees 401k assistance Great job for college student Flexible hours Great work experience

    Cons

    Not many full time positions without a degree

    H E B2019-10-14
  10. "Really Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - H-E-B Corporate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H E B for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of variety in your job Get to work alongside Partners and get a taste of the day-to-day Intern field trips (trip to icecream plant, store walks, Six Flags) Coffee Chats every Friday where you have free breakfast and get to hear from different H-E-B leadership

    Cons

    Not a lot of interns actually get hired on full time after they graduate You might not love everyone you work for/with (as with any job!)

    Continue reading
    H E B2019-10-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 176 reviews