H.I.G. Capital Reviews | Glassdoor

H.I.G. Capital Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
H.I.G. Capital CEO Sami W. Mnaymneh and Tony Tamer
Sami W. Mnaymneh and Tony Tamer
32 Ratings
  1. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital full-time

    Pros

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital for a little over two years. During my time at H.I.G. I made many friends which I will stay in touch with forever. I also had a great manager who allowed me to implement new ideas and processes. A new CFO recently joined the firm and many more positive changes are coming. In addition, the company is constantly investing in technology and continues to innovate in order to assist employees become...

    Show More

    Cons

    I do not have any.

    H.I.G. Capital2018-10-30
  2. "Not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They other employees are nice and hard workers

    Cons

    Mangers dont know how to manage

    Advice to Management

    Get managers that know there stuff and also send them to training. The have no people skills.

    H.I.G. Capital2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at H.I.G. Capital full-time

    Pros

    partner Fridays, good life work life balance,

    Cons

    no matching 401K, , horrible management, vacation days, no communication

    H.I.G. Capital2018-12-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sins of the father / Empire today"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Sales Manager/Empire 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As an equity firm, you should pay attention to the businesses you own. Allowing all the best talent to be fired is not a smart business move, if you want to turn profits . Where were you during this? How much money has been lost since your acquisition of Empire Carpet?

    Cons

    Turning a blind eye to awful management of your subsidiaries is disgusting. Do you even know what’s going on? Is this the way a successful parent company works?

    Advice to Management

    Beg everyone to come back and find a new CEO and EVP.

    H.I.G. Capital2018-11-20
  5. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful support from management and peers. I loved working for HIG Capital. I worked in two separate departments during my tenure there and I made life long friends. I left in 2012. The company provided continuous education and HR had an open door policy that is hard to find in today's mahogany desk corporate environments.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, I had to resign due to distance but I find no cons in HIG Capital. The salary and benefits are competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! I love seeing you grow.

    H.I.G. Capital2018-09-24
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Backoffice Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pros, there are few. The company is stable so will be around for a while but that is about it.

    Cons

    Huge discrepancies between salaries for people working side by side doing the same work. Also, back office never promotes. They seem to think all the good financial minds are in the northeast. They will go out of their way to move someone down to Miami but won't promote from within. High turnover in management leading to huge inconsistencies.

    Advice to Management

    Weed out the horrible bosses that cause all of the turnover and get rid of them. Promote fairly and evenly across the board. Also, might be nice to have a HR department so employees can have a means to handle grievances. Reviews are months late and they just say, the pay increase is retro so what is the problem. Company boasts they have 25 billion under management but won't match the 401k.

    H.I.G. Capital2018-09-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great firm to get some experience then seek better comp elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H.I.G. Capital full-time

    Pros

    Superior returns, extremely talented investment professionals, and active deal flow.

    Cons

    The big downside is comp - way below market, which results in many “learn then leave” employment durations in critical positions. The firm’s value approach is evident in all components of the comp package.

    H.I.G. Capital2018-07-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Successful company, lots of hard working staff and good culture.

    Cons

    New management is awful. Misguided and aims to change the firm’s culture, which is one of the best things about it. Finance staff are very overworked and it’s a revolving door.

    Advice to Management

    Do not let new management change what’s made you successful all these years. Finance needs to be better managed. Too many managers and they don’t communicate with each other.

    H.I.G. Capital2018-06-21
  9. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H.I.G. Capital full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, nice perks

    Cons

    No comment at this time

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within the organization

    H.I.G. Capital2017-11-30
  10. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H.I.G. Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people; the general atmosphere; some of the perks

    Cons

    low salary; not much room for advancement for support staff

    H.I.G. Capital2017-10-26
Found 51 reviews