H&M Reviews | Glassdoor

H&M Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1267 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Martino Pessina
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits work life balance(in 243 reviews)

  • "H&M is a wonderful employer generally speaking because they allow you to express yourself and they care about their employees(in 224 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you want to work in H&M you need a really fast pace, sometimes there is some lack of communication from the management team(in 180 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is not a priority(in 147 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic growth opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stretched and challenged you for continual personal development, great benefits, and amazing company culture.

    Cons

    In-store technology can be upgraded to improve efficiency.

    H&M2019-05-30
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&M part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, great benefits even for part-time workers, higher pay then most part-time jobs.

    Cons

    Not so easy to move up within company

    H&M2019-06-06
  3. "Your experience depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Idaho Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H&M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fun job at times and you can work with great people. The work isn't too hard and you get some creative freedom at times. Great pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    Management can be horrible and same with the district your in... Your complaints aren't listen to and when a store manager doesn't like you it gets worse. I heard it was a great company years ago but the values are rarely used unless it's against you.

    Advice to Management

    When your team have complaints you should actually look into it instead of ignoring what we have to say and investigate.

    H&M2019-06-16
  4. "A vibrant and comfortable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&M part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable and adaptable to all issues and schedule changes

    Cons

    It can get overwhelming at times.

    H&M2019-05-23
  5. "Awesome workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Albuquerque, NM

      I have been working at H&M part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great work life balance. Awesome co workers. Management is wonderful and works with your schedule.

      Cons

      Not many hours outside of holidays.

      H&M2019-05-21
    • "My experience has been rewarding and benefits to my growth and all the experience and knowledge It has taught me."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at H&M full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Benefits, social environment, growth, competitive pay,

      Cons

      Development, work life balance, high expectations with not enough resources.

      H&M2019-06-05
    • "Decent retail company to work for if everything ran smoothly"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at H&M part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Compared to other retail companies that hire young adults that just graduated high school or need a job while their in college, H&M starts off with a better pay rate than the others.

        Cons

        Policy changes happening without the proper communication with the biggest issue that I have faced in all my time working with H&M. (Like most retail jobs, most issues occur at the location of the store, not the actual H&M company. The current location I am at has a total of about different 15 issues)

        H&M2019-06-03
      • "Growth Opportunities are limited"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Sunrise, FL
        Recommends

        I worked at H&M part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        They’re average pay is better than any other retail company.

        Cons

        Management never seemed to have anything together.

        H&M2019-05-31
      • "Like any other retail job."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at H&M part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Flexible hours, different job rotations.

        Cons

        Low pay for the work, large amounts of customers/to staff

        Advice to Management

        Hire more people

        H&M2019-05-29
      • "Sales Advisor and Trainer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Advisor in South Portland, ME
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at H&M part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nice Co-workers Work was not difficult Relaxed Flexible

        Cons

        Unorganized Difficult to get a promotion

        H&M2019-05-14
      Found 1267 reviews