H&M Reviews | Glassdoor

H&M Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1272 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Martino Pessina
46 Ratings
  1. "great workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H&M part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits for workers nice people

    Cons

    i have nothing bad to say

    H&M2019-06-24
  2. "Great benefits, terrible culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mankato, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at H&M full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full-timers and part-timers get paid sick leave, paid vacation hours. FT staff get health insurance, and discounts on car and pet insurance. Pay is good but not as competitive as it used to be. Paid holidays, time and a half on certain holidays, better Black Friday hours than most retailers, no working on Thanksgiving

    Cons

    Terrible work-life balance if you're full time. If you're on a management team you're basically on-call all the time. Store managers claim they don't want you to take work home with you, but will text or call you on your day off expecting you to coordinate plans with them or talk about staffing issues, and expect you to waste your time doing the same for them if you're at work. Management teams aren't allowed to hire...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you're going to run your stores with the bare minimum amount of visual, supervisor, and full time sales lead positions, you need to downsize your stores and make an actual effort to cut down on the amount of product being sent to already-overwhelmed, overfilled stores. One person can't cover register, fitting room, and two to four massive departments at once. Management teams need to enact company values in a positive...

    Show More
    H&M2019-06-21
  3. "Values driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Chicago, IL

    I worked at H&M full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and time off. Fun and fast paced work environment. Global fashion company that makes sustainable garments.

    Cons

    Moving into a position outside of the store level in the Midwest is limited.

    H&M2019-06-21
  4. "Decent Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at H&M part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff, Discounts, Flexible, Fun. I was able to travel for work for new store openings, and the pay was great! Management was flexible with my hours and was able to hear me if I had concerns with work (issues, etc). I loved working with my co-workers, and break times were fair.

    Cons

    Busy, but not stressful. Mainly stressful on black friday.

    H&M2019-06-20
  5. "I love what the company stands for but my specific location was a mess."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&M part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, paid sick time, paid vacation time, bonuses

    Cons

    understaffed, GM was a creep, only one manager does their job but unfortunately it doesn't mean much because the manager above her doesn't do anything, so she can't really get much done.

    Advice to Management

    Make Tyler the GM lol

    H&M2019-06-19
  6. "Your experience depends on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Idaho Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H&M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a fun job at times and you can work with great people. The work isn't too hard and you get some creative freedom at times. Great pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    Management can be horrible and same with the district your in... Your complaints aren't listen to and when a store manager doesn't like you it gets worse. I heard it was a great company years ago but the values are rarely used unless it's against you.

    Advice to Management

    When your team have complaints you should actually look into it instead of ignoring what we have to say and investigate.

    H&M2019-06-16
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&M part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, great benefits even for part-time workers, higher pay then most part-time jobs.

    Cons

    Not so easy to move up within company

    H&M2019-06-06
  8. "My experience has been rewarding and benefits to my growth and all the experience and knowledge It has taught me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H&M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, social environment, growth, competitive pay,

    Cons

    Development, work life balance, high expectations with not enough resources.

    H&M2019-06-05
  9. "Decent retail company to work for if everything ran smoothly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at H&M part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Compared to other retail companies that hire young adults that just graduated high school or need a job while their in college, H&M starts off with a better pay rate than the others.

      Cons

      Policy changes happening without the proper communication with the biggest issue that I have faced in all my time working with H&M. (Like most retail jobs, most issues occur at the location of the store, not the actual H&M company. The current location I am at has a total of about different 15 issues)

      H&M2019-06-03
    • "Growth Opportunities are limited"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Sunrise, FL
      Recommends

      I worked at H&M part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They’re average pay is better than any other retail company.

      Cons

      Management never seemed to have anything together.

      H&M2019-05-31
    Found 1272 reviews