H2M Reviews | Glassdoor

H2M Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
71%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
H2M CEO Rich Humann
Rich Humann
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and career growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Services in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have had the opportunity to work at a few companies in the AEC industry and I couldn't imagine working anywhere else again. First of all, the employees at H2M are wonderful! Everyone is so friendly despite the fact that many of us don’t even know each other since the company has grown so much. However, everyone I have met is driven to work hard and produce the absolute best work project – their passion is... evident. In addition, the amount of charitable endeavors that are driven by my coworkers is really inspirational. Secondly, I have been afforded the opportunity to grow in my profession more than I ever thought I would. I find that the company strikes a nice balance between pushing me outside of my comfort zone while making me feel like it is ok if I made a mistake.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think everyone is busy and pulled in a lot of directions as a result of the company's growth. Overall, it is not a bad problem to have.

    H2M2019-09-16
  2. "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at H2M full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary for position there

    Cons

    A bit too political and click-ish

    H2M2019-10-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H2M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For a large firm, it has a "family" feel. I have never felt like just a number. There is a genuine open-door policy - upper management will readily talk and listen to anyone's ideas. It seems that the company sincerely cares about employees, retention, work-life balance, and personal and professional growth. You are able to take on as much responsibility as you can handle - if you show dedication, responsibility,... and talent, there are some opportunities for growth. Resources are available (sometimes only if you know who to ask). Willing to implement new technology and programs. The compensation is acceptable, and the benefits are good (401k match, reimbursement for professional memberships, exams, etc.). The offices are newly renovated and modern. Many opportunities to join sports teams and committees.

    Show More

    Cons

    Engineering counterparts are paid more than architects, even though responsibility and accountability for project management generally falls to architects. Too much time spent reviewing accounting information at the expense of other architectural responsibilities. Much of the work falls under the category of "service" or maintenance projects, which can get repetitive. Real design opportunities on exciting projects... are far and few between. Recent growth has led to lack of knowledge transfer and a decline in adherence to standards.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shift focus from growth to improvement of quality.

    H2M2019-09-13
  5. "There are no limits - your future is yours to build"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H2M full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    H2M has provided me unlimited opportunity to grow and succeed. Through hard work and dedication I have achieved greater career growth at H2M than I did at my previous employer and others at other firms. H2M walks the walk, but you have to do your part. Just as upper management delivered on their promises to me, I have adopted the culture along with my staff. I have a highly motivated staff of over 10 people, and... each person comes to work every day with a can-do attitude. The emerging leaders in my group will follow in my footsteps and achieve their goals. The opportunities are your to take.

    Show More

    Cons

    As I read some of the other negative reviews, I wonder if we (management) do not adequately communicate opportunities and what it takes to succeed. Yes you have to work hard, you have to take on challenges, you have to step outside of your comfort zone. If you step up, focus on your own success and ignore the petty issues which exist everywhere, you will succeed. Every company has pros and cons, but at H2M to Pros... far outweigh the Cons.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing, stay flexible. As long as we realize when we make mistakes, recognize them and are pro-active in correcting them, we will be unstoppable.

    H2M2019-09-06
  6. "Purpose driven and Values reflected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager L & D in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H2M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engaging environment and purposeful work. It's great working with smart people.

    Cons

    I can't think of any right now.

    H2M2019-08-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Stuck in their ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Parsippany, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at H2M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid overtime after 45 hours

    Cons

    Accounting department seems to run the company, timesheet shaming (your utilization rate will be shared with others in your department), standard cubicle farm.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to feedback from employees, remove focus from utilization rates.

    H2M2019-07-03
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Engineer in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at H2M full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people and not a lot of pressure.

    Cons

    The Money is not great.

    Advice to Management

    Money is not great.

    H2M2019-05-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I look forward to going to work everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H2M full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    H2M really excels at putting their employees first and staying true to their mission and values (a commitment that is often undervalued at other companies). In the time that I've been with H2M, I've seen firsthand why the company culture is so strong - every employee is respected and encouraged to grow and learn from their mistakes. Everyone from the staff level up to senior management shows a certain level of... humility and recognizes that it's okay not to know something - which I have found very helpful in my process of growth and improvement. Working at H2M has changed how I view going to the office every day. Knowing that I’m not only valued for my work but also how I show up as a person every day has been incredibly motivating. I also feel very privileged to get to work as an engineer and have the ability to go home on time every day and pursue my personal life. I highly encourage other engineers to consider H2M, especially those who are beginning their careers and are looking for a place with a lot of opportunities to learn and grow.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no complaints. In fact, I'm very surprised by some of the negative comments on here about the culture, office politics, and pay. I guess with a company as large as H2M with so many disciplines and different groups, it's expected that some groups won't align with the company’s values - but from my experience, it is not typical. As for the pay, I have found it to be fair - but I also think It’s important to... realize that H2M is not a company solely driven by profit - but rather by a balance of profit and social/environmental responsibility. I think it’s important not to take that for granted. That being said, you will certainly be rewarded for applying yourself - and to a degree, your pay is a reflection of your efforts and the quality of your work.

    Show More
    H2M2019-05-05
  10. "Outstanding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at H2M

    Pros

    Room for growth, your opinion matters, flexibility

    Cons

    Not much to say here!

    H2M2019-03-25
  11. "I wouldn't be anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H2M full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great and caring leadership. Organic growth opportunities for employees. Supportive culture. Good camaraderie.

    Cons

    If you have to work to earn a living, there's no better place.

    H2M2019-03-21
Found 39 reviews
</>Embed