HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE Reviews | Glassdoor

HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
0 Ratings
  1. "IT lab assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Lab Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are really nice and friendly

    Cons

    I dont think there is anything I didnt like about working there

    HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2018-11-02
  2. "Full-time Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE full-time

    Pros

    Many of the students are a joy to work with.

    Cons

    The requirements for getting a promotion are standardized by the union contract and require additional graduate coursework for each promotion. Teachers start at 50K per year. If they earn 60 additional graduate credit hours in their field, then, after 10 years, they can get a promotion to 68K per year.

    HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2018-11-29
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE part-time

      Pros

      largely serving the community and the student population at best!

      Cons

      Limited career mobility! Central office policies does not promote mobility from within.

      HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2018-04-11
    • "Coaching"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE part-time

        Pros

        Good people to work with.

        Cons

        There are some budget limitations

        Advice to Management

        More support for sports programs.

        HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2018-01-15
      • "Science Tutor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Enthusiastic co-workers that genuinely want to help students

        Cons

        Very low pay for what is asked of employees Limited access to educational resources Extremely long hiring process Lack of communication between departments

        Advice to Management

        Increase funds allocation toward educational tools and increase base pay

        HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2017-09-11
      • "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Former Adult Educayor in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Good hourly salary, strong union which stands up for employees. A fair amount of classroom autonomy and teacher support. Dean is fair and flexible.

        Cons

        You are only allowed 24 regular hours per week. We work 48 weeks per year with the four weeks off without pay. Less autonomy than before as City Colleges have instituted new observation program run by managers with a tenuous grasp of second-language acquisition principles.

        Advice to Management

        In general, the program runs well. Get the managers some basic linguistics training. Language arts and creative writing are backgrounds which do not lend themselves to ESL field.

        HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2017-04-14
      • "Veteran Service Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE full-time

          Pros

          Helping student veterans succeed in their education goals. Working with a great team to better the city colleges of Chicago

          Cons

          City colleges has left position open which caused problems with students accounts. Being expected to deliver results but not given resources.

          HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2017-01-27
        • "Tutor"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Tutor in Chicago, IL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE for less than a year

          Pros

          Excellent experience while engaging with students like me and attaining all the good ways of learning and sharing to others with a team collaboration.

          Cons

          No disadvantages I can say because learning from students is what makes interesting to know how much I can share and I have to learn more and more.

          Advice to Management

          Good Experience. I recommend this opportunity to continue and motivate many students to use the place also elevate the ways of tutoring.

          HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2016-03-18
        • "Assistant Editor"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Editorial Assistant in North Chicago, IL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE

          Pros

          Awesome office working Enviroment. I was very happy Working for the Newspaper company

          Cons

          Nothng at this point. I was very happy working in this office enviroment.

          HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2016-02-06
        • "Best work study job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I worked at HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE

          Pros

          Nice friendly staff work with your hour

          Cons

          Had to attend school as well

          HARRY S. TRUMAN COLLEGE2015-09-24
        Found 13 reviews