HBO "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

HBO Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
HBO CEO Richard Plepler (no image)
Richard Plepler
232 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No one wants to leave so can be tough for upward mobility(in 21 reviews)

  • "However, retaliation is a major concern among team members who are brave enough to voice their concerns to upper management or HR(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at HBO

    Pros

    Excellent working enviroment. Great Benefits.

    Cons

    None cons. The opportunities are unlimited.

    HBO2018-11-17
  2. "Was A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HBO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, perks and co-workers

    Cons

    Cultural change after corporate merger

    Continue reading
    HBO2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (4)

    "This is a has been, avoid joining now at all cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HBO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It used to be a great place to work, great benefits, great people, great CEO until ATT took over and had Turner kick HBO in its guts

    Cons

    Horrid CEO, horrible back biting new culture, and terrible open office seating with space management similar to a cemetery.

    Continue reading
    HBO2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "WAS a great place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HBO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary. Learned a lot from one of the biggest and best brands in the world.

    Cons

    ATT now owning the company is going to account for some drastic changes.

    HBO2019-03-22
  5. "Entertainment driven film production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Line Producer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HBO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    pleasant work environment and great benefits

    Cons

    corporate bureaucracy and limited growth potential

    Continue reading
    HBO2019-02-20
  6. "HBO is a wonderful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HBO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up due to so many lifers.

    HBO2018-11-01
  7. "Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HBO full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company overall, great benefits

    Cons

    Culture fit is important. Favoritism.

    Continue reading
    HBO2018-10-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company Although Easy to Get Lost Here, Could Improve Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HBO full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits (medical, dental, matching 401k, nice perks if you're in the "know") Good starting salaries Great brand to have on resume Free occasional HBO screenings Fair internal mobility

    Cons

    Could improve culture; a lot of people work in silos and forget the importance of networking and relationship building; Hard to meet people from other teams unless you take initiative/research Could improve on Perks seeing as though this is one of the biggest and most coveted media companies to work for. Sometimes the general public has access to our events before we do.

    Continue reading
    HBO2018-06-06
  9. "Great Company to work for -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HBO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits under Time Warner Good Company Culture - nice people, pushes you to work hard but not aggressively competitive like other networks Welcoming Environment for newcomers Good programming

    Cons

    None that I've seen so far - a bit silo-ed as a company culture where all entities function separately, but generally working to improve that

    HBO2018-04-29
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at HBO

    Pros

    Great company and great benefits!

    Cons

    Room for improvement in terms of moving up

    HBO2018-01-22
Found 44 reviews
</>Embed