HCA Healthcare Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Nurse

HCA Healthcare Nurse Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
65%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
HCA Healthcare Chief Executive Officer Samuel N. Hazen (no image)
Samuel N. Hazen
6 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work across all service lines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Walterboro, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone cares as a family and make it known

    Cons

    As with any hospital staffing at times is tight but job gets done

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward as you are. Improvement is imperative in healthcare

    HCA Healthcare2019-12-01
  2. "Mercy hospital HCA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, job security, good travel opportunities, location, directors are caring and understanding

    Cons

    Salaries are below market value across the board. Unfair/unsafe patient ratios in both medsurge and critical care environments, HR is always rude, always looks to brush things off and push you away with a “deal with it” or “go figure it out yourself” attitude; not helpful at all!

    HCA Healthcare2020-01-09
  3. "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Hudson, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff, regular raises, all the o.t. you want

    Cons

    Added responsibilities constantly and frequent turn over

    Advice to Management

    Get more help

    HCA Healthcare2019-12-10
  4. "HCA is hit or miss - depends on the location."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work on a great unit. Love going to work. Great managers and co-workers.

    Cons

    Pay could be a lot better. Need more staff.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your nurses better if you want more retention. It shouldn't be a struggle to make a living as a nurse. Travel nurses make a lot more than your actual staff. Doesn't make sense.

    HCA Healthcare2019-12-03
  5. "Always short staffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Self scheduling and that's it!

    Cons

    Nurse to patient ratio Patient turnover Manager support Wages Raises Promotions Poor Moral

    Advice to Management

    Get on the floor and help your nurses out so you can see what it is to be at the bedside!

    HCA Healthcare2019-12-02
  6. "The worst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At least you know you won’t go out of business as they’re committed to the quality of the patients ability to pay.

    Cons

    HCA has got to be the most ignorant company I’ve ever worked for. They took over our hospital and had no idea what they were doing with a hospital with over 600 beds. They treat their nurses like total CRAP and do not reward for overtime. All incentives have been pulled unless we’re critically low that day. And if they treat the nurses like that, can you imagine how they treat their techs?! The PCTs were left out of our new epic training and thrown to the wolves. They e NEVER been offered any incentive to pick up OT. They aren’t even offered shift diffs that make it worth it. I will NEVER work for an HCA facility again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. Treat your staff better. You’re causing us to be staffed at highly unsafe ratios. I only rate the culture so highly because my unit is a great family. The rest of y’all have no culture or values apparently.

    HCA Healthcare2019-11-10
  7. "Great Nursing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Charge Nurse in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leaders believe in living the mission statement and the commitment to quality patient care is outstanding.

    Cons

    No opportunity to stay with organization with advanced degree

    Advice to Management

    Work to keep advanced practitioners with a history of longevity with your company

    HCA Healthcare2019-10-22
  8. "High turn over rate for nurses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work All staff works well together as a team

    Cons

    Low Pay No growth Benefits aren't great Nurses don't tend to stay that long

    Advice to Management

    Consider higher raises for people that have stayed longer than a year, that way they'll want to stay :)

    HCA Healthcare2019-11-04
  9. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great insurance for employees and families

    Cons

    Corporate makes all the decisions, for everyone and not every hospital is the same.

    Advice to Management

    Work on the floor as a Nurse, more than once a career.

    HCA Healthcare2019-09-14
  10. "Treated unethically"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great schedule, great team and teamwork

    Cons

    Manager worked hard at getting rid of 50+ year olds

    Advice to Management

    Take it seriously when someone destroys a unit

    HCA Healthcare2019-09-15
Found 169 reviews