HCA Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
HCA Healthcare Chief Executive Officer Samuel N. Hazen
Samuel N. Hazen
95 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful company...great culture!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Solutions Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a sense of collaboration and community among teams and even with management/leadership. It is obviously a company that cares for its employees from the top down - through salary, training opportunities, promotion and transfer opportunities, life-balance flexibility, healthy living options (gym, healthy cafe food, laptop treadmills, sidewalks, etc.). The "just get your work done" - no hovering/micromanaging approach is also refreshing.

    Cons

    I only get 13 days of PTO/year (which is all vacay/sick time together). However, it is easily made up for in work from home or remote opportunities. So, I can work on travel days or if I have to stay home (not feeling well or because my older children's schools are closed)...and I have never run out of PTO in the almost two years I have been here.

    Continue reading
    HCA Healthcare2020-03-17
  2. "Lots of opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Lots of growth opportunity and well respected in the industry

    Cons

    Big company politics and inefficient processes

    HCA Healthcare2020-05-24
  3. "Great workplace"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great people, benefits

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything

    HCA Healthcare2020-05-21
  4. "Caregiver"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience, would refer to everyone.

    Cons

    Wish I would have known about this company longer.

    Continue reading
    HCA Healthcare2020-05-21
  5. "job title"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Job Title 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company. Good benefits Many positions all over the country.

    Cons

    Work from home position. Work in office position. Large corporation.

    HCA Healthcare2020-05-18
  6. "Stable Longer Term Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Chances for growth Leadership invested in employees Total healthcare benefits were decent

    Cons

    401k switched to yearly match No bonus for non-management

    HCA Healthcare2020-05-15
  7. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Peers are great to work with

    Cons

    Wished we accrued sick time and PTO

    Continue reading
    HCA Healthcare2020-05-14
  8. "Methodist Hospital, HCA"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large International company, able to transfer easily

    Cons

    Corporate management emphasizes volume and patient and family satisfaction scores (which are taken from Press Gainey surveys) over giving quality care.

    Continue reading
    HCA Healthcare2020-05-14
  9. "Overall a good employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Decision Support Analyst in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cheap benefits and the ability to advance career of willing to move.

    Cons

    As with most big companies, salary increases can move slowly without being promoted or taking a new position. Taking a new position most likely requires relocation.

    HCA Healthcare2020-05-13
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in San Antonio, TX

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful leadership, great team dynamics, company culture, values, and support.

    Cons

    Annual merit increases are somewhat small, but the benefits of working here far outweigh any cons.

    HCA Healthcare2020-05-13
Found 2008 reviews