HCA Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 27, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4,561 of over 4,945 reviews

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
HCA Healthcare Chief Executive Officer Samuel N. Hazen
Samuel N. Hazen
1,015 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

11h

works at 

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Hey everyone, I’m wanting to transition to tech from healthcare. I have 5 years experience, working front office (clinic scheduling, admin etc), currently back office (referrals, prior authorizations) , I have basic medical billing/coding knowledge & also provider credentialing experience. Any recommendations for tech roles that could be a fit with my background? I do NOT want to be in customer service or call center type role if at all possible though.

9

6 Comments

Healthcare

31.8K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=HCA Healthcare~2062
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is low and not competitive for the amount of work done on a daily basis.(in 261 reviews)
  • "Poor management..all decisions made by corporate which has no concept of what really is necessary for the function of a medical office(in 195 reviews)
  • "I’ve only been working at this hospital for five years and took a low salary when accepting this offer.(in 67 reviews)
  • "Poor upper management.(in 62 reviews)
  • "Staff level employees and dept managers have no power to influence operations.(in 60 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of HCA Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years
    Featured Review

    Great company to work for!!

    Jan 7, 2022 - Manager of Physician Services in Coppell, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HCA is an amazing company that truly believes in developing their employees and advocates for career advancement within the organization.

    Cons

    As with any company of HCA's size, there are many department needed to get the job done and this can lead to silos of information at times.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best place to work

    Apr 30, 2022 - Product Analyst in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone and anyone is willing to assist you at anytime. Work life balance is freat

    Cons

    I Haven’t experienced any cons in 4 years

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good

    May 26, 2022 - Sterile Processing Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good environment to go to work

    Cons

    Poca motivación para el empleado

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    May 26, 2022 - Assistant Vice President 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great leadership, good pay, patient priority

    Cons

    Little upward mobility in the role

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Its not awful

    May 26, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Reston, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PRN contract is very decent for those that do not require insurance benefits. 3 different tiers for PRN with different requirements and the pay is higher in each tier. Highest tier is a full-time commitment and about $50/h.

    Cons

    I think it depends on the unit you work in. I have been to other units in the facility and I would not want to work with that team, nor would I want my family on the unit as a patient. The unit I am on has had great leadership for some time and has excellent team-work, which is vital in nursing. Big con is the same for the vast majority of facilities - in the end it is just a numbers game and you are a number. I know most people rate this organization poorly - has not been my experience and there are many long-time employees within the hospital.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place with the right team

    May 26, 2022 - Credentialing Specialist in Sunrise, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers, frequent breaks, keeps busy and helps the day go by.

    Cons

    Not enough notice to hard working employees (behind the phones), management needs help, expectations are unrealistic.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Foster excellent patient care

    May 24, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love this company since they really focus on making the patient safe and happy.

    Cons

    staff get called off frequently if the census is not up. That is great for management but not staff. There is always on line training that can be done. However, HCA does let you do that at home.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great but room for improvement

    May 24, 2022 - Senior Manager in Nashville, TN