HCA Healthcare "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

HCA Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jan 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
HCA Healthcare Chief Executive Officer Samuel N. Hazen (no image)
Samuel N. Hazen
62 Ratings
  1. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Secretary in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, management helps with other opportunities, and great for making connections in the healthcare industry.

    Cons

    Pay is a little less compared to other places but benefits make up for it

    Advice to Management

    My manager is fair and communicates effectively with all of us.

    HCA Healthcare2018-05-30
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Unified Communication Engineering in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to grow. Flexible, paid training, great benefits. Tuition reimbursement. I thoroughly enjoy what I do

    Cons

    I can't think of anything :)

    HCA Healthcare2018-05-14
  3. "hca"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diagnostic Medical Sonographer in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits and great staff

    Cons

    no cons, its an excellent place to work

    HCA Healthcare2018-05-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive pay and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Cliquish Management and growth potential dependent on if your “one of them”

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your employee satisfaction

    HCA Healthcare2018-05-11
  5. "Pretty okay place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They value their employees Great Benefits Can transfer if relocating so you don't lose time with the company

    Cons

    High turnover even at the upper level due to people relocating within the company They don't offer incentives or benefits for employees who use their services. e.g. HCA employed physicians offer no employee discount. My previous company did. Limited opportunities for LPNs

    HCA Healthcare2018-01-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A great company with great values, but suffers from growing pains of its own success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - A sense of purpose and ethical importance - Great benefits and insurance options (if you're full-time status) - Competitive salary (couldn't make what I do in my profession anywhere else in Nashville)

    Cons

    - It's easier to hire contractors, so they'll quickly hire contractor positions and make excuses for not giving employees opportunities to become FTEs (Full Time Employees); without FTE status, you don't get benefits - Growth for the sake of growth; getting caught up in being able to acquire new resources without actually assessing whether it's necessary - Sticking to traditional mores of a company hierarchy rather than adjusting to a changing work dynamic - I'm passionate about the company's Big Picture but stifled by the toxicity of my direct team's drama - Lack of team cohesion or communication; everyone being "crazy busy" with the day-to-day meetings and crises without taking the time to best utilize current resources and abilities to solve issues - Always feeling like a tiny fish in a huge pond (more like ocean); - Golden Handcuffs: Internal guilt for being dissatisfied and wanting to work elsewhere ("Why would you ever want to work anywhere else? You'd be crazy to leave. Look at all of these benefits!")

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better and more truthfully. Encourage an open dialogue rather than a one-way street. I know that HCA corporate can be a melting pot of diverse job types/ages (accounting, creatives, tech, execs, etc. etc.), so be open to change and less stubborn about accepting new ways of doing things. Less quick fixes. Throwing a bunch of people with similar job types into one team does not solve a problem.

    HCA Healthcare2018-01-21
  7. "input"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits for medical, co-workers

    Cons

    Turnover in some departments are high

    HCA Healthcare2017-12-28
  8. "Psych RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Charge RN in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people , nice facility , great benefits

    Cons

    Lack of continuity of care focus

    HCA Healthcare2017-11-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "One bad apple really can ruin the whole bunch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, pretty good bonus structure.

    Cons

    Leadership was poor and did not respect their subordinates. This unfortunately, reflected poorly for a company that , overall, wasn't too bad

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, they are the backbone and deserve to be respected.

    HCA Healthcare2017-10-13
  10. "Corporate is in the name, but Family is the reality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    The environment at HCA is like family. The management is extremely supportive, down to earth, and greatly encourages you to continue rising in the company. HCA has great benefits including healthcare, matching your 401K at a very competitive rate versus other companies, and even pays thousands for your education every year. There is a ton of opportunities to building or continuing your career at HCA and management always encourages you to find the position that suites you most and doing what you love to do. I did not enjoy my first position (although I loved my coworkers and management) and I was able easily transfer within the company and find another position.

    Show More

    Cons

    HCA is driven for cost effectiveness and efficiency which is great for the company but can sometimes overwork their employees.

    HCA Healthcare2017-09-21
Found 91 reviews