HCA Healthcare Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
HCA Healthcare Chief Executive Officer Samuel N. Hazen
Samuel N. Hazen
478 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company with good benefits(in 131 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits working at this company(in 119 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "sometimes too disconnected from upper management(in 63 reviews)

  • "low pay, some doctors incosiderate(in 54 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of HCA Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great work life balance

      Oct 9, 2020 - CPSS 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company that considers work and life balance. They also honor your knowledge and past experiences. Great communication as well.

      Cons

      Not many avenues to advance your career as most upper management has been in their roles over 10 years.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HCA Healthcare Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Thank you for the kind words! We really appreciate hearing from you. We strive to help all of our colleagues develop professionally and grow within our organization. We're proud to have so many colleagues that have been with us for several years; however, we do not want that to keep our other colleagues from growing. Your comments will help us improve upon this.

    2. 4.0
      KEY NOT FOUND: jobLine.per_diem-current

      HCA-CMC

      Jan 18, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers that are typically experienced or at least willing to learn and help.

      Cons

      Upper management will do whatever it takes to make their numbers, including the most recent forced redeployment of staff.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company if you can adapt

      Jan 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Security, stability, so large there's little nitpicky oversight

      Cons

      sometimes too disconnected from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pretty good work environment

      Nov 25, 2020 - Occupational Therapist in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, good manager. Great flexibility.

      Cons

      The usual annoying things.. not enough nurses, sometimes communication not great with upper management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HCA Healthcare Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Your comments regarding your experience are extremely valuable to us. We're glad that you've enjoyed a great team of coworkers and management. We understand your frustration about lack of staff, and we are constantly working to hire more support for our nurses. Thank you for sharing your experience with upper management communication. We will be sure to work on this moving forward.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      great environment

      Nov 8, 2020 - Licensed Practical Nurse in Delaware, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      opportunity to advance in all fields

      Cons

      overload of patients and not help from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HCA Healthcare Response

      Social Media Specialist

      We appreciate hearing from you. We're glad that you had opportunities of advancement and growth. However, we apologize for your lack of support by upper management. We will share your comments with our team.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bad Company

      Dec 29, 2020 - IT Analyst in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible with schedule and decent hourly pay

      Cons

      Poor upper management, and terrible company morale

      1 person found this review helpful

      HCA Healthcare Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Please know that we take your concerns very seriously, and we will share your feedback with the appropriate teams. We see this as an opportunity to improve and we know that this will help us do so! Strong upper management and company morale are both very important, so we will ensure that these concerns are addressed.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Not worth it

      Dec 2, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Delray Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health and wellness benefits of a big company

      Cons

      Low staffing Subpar upper management Unsafe ratios

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Memorial Hospital

      Sep 8, 2020 - HVAC Technician in Jacksonville, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work Good people

      Cons

      Need more training and better upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HCA Healthcare Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Hello! Thank you for your positive feedback about Memorial Hospital. We strive to create a positive experience for all of our colleagues, and we really appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We value your feedback regarding training and upper management and will be sure to use it to our advantage to continue to improve.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good pay

      Oct 20, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work-life balance, great co-workers, good location

      Cons

      upper management not involved, and health insurance not great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      HCA Healthcare Response

      Social Media Specialist

      Your comments mean a lot to us! We're so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with your coworkers and work/life balance. We appreciate your feedback about upper management, and we will share them with our team so we can try to improve upon this.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Nurse

      Aug 28, 2020 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers and self schedule and some of the benefits health insurance

      Cons

      Upper management, pay, communication and lack of support

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 63 Reviews

    Popular Careers with HCA Healthcare Job Seekers

    Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at HCA Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    or