HCA Healthcare "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

HCA Healthcare Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
HCA Healthcare CEO Samuel N. Hazen (no image)
Samuel N. Hazen
44 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Typical Upper management ties middle managements hands(in 51 reviews)

  • "Low pay for my hardwork and amplified efforts(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Inverness, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Willing to take a chance on people. Corporate is very supportive. A huge focus on education and improvement.

    Cons

    I work a lot, to the detriment of my personal life. That's on me rather than upper management, though.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to take calculated risks.

    HCA Healthcare2018-04-08
  2. "Southland Primary Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Office Specialist in Belton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HCA Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture of workplace environment is friendly.

    Cons

    Typical Upper management ties middle managements hands

    Advice to Management

    Personality profiles for employment are not a proven system for hiring the right employees!

    HCA Healthcare2019-11-16
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Accountants Run the Show of PSG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. 401K matching. Work life balance needs improving. Friendly people.

    Cons

    Senior Accountants control must of all the daily functions for PSG in terms of Hiring, Firing, Advancement, Accounting Projects, and team building. Managers usually coast on their teams' success to finish out close and discipline staff if deadlines are missed due to intercompany entries not booked by the hospital. Staff 1 and Staff 2 accountants are treated unfairly and over worked due to deadlines. Upper... Management will give false hope of advancement or opportunities to move to another position in HCA. Senior staff have favorites in there teams and show them more favorable in promotions than other workers in the group. HCA does monitor there company evaluation by department. If the department score is low than Management will try to weed out the people that submitted a low score.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    N/A. PSG will allow there seniors to decide all aspect in team decisions causing good people to leave because they may not be buddy buddy with upper managment

    HCA Healthcare2019-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, immediate surpervisors do try to improve things

    Cons

    Corporate and upper management do not seem to care about staff. High turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Improve staffing

    HCA Healthcare2019-03-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great start to my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security is great and the company pays very well. Great benefits packages.

    Cons

    Upper management seems to care for profits over the patients. Can create some moral dilemmas when making certain operational decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Understanding that the goal of healthcare is to care for the patient, yes money is important, but at the other end of that bill is a person in need.

    HCA Healthcare2018-12-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot from office staff

    Cons

    Dirty hospitals, upper management is no help and liar

    Advice to Management

    Clean house with upper management and get rid of the liars and bullies.

    HCA Healthcare2019-01-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Wage/raises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love my coworkers, doctors, and immediate supervisor.

    Cons

    I’ve been in my field for 18+ years. I excel at my work. Requested a raise at my 90 day meeting (a lot of companies will comply). Was told “kudos to you for asking but no”. Asked again at my 1 year review. 6 months later it’s still “in the works”. Already told I’ve been approved for a 10% raise in pay. I haven’t seen a dime of it. Upper management is extremely dismissive about it. HCA does not seem to... care about their employees well being. The pay is not competitive at all. If you need a job to survive, don’t apply here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees. Teach management to respect your employees. Engage in competitive salaries for Everyone at every level.

    HCA Healthcare2018-10-06
  9. "Whnp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCA Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Competitive salary and work schedule

    Cons

    Difficult at times to get decisions from upper management

    HCA Healthcare2018-09-07
  10. "Service Desk Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sda in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Telecommuting is available for most, that's the best thing I can say about this company, seriously.

    Cons

    Everything else about this company is a con, pun intended. There benefits packages are worse than terrible for a health care provider. Yet upper management tries to say the IRS will charge luxury tax if there is any improvement made. That's simply a lie, my husbands company offers a benefits package with double the coverage at half the cost no penalty or luxury tax is paid by that company or my spouse. There... is an unspoken your job is your life attitude there. The raises are an even bigger joke any where from .50% to 1.0 %... the fast food industry gives better raises.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try giving long term employees better raises! .75 % is a joke and the fast food industry takes better care of its employees. Stop trying to dress up terrible insurance. The insurance underwriter even tells employees what a cheap company you are, that's why the last underwriter refused to write any more policies for HCA.

    HCA Healthcare2018-03-12
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Clear if you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed some of the people on my team. I was good at my job.

    Cons

    Management, salary, raises, benefits, PTO, everything else. Upper management does not make decisions that are in the best interest of their teams. Turnover is extremely high. Someone was leaving every few weeks. It was a revolving door. Salaries are offensive. $14 an hour for an analyst position with a yearly raise of about 25 cents. Yes, 25 CENTS. (And some only received 20 cent raises) I was offered a similar job... in Northern Va making 63k a year. I only wish my former coworkers would take the hint and find something better. No advancement opportunities and had to use PTO for holidays and whenever the building closed for bad weather.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay people what they deserve and the turnover wouldn't be so high.

    HCA Healthcare2018-01-26
Found 51 reviews