HCR ManorCare Certified Nursing Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

HCR ManorCare Certified Nursing Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
HCR ManorCare President  David Parker
David Parker
4 Ratings
  1. "work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Lynnwood, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Understanding team mates, helps you with your goals

    Cons

    Salary is much getting better

    HCR ManorCare2019-06-10
  2. "Cna review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean facility, nice people

    Cons

    High turn over rate, short staffed

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    HCR ManorCare2019-12-15
  3. "Bankrupt - a disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in York, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The only positive thing I can say about Manor Care is they are flexible with schedules.

    Cons

    Manor Care went bankrupt last year and has gone under new management. Working in this field be prepared to work short-staffed - it is more short-staffed than ever before. They have decided to do away with any sign-up bonus opportunities, having no incentive for other CNAs to fill in gaps. This is an awful time to become a member of the company and the union should take a stand once again. As a CNA there is no merit for growth and there are only 25 cent yearly raises.

    Show More
    HCR ManorCare2019-12-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Yikes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Hemet, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usually lots of overtime available, co workers are awesome for the most part, patients are appreciative and nice for the most part. Flexible schedule, they work with me so I can go finish my LVN. Sometimes work provides us lunch. Occasional recognition from company (they give u gift cards) for a job well done.

    Cons

    Waaaaay too many chiefs and not nearly enough Indians. I have at least 8 different supervisors, not including shift nurse.....Very short staffed CNA wise. This has lead to patients falling or getting neglected due to lack of staffing . Therapy department (OTAs and PTAs) are very lazy and will pass off things ( like transferring the patients back into bed after therapy) by leaving patients in wheelchairs (even when they are fall risks ...,yikes!) and hitting the call light for the CNA to do it even if they are in front of the patient with a gait belt on. Lots of favoritism , management passes on work from new or lazy CNAs to the more hardworking or seasoned CNAs rather than retraining or reprimanding. Priorities of admin aren’t often in line with company values (Ex: focusing on beds not made or trash can not emptied rather than asking patients if they are satisfied with their CNAs care; trying to work with as few CNAs needed on the floor instead of having a reasonable amount so that patients are cared for and service score goes up)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Refocus on patient centered care, not profit minded scheduling. Clearly define roles of CNAs and OTAs and PTAs (as our roles intersect often) and stop allowing them and other departments to treat CNAs like the gum on the bottom of their shoe...realize we are the backbone of the healthcare industry and should be treated better than we are. Remind everyone we are here for the patients and if a patient needs or asks for something and we are in front of them we should do everything in our power to help the pt rather than pass the buck to the CNAs and make the patients wait longer, thereby affecting our service scores. Do better at taking care of the good employees that u do have by providing better raises or monthly recognition. It will boost morale and that has a trickle down effect on ur scores.

    Show More
    HCR ManorCare2019-11-08
  5. "HCR ManorCare "Raises""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I literally cannot think of one...oh, they hired me right out of school, giving me the opportunity

    Cons

    Poor Culture Unsafe Work Environment (Workers & Residents) Terrible Raises

    Advice to Management

    When someone receives their year-end review and the supervisor suggests they get a full raise, give them their full raise. After all, the supervisor would know the employees work better than someone working in a front office

    HCR ManorCare2019-11-21
  6. "Shelly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Caring and helping all kinds of people

    Cons

    We have a staffing problem but it’s not the company fault

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    HCR ManorCare2019-08-28
  7. "Sad excuse for a rehab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited overtime due to lack of employees

    Cons

    You are treated like the lowest scum as a cna. The pay is nothing special. 1 to 55 PT ratio is considered acceptable. On a normal properly staffed day you will have around 20 pts.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone and start over fresh. Continuing at this rate and your business will go under.

    HCR ManorCare2019-09-29
  8. "OK Job, coworkers did not work together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent for starting wage

    Cons

    Coworkers did not get along Management did not staff place correctly

    HCR ManorCare2019-08-24
  9. "Best nursing home in kingsford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time

    Pros

    great residents helps with tuition when advancing in medical degrees most coworkers are hard working non-mandated

    Cons

    short staffed a lot non mandated

    HCR ManorCare2019-08-07
  10. "HCR Manor Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with very dedicated employees

    Cons

    Very under staffed. Not enough time to give each patient enough care and attention. Human resources was not at all bothered by employees concerns

    HCR ManorCare2019-07-02
Found 61 reviews