HCR ManorCare COTA/L Reviews | Glassdoor

HCR ManorCare Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
HCR ManorCare President  David Parker
David Parker
19 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Terrific place to work! I enjoy working here very much!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Activity Director in York, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have had the pleasure of working with 3 really good administrators. That really makes a difference in the morale of the facility , staff and residents. Tons of long term employees at both facilities I have worked and do work at. That says something about the company. The positive part of my job is the everyday interaction with the residents and their families and hopefully making a difference in their lives.

    Cons

    Occasionally there are staffing issues in the facilities but it only lasts for a short time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. The administrators I have worked with have been terrific, as far as the regional people, I think you need to spend some time in facilities and have some empathy for the employees. How would you feel with a change you decide to make company wide? It may not affect you as a regional manager but it may affect the people that work with residents on a day to day basis and we want to be a company who cares about those residents and their opinions of the staff that work with them everyday.

    Show More
    HCR ManorCare2019-05-08
  2. "cna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a good company to work for

    Cons

    the job is sometimes short staffed

    HCR ManorCare2019-10-26
  3. "It’s a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Nurse Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly wage is more than fair and you get yearly raises

    Cons

    Schedule is NOT flexible At all

    HCR ManorCare2020-01-24
  4. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time

    Pros

    Supplies are available to complete patient care

    Cons

    Staffing issues; company consistently short staff

    Advice to Management

    Need to value loyal employees

    HCR ManorCare2020-01-23
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist in Palos Heights, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers! All are team players.

    Cons

    Tons of documentation especially when doing initial assessment.

    HCR ManorCare2020-01-20
  6. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company genuinely cares about taking care of their clients.

    Cons

    They moved out of our state.

    HCR ManorCare2020-01-14
  7. "catastrophe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Naples, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros, nobody care about employees.

    Cons

    This place is perfect to lose the License, no body care the staff or patients, the only thing that they care is the MONEY, they are alway short in staff, there no supplies for wound, salary is ridiculous, is stressful, overwhelming. I do not recommend this place either for work and patients.

    HCR ManorCare2020-01-26
  8. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activities Assistant 

    I worked at HCR ManorCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My department was team-centered and supportive internally. Our boss knew us well and protected us when we invariably encountered complaints. If you choose to apply, I suggest shadowing the current staff (in activities) to see how they work together.

    Cons

    Administration is too focused on the bottom line. Many departments suffered from understaffing, which created a toxic work environment throughout the building. By not having enough workers the environment could be survivalistic many days. Our department was always getting shafted financially, and the inability to hire more workers to have on staff in our dept—and the overall toxic work environment—is why I left.

    Advice to Management

    The whole company needs to restructure its priorities away from maximizing profit margins (“We provide healthcare, but ultimately we’re a business first” is not a philosophy that is going to stick as consumers’ families seek out the highest quality experience for their loved ones long-term and ESPECIALLY short-term care) and instead must root its approach in providing a quality healthcare experience—first and foremost. When the building is staffed properly—as in proportional to realistic expectations and not the state guidelines (13:1 resident-to-CNA ratio is not realistic if you are one of two aides down the hall full of lifts, for example )—then the staff is happy, and the staff provide better care—which leads to positive reviews, better word-of-mouth, and more “consumers” in the long run. tl;dr STAFF YOUR BUILDINGS.

    Show More
    HCR ManorCare2020-01-04
  9. "Needs Work to help staff training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Steady work decent pay and overtime

    Cons

    No organization poor training and coordination

    Advice to Management

    Work on your employees training better

    HCR ManorCare2019-12-19
  10. "Cna review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean facility, nice people

    Cons

    High turn over rate, short staffed

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    HCR ManorCare2019-12-15
Found 1442 reviews