HCR ManorCare "short staffed" Reviews | Glassdoor

HCR ManorCare Employee Reviews about "short staffed"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
41%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
HCR ManorCare CEO David Parker
David Parker
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rehab staff works well together(in 30 reviews)

  • "Has good benefits to working here(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "short staffed"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "cna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a good company to work for

    Cons

    the job is sometimes short staffed

    HCR ManorCare2019-10-26
  2. "Dont Send Family Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA 

    I worked at HCR ManorCare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the co-workers were great

    Cons

    Management, low pay, always short staffed, high turnover

    HCR ManorCare2019-11-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Yikes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Hemet, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usually lots of overtime available, co workers are awesome for the most part, patients are appreciative and nice for the most part. Flexible schedule, they work with me so I can go finish my LVN. Sometimes work provides us lunch. Occasional recognition from company (they give u gift cards) for a job well done.

    Cons

    Waaaaay too many chiefs and not nearly enough Indians. I have at least 8 different supervisors, not including shift nurse.....Very short staffed CNA wise. This has lead to patients falling or getting neglected due to lack of staffing . Therapy department (OTAs and PTAs) are very lazy and will pass off things ( like transferring the patients back into bed after therapy) by leaving patients in wheelchairs (even when... they are fall risks ...,yikes!) and hitting the call light for the CNA to do it even if they are in front of the patient with a gait belt on. Lots of favoritism , management passes on work from new or lazy CNAs to the more hardworking or seasoned CNAs rather than retraining or reprimanding. Priorities of admin aren’t often in line with company values (Ex: focusing on beds not made or trash can not emptied rather than asking patients if they are satisfied with their CNAs care; trying to work with as few CNAs needed on the floor instead of having a reasonable amount so that patients are cared for and service score goes up)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Refocus on patient centered care, not profit minded scheduling. Clearly define roles of CNAs and OTAs and PTAs (as our roles intersect often) and stop allowing them and other departments to treat CNAs like the gum on the bottom of their shoe...realize we are the backbone of the healthcare industry and should be treated better than we are. Remind everyone we are here for the patients and if a patient needs or asks... for something and we are in front of them we should do everything in our power to help the pt rather than pass the buck to the CNAs and make the patients wait longer, thereby affecting our service scores. Do better at taking care of the good employees that u do have by providing better raises or monthly recognition. It will boost morale and that has a trickle down effect on ur scores.

    Show More
    HCR ManorCare2019-11-08
  4. "Best nursing home in kingsford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time

    Pros

    great residents helps with tuition when advancing in medical degrees most coworkers are hard working non-mandated

    Cons

    short staffed a lot non mandated

    HCR ManorCare2019-08-07
  5. "Some of the nurses and aides are nice tem players and good to work with. The administration dept need s work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros at this company

    Cons

    Always short staffed administration really doesn't care about you or your situations

    Advice to Management

    No

    HCR ManorCare2019-06-29
  6. "Administration and management do not care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the staff still care

    Cons

    Dog eat dog, management is quick to toss you right under the bus no matter how much you do, how hard you work or how often you bend. CYA consistently, can barely trust anyone. Moral is dead, employees don't come in, repeat call in same people. No reprecussions. No one wants to be here but stay because some nurses still care. Short staffed almost every day, never ever handled appropriately, when you complain about... short staffing patient care goes down the drain, still nothing gets done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating employees like we don't matter, if you're burned out you should take a long vacation or find a different career

    HCR ManorCare2019-07-29
  7. "Needs leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Supervisor in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good coworkers Job interesting

    Cons

    Lack of leadership Poor communication Short staffed

    Advice to Management

    Work with staff Acknowledgement of need to communicate and listen to staff needs

    HCR ManorCare2019-06-16
  8. "It is a hard job, but incredibly rewarding in the end."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Always opportunities for overtime, supportive supervisors

    Cons

    Typically short staffed, and a hard job.

    HCR ManorCare2019-03-10
  9. "Benefits were good,decent PTOs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work experience ,loved team work

    Cons

    Sometime they are short staffed

    HCR ManorCare2019-02-07
  10. "Consider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have Good relations with Coworkers

    Cons

    Extensive Workload and short staffed

    HCR ManorCare2019-02-11
Found 65 reviews