HCR ManorCare "short staffed" Reviews | Glassdoor

HCR ManorCare Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
HCR ManorCare President  David Parker
David Parker
18 Ratings
  1. "Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant in Elizabethtown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working with all the residents in long term care and all my coworkers are wonderful. Many opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Very short staffed, some LPNs not willing to help the CNAs with tasks that require another set of skilled hands

    Advice to Management

    Attempt to hire more employees, a performance wage increase would be beneficial. CNAs need to be better able to care for residents without taking unhelpful shortcuts.

    HCR ManorCare2018-01-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Therapy Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare

    Pros

    Therapy staff; good holiday pay

    Cons

    Relationships between disciplines need to improve for a higher success rate for patients. Company is regularly short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    More competitive salaries to keep good people

    HCR ManorCare2018-01-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Work Non Stop, No Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Topeka, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent health insurance and enjoyed the residents who lived there.

    Cons

    You are expected to work unrealistic hours especially for the below average pay; Management is not consistent; Corp management is unprofessional to staff and to residents; Management never helps out on the floor when we are short staffed so the patients suffer.

    Advice to Management

    There a HR violations happening all the time, and one day someone is going to take legal action.

    HCR ManorCare2018-01-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Short-staffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Resident Caregiver 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-caregivers and they really work as a team

    Cons

    1. Always short-staffed. Sometimes the next shift would have to do what the previous shift was supposed to do because no one was at the unit. 2. Sometimes it can get out of hand and caregivers are treated without respect.

    Advice to Management

    Increase hourly pay, so employees would actually want to work. Stand up for your employees. We work for the patients, not the families.

    HCR ManorCare2017-11-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to start off as a certifed nursing assistant to learn the ropes of the medical field and earn experience, especially for me as I am a nursing student and looking for experience to work in a hospital. Certainly gives you the right experience.

    Cons

    The company is regularly short staffed. There are always available shifts open. But sometimes you could be working with only 3 other aides on the floor when there are regularly 5. This can be highly stressfull.

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to your aides .... sometimes management can walk by you and rudely tell you to "answer that call light", rather than "hello how are you". If we can be nice to one another in a highly stressfull enviornment, it can really make a difference in how we treat eachother and the enviornment we give to our patients

    HCR ManorCare2017-09-25
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Keep looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RN Supervisor in Allentown, PA

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing really comes to mind

    Cons

    Short-staffed, always asking for overtime, dangerous staffing ratio

    HCR ManorCare2017-09-29
  7. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Pottstown, PA

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of overtime, and DON helped staff out alot

    Cons

    short staffed, Administrator was a mess, team work!

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay rates and decrease staff/pt ratio

    HCR ManorCare2017-09-08
  8. "Resident Services Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Services Supervisor in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Team work among staff and low turnover

    Cons

    Short Staffed many times and had to often cover for absent staff

    Advice to Management

    Just keep being supportive of staff

    HCR ManorCare2017-09-06
  9. "Caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Caregiver in King of Prussia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice Pay, Overtime available, Set schedules

    Cons

    Short staffed, Combative resident, 10 minute walk from bus

    HCR ManorCare2017-06-20
  10. "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time

    Pros

    Love working with most of the residence

    Cons

    Always short staffed and over-worked. Need to be paid more for what we do

    HCR ManorCare2017-06-16
Found 67 reviews