HCR ManorCare "short staffed" Reviews | Glassdoor

HCR ManorCare Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
HCR ManorCare President  David Parker
David Parker
21 Ratings
  1. "STNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - STNA in Parma, OH

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Making money. Enjoy working with the elderly. Like to hear story's about residents past.

    Cons

    Short staffed for aid's. Not enough time to talk to residents or family members

    HCR ManorCare2017-05-15
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to work OT making more money.

    Cons

    Short staffed a lot. Seniority plays major role

    Advice to Management

    Staff more employees

    HCR ManorCare2017-04-18
  3. "nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time

    Pros

    Some of the CNA's and nursing staff can be fun to work with, and can work as a team.

    Cons

    Several admissions, frequently short staffed, D/T nurses leaving. Management needs much improvement! Do not care for their staff.

    Advice to Management

    Take into consideration the acuity!. Take an anonymous poll of your nurses, to really find out what they think!

    HCR ManorCare2017-02-05
  4. "Its okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Caregiver in Geneva, IL

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare full-time

    Pros

    They are very flexible with the schedule

    Cons

    They are short staffed, sometimes you will work by yourself Under paid

    Advice to Management

    Needs more organization More money

    HCR ManorCare2016-12-30
  5. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Naples, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with in the trenches were great

    Cons

    Management horrible total disrespect for nurses and cnas , unsupportive , always threatening to fire people. No supplies, always short staffed making it impossible to give good patient care but then blaming staff for complaints even though it's impossible for such short staffing to give adequate care.

    Advice to Management

    Get some respect for the people who keep your business open, learn people skills.Be a patient advocate and staff advocate not a corporate numbers person.

    HCR ManorCare2017-01-30
  6. "Cna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CNA/Rehab Tech in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare for more than a year

    Pros

    Pot luck and employee of the month.

    Cons

    Always short staffed.. some nurses are lazy

    Advice to Management

    Get better staff, and pay more.

    HCR ManorCare2016-12-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "This place really needs improvement..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare

    Pros

    Patients aren't that bad to work with and co-workers are helpful and have a lot of teamwork.

    Cons

    Management is terrible and worry about the appearance of building rather than the workers and the inside concerns such as needing staff, supplies, and major items fixed. Nurse and aide ratio to patient isn't good, especially when short staffed and there's no staff to help.

    Advice to Management

    Get more staff, get a PRN pool for CNAs, fix the stuff we desperately need to perform our jobs better, get 2 shower aides, and actually address our concerns instead of writing them down.

    HCR ManorCare2016-10-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "CNA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA in Palos Heights, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees were very helpful. Always stay busy. administration is also nice, can always pick up hours. Facility is spaced out. Very friendly

    Cons

    Very very short staffed. Sometimes have 13 patients to yourself. Can't get everything done within working hours. Very unorganized and messy nurse station. Nurses are very rude

    HCR ManorCare2016-09-21
  9. "Always understaffed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN), Long-Term Care in Springfield, MO

    I worked at HCR ManorCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most coworkers did step up to help each other out when I needed help.

    Cons

    Always short staffed. The only time the admins would help out was when State was in the building.

    Advice to Management

    Support your workers ALL the time.

    HCR ManorCare2016-08-27
  10. "Busy and fast paced."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HCR ManorCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like the quick paced environment that always keeps you in your toes. The coworkers are pretty good to work with. Great administrator.

    Cons

    Not too many cons but Scheduling seemed to be pretty rough at times. Fairly low pay. Short staffed at times.

    HCR ManorCare2016-08-07
Found 67 reviews