HD Supply Operations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Operations Manager

HD Supply Operations Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
HD Supply CEO  Joe DeAngelo
Joe DeAngelo
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and great team environment

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity for career advancement

    HD Supply2017-08-08
  2. "Growing company with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Northlake, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid company, they are growing. State of the art facility and resources. Annual review and bonus.

    Cons

    Not enough teamwork between managers

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2019-04-25
  3. "Terrible experience. Lack of development and no work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Groveport, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Taking care of the customer

    Cons

    Lack of leadership and development. The only class I took was DISC assessment. This was done four different times during my tenure with no other courses.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2018-09-13
  4. Helpful (5)

    "CEO IS UNDER INVESTIGATION BY THE FEDS !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not to much just read other reviews this company has so many Complacent positions definitely needs an overhaul I would stay far away

    Cons

    Company needs to go back to being Hughes supply doing what it did best . Stay far away nobody last long unless you’re an outside salesman

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2017-12-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Flower Mound, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good pay and Benefits

    Cons

    CEO and Senior Leadership does not address real issues with supply chain. Misleading statements on earnings calls

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2017-08-15
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Operations Manager I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary and great experience with SAP, managing change, managing difficult associates and learning skills or processes outside of simply managing operations. Exposure included IT, HR, and data analytics.

    Cons

    Senior management does not relay goals and expectations from the executive level to middle management successfully. Too much inconsistency between the different regional managers and their facilities, and yet they try to treat each facility as if a process change to benefit efficiency will work just the same in other facilities who face different situations and have different resources. There are a lot of directions from regional managers that contradict the direction expressed in meetings run by the CEO in his leadership meetings. The work life balance is good from the stand point of getting your weekends, but do not plan on being able to make plans to do anything during the week unless you are on the inbound team. Outbound shifts do not have definite end times and run odd hybrid hours between first and second shift. The expectations of management to be on the floor picking, packing, checking, etc in order to avoid hiring the needed amount of hourly associates to run a facility are unreasonable. You are not allotted time to actually manage processes, people, and make improvements because of the amount of small tasks like this that they want you involved in.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2016-11-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Field Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Operations Manager in Lewisville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you enjoy working out in the field, then this position should serve you well. Lots of driving and meeting with builders throughout the DFW Metroplex.

    Cons

    This position is better suited for a younger person either single or married without kids yet, as the hours and driving responsibilities are very great. When I was there, overnight travel was not an option even though I was driving upwards of 3 hours + in one direction to visit job sites. Younger would be better too, as advancement opportunities might be available? Not the case for middle management level, as the only opportunities for advancement involve relocation. This position is also only a salary position...no bonuses offered. Biggest Con for me - lack of leadership at the branch across all levels of management directly above me, all the way to the top in Denver, CO.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2016-05-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Field Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Operations Manager in Frisco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply for less than a year

    Pros

    Fuel, tolls and other expenses are all paid for by company.

    Cons

    Very weak management team, lack of direction and very poor decision making.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2016-02-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Growing, progressivly minded, company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast growing , large company in a segmented market. Making good gains in capturing large chunks of the market.

    Cons

    Having a tough time retaining talent as opportunities for advancement have been mostly stagnant. High turnover at lower levels and rigid, entrenched middle/management.

    HD Supply2014-01-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operation Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply

    Pros

    Team Effort and strong management support.

    Cons

    No work life balance for leadership teams at working levels

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2011-07-16
Found 12 reviews