HD Supply Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
36%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
HD Supply CEO  Joe DeAngelo
Joe DeAngelo
470 Ratings
Pros
  • "As a former employee, I was able to work with great people, assist in multiple projects on all the product teams(in 48 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, great coworkers(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Constant shift with upper management with increase of workload whilst minimal compensation(in 55 reviews)

  • "Very little concern about work life balance(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and gain knowledge"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I will know soon but I know the benefits and perks are amazing.

    Cons

    None as of yet but soon.

    HD Supply2018-01-22
  2. "Good Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. You can make a lifelong career out of this place if you wanted to move up.

    Cons

    Training is lacking. Just got thrown into each role and had to figure it out.

    HD Supply2020-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Over worked/ expectations are ridiculous, Goals are set to high so you can’t make a bonus"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Look at the reviews before applying

    Cons

    NOTICE ALL THE JOB OPPORTUNITIES There is a reason for that. Hiring managers with no Facilities maintenance or sales experience to manage sales teams leads to disaster - people don’t quit jobs due to salary? They quit because of bad leadership!! Long time high performers are dropping off the HDSupply Map fast !! The company is being ran into the ground by - greedy leadership that don’t know anything about the sales field. Favoritism is real big with this company

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-05-14
  4. "don't do it!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time

    Pros

    not that i can think of

    Cons

    every one you can think of in a job

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-05-28
  5. "Decade"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Relationships with customers were the highlight of each day

    Cons

    Musical chair mgmt clique based

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-05-12
  6. "RUN!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flex time... cafeteria food excellent

    Cons

    Terrible place to work. Very cliqueish . Culture is trash. Very very high turnover

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-05-11
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Changing Business Priorties"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time

    Pros

    Some of the leaders of the company lead by example

    Cons

    Strategic priorities keeping changing too often as result they keep hiring & firing various employees at all levels

    HD Supply2020-04-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, and the customers that I had.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't matching the growth a d the high volume of demand

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-03-21
  9. "Great Opportunity to Develop Understandings of the Construction & Building Materials Market"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Sales Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked out of the Rocky Mountains region and worked primarily out of the Aurora and Denver offices. This is a great position for developing understandings of the building materials and construction supply trade. There are usually 3-5 MSS sales associates working out of each region and this position is primarily focused on catering to Flatwork, GC and specialty trade-related SMBs . I was handed an account list with 100 already established underperforming accounts from the District Sales Manager, but found it paid more to take the initiative in going after new opportunities as there was a significantly higher commission opportunity in absorbing new market share from clients purchasing from direct competitors.

    Cons

    It was tough to work with operational protocols and mishaps at moments being so sales-minded, but these were also great experiences to come together with team members for learning and process-betterment purposes. There are also certain headaches that come with working in close proximity / small office environments. I strongly believe moving the MSS office based in Aurora, CO to a larger office setting would go a long way in providing a more comfortable setting for employees, but also understand that it's hard for large companies to prioritize when they have so much on their plate.

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-03-23
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Extremely incompetent and inexperienced Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Account Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Product assortment along with services

    Cons

    Management, Benefits, Work/Life Balance, Culture

    Continue reading
    HD Supply2020-04-14
Found 931 reviews