HD Supply "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

HD Supply Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 26 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
35%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
HD Supply CEO Joe DeAngelo
Joe DeAngelo
465 Ratings
Pros
  • "As a former employee, I was able to work with great people, assist in multiple projects on all the product teams(in 48 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, great coworkers(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "Constant shift with upper management with increase of workload whilst minimal compensation(in 55 reviews)

  • "Very little concern about work life balance(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Financial Analyst in Norcross, GA

    I worked at HD Supply for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great coworkers

    Cons

    Compensation is not competitive with high end opportunities

    HD Supply2019-10-19
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager Strategic Business Development in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HD Supply full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance and Reasonable Hours

    Cons

    Tight budgets and minimal employee training

    HD Supply2019-11-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Highly Disfunctional organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Non management staff are very nice and friendly.

    Cons

    Constant reorganization of various departments. I had 3 different managers in less than 6 months. Was hired under the impression of doing a specific job but no clear roles and responsibilities were ever developed so no clear direction of what my job was. Very toxic environment, upper management would play the blame game regarding simple things. They constantly throw their own people under the bus if mean saving... themselves. The ceo is nice, but he has no idea of how many people hate coming to work every day. The company has started hiring former Home Depot employees and has cause the overall environment to go down hill. The work from home policy is not really actionable. Managers make it difficult for you to work from home. Managers watch what time you come in, what time you take a lunch, how long you take a lunch, ho many breaks you take, regardless of the workload you have. Very little concern about work life balance. Need to leave 30mins early--required you to take personal time, work through your lunch or come in early, even if your workload for the day can accommodate an early departure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employee to do the job you hired them to do.

    HD Supply2019-09-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Lost their way as a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Lost the mission to service the customer. Seems the goals now is the stock holders and board. Return on their investors what matters, not the customer. If your looking for a company with heart and has a mission to do good in this world- walk past HD Supply and look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to your roots- The customer’s and their loyalty to us, and us to them, is what makes HD Supply great. We were there to support their businesses in any way, not we support ourselves and they noticed. A great built company can not always be about the bottom line, but about the people that work for them and the people who use the company. Refocus on the human aspect of the business and we will win again.

    HD Supply2019-09-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible plant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Northlake, IL

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits and that is about it

    Cons

    No work life balance for the shipping department. They say they are one team but shipping works 12-14 hours a day while every other department works 8-9. Upper management hides in their offices all day. Never come out to the warehouse floor.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the floor and see what goes on in a day.

    HD Supply2019-06-14
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Toxic & Chaotic Environment!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The building is really nice, but please DO NOT be fooled! It is NOT worth the chaos you will endure.

    Cons

    The Marketing Department is a COMPLETE JOKE!!! There's literally meetings about prior meetings. A complete waste of time and this occurs on a daily basis. The turnover rate for the Marketing Department is absolutely insane!!! Someone seriously lasted two weeks and put their notice in. Management is extremely poor and there is no direction at all. It's a free for all. Organization restructuring occurs AT... LEAST once a month due to the extremely high turnover rate. Absolutely NO DIVERSITY within executive level positions. The benefits are THE WORST I've ever seen from a corporation. There is ABSOLUTELY NO work-life balance. It is your stereotypical 9 to 5 corporate job where you're literally counting down the minutes until you leave. I can only speak for the Marketing Department, so if this is the department you're seeking to join, RUN NOW!!! DO NOT subject yourself to the toxic environment.

    Show More
    HD Supply2019-05-13
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time

    Pros

    Company values, training, opportunities, team

    Cons

    Work life balance, medical benefits, unknown hours

    Advice to Management

    Managers are appreciated, but sometimes the voice of the entry level associate has more value then that of the manager.

    HD Supply2019-04-05
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time

    Pros

    The customers are excellent, the solutions you provide your customers are endless. It's a fun place to work with a talented experienced group of sales professionals. The compensation is good. Great work/life balance.

    Cons

    If you don't like to be on the road, this is not the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    None

    HD Supply2019-04-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great customers and sales reps. Great support from internal sales resources like sales support and product support.

    Cons

    More focused on metrics than sales success. Management does not listen, believes that questioning tactics is being insubordinate and that you are not adapting to change. No work-life balance. "Be Well" is not a practical part of life here.

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your sales people and listen to them. Good people are leaving because they are being treated poorly and not being listened to.

    HD Supply2019-03-29
  10. "Quality company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HD Supply full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunity, fast paced, work life balance

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about the company

    HD Supply2019-02-06
Found 77 reviews